Cant find 205/35/r17 tyres????

gothculture

hey guys was wondering how cum i cant find any 205/35/r17 tyres? d thing is im planning to change my rims at d end of this month after scouting for rim designs(havent been to klang yet tho) and found one in cheras costing rm1880 17 inch matte silver(taiwan brand)...after doing my research,it seems that d best tyre configuration based on calculations made is d 205/35/r17 rather than 205/40/r17 but i cant find that particular tire size...35 would mean only -0.4% diff rather than d 40@+4.6% diff...obviously i'd take d 35 rite?but d think nw is i cant find such a tyre type....is it true tht d 35 measurement only available for 19inch rims?sorry m kinda nub...haha....

• pics.jpg
    pics.jpg
    24.8 KB · Views: 317
oh crap....dat means no choice but need to use 205/40/r17??d diff damn high nia...nearly 5%

never see that size before for 17".
the lowest profile that can be found r 40.

35 would be so very thin sidewalls.

hmm yea looks like it that way..i knw 19inch got 35 ....hmm mah fan wanna change d speedometer....

i think got 35 series but that is for the tyre size 19 inch and above and also the diameter is something like 245/35/19, this donut is for those car like Nissan 350Z or GTR kinda car or maybe Estima,Alphard or Elgrand.

What research did you do to ensure that 205/35/17 would be better?!....
Just curious........
Anyway, doubt that any tyre shop would bring that in as who's actually crazy enough to look for it?
If 45 can fit lowriders, I bet a lot would use that instead of 40. btw, I'm using 45.
35 with such thin wall and malaysian road condition........don't dare to think so.

Last edited by a moderator:
well my research was purely made according to d tire calculations...well i saw a vios sumtime ago in kakimotor which had ultra thin tyre wall n it looked awesome....didnt knw what size it was tho coz saw it frm afar...hmm i guess shall just adjust to d new speedometer readings n pay more attention to d offset n stuff cuz my fren's myvi using superleggera 17' ori n modded custom semi-racing suspension also d tyre still touching d fender...like i say...m nub man....haha....still learning....harap ajar frm all d sifu's around...1 1/2 week to go till i cahgne my rims....hehe!cant wait

17 minimum height is 40 so far i saw n use..wira

18 minimum height is 35 so far i saw n use..r34

p/s:update here when u find what u looking for...:)

well my research was purely made according to d tire calculations...well i saw a vios sumtime ago in kakimotor which had ultra thin tyre wall n it looked awesome....didnt knw what size it was tho coz saw it frm afar...hmm i guess shall just adjust to d new speedometer readings n pay more attention to d offset n stuff cuz my fren's myvi using superleggera 17' ori n modded custom semi-racing suspension also d tyre still touching d fender...like i say...m nub man....haha....still learning....harap ajar frm all d sifu's around...1 1/2 week to go till i cahgne my rims....hehe!cant wait
tyre touching the fender doesn't really have to do with the thickness of the tyre. One particular reason being your friend's car had been lowered but the suspension system isn't hard enough to support the leway. It could be he's on the softer setting and the car is lowered.

Btw, regarding the vios it could also be a so called optical illusion whereby the car is damn kau lowered. Thus creating the illusion of the tyre is thin. Another type of illusion is the tyre size doesn't really fit rim thus making it look thin. Ask tyre shops and they can tell you that; down part is your tyre would wear out more faster.

tyre touching the fender doesn't really have to do with the thickness of the tyre. One particular reason being your friend's car had been lowered but the suspension system isn't hard enough to support the leway. It could be he's on the softer setting and the car is lowered.

Btw, regarding the vios it could also be a so called optical illusion whereby the car is damn kau lowered. Thus creating the illusion of the tyre is thin. Another type of illusion is the tyre size doesn't really fit rim thus making it look thin. Ask tyre shops and they can tell you that; down part is your tyre would wear out more faster.

well according to my fren,he say tht d reduce thickness of d tyre wall will cause d tyre 2 b a lil 'wider' or sumthing like dat....cant exactly remember wat he xplained to me tho!haha...btw his suspension is on hard setting...he got it custom made but cant remember wat brand...he complained that d tyre still touches d fender during cornering altho springs n suspension has been modified...tho ive got another fren driving myvi as well wif aftermarket springs on stock suspension n 17' taiwan rims but din complain much abt tyre touching d fender....hmm....n wat do u mean tht tyre doesnt really fit d rim?

wah I was using r17 40 cannot tahan anymore change to r17 45 , I cannot imagine 35 hoooo , i think only can drive at race track only ..

wah serious boh?too harsh d ride?tho my friend did say tht 17/40 is damn harsh like every pothole that he go over also can feel....haha!

hey guys i need sum last minute advice b4 i head to klang tomoro for my rims....my stock is 175/60/r14 n wannachange to 205/40/r17....my concern is regarding d offset....rim +40 offset wont touch fender?how do i know d offset for my ori steel rims?tyre n rim need to b same offset rite?hw to check tyre offset??btw....d kedai papan is d one in batu belah,klang rite?sorry ah nub....hehe....so excited to get my new rims tmr!=)

normally those taiwan rim in rim shop, is made to off-set friendly to all car, so no worry about it...

unless u talking about japanese rim which they offer u customise ur offset and width etc..

if u see a really thin tyre in 17"... it might have bigger width in the wheel, which stretch the tyre wide out, thus thinner it look. good luck in ur wheel hunting.

normally those taiwan rim in rim shop, is made to off-set friendly to all car, so no worry about it...

unless u talking about japanese rim which they offer u customise ur offset and width etc..

if u see a really thin tyre in 17"... it might have bigger width in the wheel, which stretch the tyre wide out, thus thinner it look. good luck in ur wheel hunting.

hehehe....thanx bro for ur advice....hopefully nothing stupid gonna happen after i change my rims like fender touching etc....=) but i have check already...17" thinnest is 40....only 18" got 35....=/....haha....will do la wif 40....=)