some questions about stock evo 8 boost

dawg

hi can anyone tell me what's the stock max boost for an evo 8 on WOT? the car is pretty stock with no mods except air filter, and a straight flow exhaust.

1.5 bar will be on a safer side and does not stress ur turbo too much.:burnout:

hi lanevo6,

thanks for reply. i was afraid that 1.5bar was a bit over for stock. btw what mileage do you guys get out of a full tank. does 460km on highway sound reasonable and maybe 400km on city?

Hi dawg,
like lanevo6 said 1.5bar is safe for stock. But if u afraid then boost 1.0-1.3bar....

hi azizi,

actually the car is pretty much stock entirely besides an air filter and straight flow. even the BOV is stock. When on full throttle, the boost goes to nearly 1.5bar, was just wondering if this setup was a stock evo 8 set up. do any of you guys remember your stock car max boost? im just afraid that the ecu im using isnt a stock one thus the 1.5bar boost.

btw how do you read O2 via volt? is 1.0v = rich and 0.0v = lean? and 0.5v being stoich?

my evo8mr 100% stock boost max reach 1.5bar, then stable at 1.3 to 1.4.

after i change the exhaust (de-cat to muffler), boost max reach 1.55, then stable at 1.3 to 1.4.

for o2 sensor, you need to do proper conversion from voltage,
< 14.2 = lean
14.2 = stoich
>14.2 = rich

apexi turbo timer can show the air-fuel reading, but the number keep jumping, not easy to read when driving.

i install K&N air-fuel meter, come with o2 sensor, LED type. narrow band. now got old stock at lower price from speed work (dunno still available or not), you can go check there, about RM600, other places selling above RM800.

hi h22-c,

thanks for your reply too. so i guess we can safely say that stock evo 8 does boost up to 1.5 (less). but then again your's MR and its suppose to perform better than the normal gsr.

the reason i ask the o2 question is because im using the greddy infometer, and it displays the o2 reading in voltage. my o2 reading fluctuates crazily as well in between the 0.0 and 1.0 region. lol like a meter gone insane.

any idea if i can do any setting to read boost levels as well? because from the manual it says it could measure boost, but when i turn on the boost setting it shows -- as reading. other functions such as gear, 4wd, o2r, doesnt show as well.

Actually 1.5bar is not normal and not suppose to be on a stock car. If your boost goes up to 1.5 and then drops to 1.3 or fluctuate meaning that your actuator can't hold the boost. As for E9 the boost spike coz of the turbine. You can get a after market forge actuator to hold high boost.

Here is what i remember from OEM statement:
E4 - 0.8bar
E5 - 0.9bar
E6 -1.0bar
E7 -1.1bar
E8 -1.1bar
E9 -1.2bar

Actually 1.5bar is not normal and not suppose to be on a stock car. If your boost goes up to 1.5 and then drops to 1.3 or fluctuate meaning that your actuator can't hold the boost. As for E9 the boost spike coz of the turbine. You can get a after market forge actuator to hold high boost.

Here is what i remember from OEM statement:
E4 - 0.8bar
E5 - 0.9bar
E6 -1.0bar
E7 -1.1bar
E8 -1.1bar
E9 -1.2bar

Em..... i remember last time my Stock EVO7 engine already 1.2bar, n now my E8 is exectly like what H22-c mention.

hi bnr34: is your E8 the MR version or just normal GSR version? I think the MR will have some difference because of their turbine being slightly more flow?

i think 1.3-1.4 should be right for stock, because once it touches about 1.5 it will drop down to 1.3-1.4 region.. thanks for you guys clarification..

i was not sure "how stock" my boost was.
now i know some other stock Evo8 boost same like mine, thanks for your info too.

hi bnr34: is your E8 the MR version or just normal GSR version? I think the MR will have some difference because of their turbine being slightly more flow?

i think 1.3-1.4 should be right for stock, because once it touches about 1.5 it will drop down to 1.3-1.4 region.. thanks for you guys clarification..

Yes. mine is just a normal GSR.

wah lau eh...2.5bar how to control wor.....must be a real monster under the hood...hehehehe