Discussion On Alternator

clanzkiller

Wanted to know wat's the main cause/factor of alternator to break down/spoil ?

i've changed 2 alternator in 2 months...i'm just wondering wat caused it...cause everytime before the alternator went down, there wil be a heavy rain...
so izzit the water enter into the alternator make the motor inside short circuit?

i just installed my grouding wire on friday because my alarm sounds very loud and after few sec it become like LOW battery sound..dam funny and cute..so my audio shop ask me to fix grouding wire as my car lack of earth....and saturday alternator kong d..

so which is the possibility of the dmg of the alternator??or any other factors?

first time, i duno wat alternator is tat...then once broke down,i changed into half cut condition one...
and then 1 month later the halfcut alternator broke down agian mean today...and i changed a recond wan...cause new one is a bit expensive lo..400++

my engine is 4g93t on satria chasis..

currently i'm using recond 1.6 wira alternator as seen on the box written on it...
i do read back old post about diff Ampere of alternator produce...dunno much bout it..i just wan it to run without any problem by changing a new alternator agian n agian...

the alternator you changed, is it brand new or you got a "recon" or from chop-shop? mind we know what car are you referring to?

oh sorry for the lack of information :D
cause i post tis thread in rush..fren waiting for me..

i edit it on my first post for conveniance for everyone

maybe... but my car oso got into a flood abt knee height.. but that 3 years ago... managed to push the car to high ground....still the car runs fine

recently the alternator broke... can't be faulted due to the age of my car... although it's just 3++ years.. my kancil oledy travel 19x,xxxkm :stupid:

1st change wif recon, noticed that the battery isn't charged properly i.e. below 3k rpm, the volt meter like normal 14+ volts... but if i rev it more than that, it drops to 12v and sometime less.... like it didn' charge up...

immediately after that, went back to the workshop, and I got a replacement.. oso recon unit but it worked well since that...

moral of the story. recon unit sometimes not that good.... if got $$$, better buy new unit

what type of battery u using?
measure ur battery volts using multimeter/voltmeter.
if engine running should be more than 12, usually 13.x - 14.x volts.

and measure when engine off. should be 11-12v. if low than that maybe something short n draining ur battery.

cheap way to check ur alternator, after starting engine, remove -ve battery terminal. if engine dies, alternator not charging already.

what type of battery u using?
measure ur battery volts using multimeter/voltmeter.
if engine running should be more than 12, usually 13.x - 14.x volts.

and measure when engine off. should be 11-12v. if low than that maybe something short n draining ur battery.

using my trusty ol' autogauge volt meter hehee

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/Cars/prblems/electrical/01xstart.jpg
During engine off

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/Cars/prblems/electrical/02dahstart.jpg
during engine start...

imagine...cruising at 3.5k and my reading is just like the first pic...and dropping... :afraid:...but when reduce the rev below 3k it shoots up again :stupid:

cheap way to check ur alternator, after starting engine, remove -ve battery terminal. if engine dies, alternator not charging already.
oledy tried...even got into heated argument wif my pomen... then we've go for a ride...from kajang till putrajaya...maintaining at 4k rpm...then the engine dies :mad:

...after one tow truck + replacement alternator/battery.. then the car is ok..

err...maxx, dis question is for me or clanzkiller?

i'm using wet battery...wat brand i forget d...my car key inside my room,lazy take...if u need the information on it, then i'll check n post tomoro...

btw i know all the step of checking only after i change my alternator..now working fine of course cause only 1 day...

i wil do a measurement of my battery tomoro..
i only wan to know the factors of causing alternator to break down...so tat maybe i can do prevention on it..

oppss.. sorry papagoines.
asking TS: clanzkiller actually.
hahaha... guess so :biggrin:

guess I'm being too nosy.. hehehe

i'm using wet battery...wat brand i forget d...my car key inside my room,lazy take...if u need the information on it, then i'll check n post tomoro...

