EF9 or EG6 for my 2nd car?

boyzone

Guys,

I plan to own a 2nd car to enjoy on Vtec technology.
Therefore, as above subject mentioned, which civic should I go?
What is the different between:
1st: 1 st gen B16A vs 2nd gen B16A ?
2nd: overall spare part, example: coilover etc...

Pls advise... Thanks.:biggrin:

Just my opinion, though I do think you've already given thought on the same aspects I've mentioned below

the EF9 is a bit old, but its quite an good car, but parts wise, you'd be looking harder than if you bought a later model. If you have the cash for new USDM parts, then there isn't a problem with performance parts for the EF9, as even some online stores in the US still sells EF parts, from door side sills, down to the lighting. For fans of the EF though, this is not a problem, and for some of them, it may even be considered the fun and challenge of owning an EF.

Personally I liked the 2nd gen CRX than the EF9, but that's just my taste.

The EG6 is also an old car, but one benefit is that being newer, it has more abundance in parts, also thanks to the fact that it has some shared architecture/design with integras and ek civic, which makes it quite a good base for modding.

I also like delsol more than the EG6, but that's also another matter :P

EF8 is my dream car when I still in high school. However, I'm stay in Penang, interm of spare part, I don't think I can get it easily.
That why spare part is the main concern for me to own a CRX. Therefore, back a step to look for EF model.:biggrin:
I recv a lot of advise from fren not go to old car as spare part will make head big...especially on Honda import model vs local model.
Seem like EG will be my 1st choice instead of EF.
Btw, are local EG spare part like air con compressor is same mounting with B16A engine?

Pls advise... Thanks:adore:

As for mounting the compressor, I think the concern is less on how to mount it, rather the hose end that goes to the compressor are not the same size. Though not to worry, there's plenty of ways to shoehorn another compressor in if there's a need.

but since it's a 2nd car driven occasionally, what do you need aircond for? :P

Besides,

Is 1st gen B16A engine spare part same use with 2nd gen B16A?
Need to make myself clear before make a decision. Thanks again.

Some parts are interchangeable, some not. OBD-0 is a bit long in the tooth, though you probably can source people who can rechip, its not as easy as OBD1, that's for sure.

Oh.. mean that EG is more easily for ppl who stay in Penang...
Btw, what is high consume part for 2nd gen B16A? what I mean is the part more common to get short life spand?

well, depending on your luck I guess, some people say distributor, but mine is still healthy after 120,000kms. But mostly people say it's the distributor

My list of parts changed since my conversion to B16A,
4 Sets of tires, total of 8pcs, RT-215, now on RE001 205/50/15
S2 Valvetrain (valves worn out in piston one, suspected due to improper valve lash)
Clutch pad,
Bushes, all front end.
A/C compressor = 2nd unit replaced (mampos-ed, constant high rev = bad for AC?)
A/C hoses (leaked)
Brake pads (worn out the prev. set, now on endless NA pads
Apart from that, everything still works, in terms of the engine.

If you feel it heavy, it's probably because I do a minimum of 120km mileage per day... that's the least, anyway.
Monthly, it exceeds 5000km, that's for sure.

You have to budget repairs into your 2nd hand car, most people don't really maintain their engines, but rather fix things in a way that goes "as long as it can move", and when they feel that they've had enough, they sell to others.

So make sure you have at least 2-3K free after purchase for repairs, timing belt, rubber seals, hoses, etc. might need replacement.

2-3K is conservative though, because if you have the gearbox konk out on you (if you bought a high mileage ride), it will go over that amount very easily.

yup.. high rev will make compressor life spand shorten. This agree as a lot of mivecan also face this problem :biggrin:
Btw, how much is distributor cost?

around 350 or so for a 2nd hand unit, though people say can get cheaper 'recond' units, I'm not sure where.

for me, if mine konks, i'll probably switch over to MSD or MDI.. one time 2K or so expense, and never need to worry about distributor again. :P The MDI unit doesn't even use the distributor, catch is, it doesn't work that well on highly modified engines (overbored, stroked high comp engines) On mild modifieds, it works fine though.

Too bad AEM EMS costs a bomb though, but if I could get it, I'd convert to coil on plug setups :P

ok.. think now is the right time for me to hunting EG.
Btw, have any Vtec rule wanna to share here? like original gearbox code number, gear ratio etc...
appreciate and thanks:adore:

bro bro,... penang penang,...
come!

have u found ur EG???
have u targetted any???

come look for me,... the whole big EG gang is juz round the corner,...

heh heh heh..Penang kaki who used EK last time start selling their EK. Now hunting for EG6 to join the club. Mr. Boyzone, welcome to the club :wavey:

do pm me if you want to join for TT :driver::driver:

Sure...will join the TT once I get the EG.
However, now still running with Satria Mivec.:driver:

heh heh heh..Penang kaki who used EK last time start selling their EK. Now hunting for EG6 to join the club. Mr. Boyzone, welcome to the club :wavey:

do pm me if you want to join for TT :driver::driver:

weihhh,... aku cannot tt meh?
my car also look like 60% civic lookalike mahhh,...

Sure...will join the TT once I get the EG.
However, now still running with Satria Mivec.:driver:

mivec? b4 u sell, take it to test power with vtec, jommmm jommm jom!

my Mivec just stick with stock.. nothing special one. :biggrin:
Btw, understand from car dealer, most of the EG is not able to get loan from bank as car age is more than 10yrs.
And the car price is at RM27K and above... how to buy :confused:
Any idea?

my Mivec just stick with stock.. nothing special one. :biggrin:
Btw, understand from car dealer, most of the EG is not able to get loan from bank as car age is more than 10yrs.
And the car price is at RM27K and above... how to buy :confused:
Any idea?

u want jdm EG???

or u'll settle for a converted sr3?
or a sr3 and later u convert urself?

many choice bro,...

i think at this area also many people searching for 2-door civic EG/SH,...
hmmmm,...

If i'm not mistaken,my friend sold of his eg 4 door converted b16a for less than RM20k about a month or 2 back and got himself a new mitsu.