btw i know all the step of checking only after i change my alternator..now working fine of course cause only 1 day...

i wil do a measurement of my battery tomoro..
i only wan to know the factors of causing alternator to break down...so tat maybe i can do prevention on it..
there's many factors involved
  1. Mileage - happened to me
  2. flood - if you started the car when submerged... u'll get broken engine oso ehehhe
  3. condition of the alternator - original will last long... as fer recon/halfcut...its everyone guess

Get a volt meter.... normal autogauge (RM6x) will do... then you can check the status of your battery and alternator without opening up the hood.... as fer the reading... you can refer to maxx posting

so beside flood,wil the water splashing wit cause the motor inside short circuit??

i think i wil get the apexi pen timer... :D
cause i don wan my car to mix up wit gauge meter...like every brand got each lol..

so beside flood,wil the water splashing wit cause the motor inside short circuit??

i think i wil get the apexi pen timer... :D
cause i don wan my car to mix up wit gauge meter...like every brand got each lol..
dun think so... if you look into the engine bay....the alternator pretty exposed from below.. wonder why modern cars doesn't have sump guard like cars of old...

de autogauge is just a suggestion, if ppl on a budget like me...den is enuff la... got more money...I'll go for HKS type 0

tat's why..if the main factor is because of water entering into the alternator..maybe i wil think of something to covering it up to prevent water entering it...

i don wan so many gadjets tat is visible le..later susah..u know la rite??

tat's why..if the main factor is because of water entering into the alternator..maybe i wil think of something to covering it up to prevent water entering it...

i don wan so many gadjets tat is visible le..later susah..u know la rite??
one thing that I know... always change the belting for the alternator when the time comes.. can't remember when but usually 80k km issit?

or you can save up and buy genuine mitsu alternator? if got problem before warranty expired, you can claim warranty..

...gadgets....useful but attracts too many attention.. the reason i like hks because of its size... once I've use pivot baby timer just for the heck of it (I'm stil runing NA). I've tacked it up below by stering column.... no one would see it unless the driver himself hehehe

as for my gauges...before this I like to cover them up using a hat..but know a bit malas.still no broken windows.. gues autogauge holds no value kot :biggrin:

oh ya i just remember....when i reach my workshop and open up my hood, there is water at the battery negetive there...

i wonder if tat causing the short circuit to my alternator....or maybe other possibilities tat cause and directed to my alternator..

oh ya i just remember....when i reach my workshop and open up my hood, there is water at the battery negetive there...

i wonder if tat causing the short circuit to my alternator....or maybe other possibilities tat cause and directed to my alternator..
negative is just ground only...i doubt it...as for positive terminal...surely got rubber covering right?

maybe the water just excess battery water coming out from its vent hole on top of the cap? that's just normal

yeah..positive is covering wit a rubber...
oh i thought the rain enter to my engine bay and kena my battery...
haiya sakit kepala....
i ask my mech why alternator wil kong...he said sometimes the carbon inside finish so make the alternator kong...hurmm ?

if tis is one of the posibility, any other>??
i read back on old post..one of the member alternator masuk green liquid...and cause the alternator break down too...
so i was thinking..if any liquid (rain,water) enter the alternator, mean it wil cause the alternator to melt function lo?

yeah..positive is covering wit a rubber...
oh i thought the rain enter to my engine bay and kena my battery...
haiya sakit kepala....
i ask my mech why alternator wil kong...he said sometimes the carbon inside finish so make the alternator kong...hurmm ?

if tis is one of the posibility, any other>??
i read back on old post..one of the member alternator masuk green liquid...and cause the alternator break down too...
so i was thinking..if any liquid (rain,water) enter the alternator, mean it wil cause the alternator to melt function lo?
yup... there's one engineering shop here in kajang that can repair kong alternator by replacing the carbon thingie...

hey... I've found one site that you can read.. its here The Life and Death of an Alternator