Which engine more reliable < tahan lasak> in evo or subaru ?

SUJAAR.RACINGTEAM

Hi subaru sifus...can i know which engine...more tahan lasak...in normal rev.. boxer engine...or evo engine...Bcoz usually evo engine easily get hot when stuck in trafficjam or long journey...{my own experiance using evo 6.5}...How about subaru...especialy v8 sti....is it easily get hot....that engine can withsatand heat....in high rev or high speed...
I would like to changed my ride....to subaru...{evo get bored already }...pls give some advice....?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Hi subaru sifus...can i know which engine...more tahan lasak...in normal rev.. boxer engine...or evo engine...Bcoz usually evo engine easily get hot when stuck in trafficjam or long journey...{my own experiance using evo 6.5}...How about subaru...especialy v8 sti....is it easily get hot....that engine can withsatand heat....in high rev or high speed...
I would like to changed my ride....to subaru...{evo get bored already }...pls give some advice....?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

My 7 never had such problems before, even though KL-Penang and back daily trip non-stopped (except refueling ) or KL-KT non stop ((except refueling ). Donno about the rest. BTW, my super stock standard only.

Maybe yours modded....just checked.

That is right...for easy maintenance...evo is better..but SUBARU got 'Manly" look...Last week i just have fun with..my fren's subaru wrx sti v8...Wow it is really.... really...good.... although dont have scooby sound...but boxer engine give loud noise...and very much in power..I think I FALL IN love with scooby...Time for hunting...:idea::idea::idea:

Donno other people point of view , but I did test-drive unreg Ver8 STI (at Naza) prior to my decision to purchase of an unreg 7. Stock vs stock and my feelings straight goes to E7.

I guess different people have different set of opinion lah.

both are darn good cars that have a long history of going head-to-head in the world rally championship. both are similar in terms of power,4wd and have 4 doors. their engine configuration is different and so is the way the evo manages its 4wd system with its fancy electronics i.e. ayc. the subaru doesn't have such thing apart from dccd, plus maybe a little bit more character and soul :biggrin:

i've always been a fan of the evo tme. i wanted to buy one few years ago but could only afford the old junk gc8 :frown:. but if you have unlimited budget, go for the s204 or ra-r. you won't regret it. it's a shame that the boxer rumble of the subaru stopped after version 7 but there is still a hint of that burble if you listen carefully. :rolleyes:

in terms of which engine is tahan lasak, evo engine is known to be able to withstand high boost because of its cast iron block. subaru engines are aluminum with iron lining so it's pretty strong as well but also means that it's lighter. parts and skilled mechanics are plenty if you're in klang valley.

if you're still unsure which one to get................. just flip a coin :biggrin: you got nothing to lose

Different people have different feeling....always depends on drive's mind..but why EVO no more in World Rally Championship....Subaru still can give good fight to citroen n ford... What happen to evo team after our legend tommi makkinen....{is it true that evo engine cannot compete with subaru or ford engine...}..:confused::confused::confused:

*Bcoz usually evo engine easily get hot when stuck in trafficjam or long journey...{my own experiance using evo 6.5}...How about subaru*From:SUJAAR.RACINGTEAM
Any sifu can let me know the answer?? Especially for the trafficjam problem. I am interested toward v9. plz advice :adore:

stock standard subaru (or evo for that matter) shouldn't have overheating problems. just buy either one and you won't regret doing it.

Agreed Jester!! hehehe

Proved that!

My fren advice....if stock standard...must fix with bigger intercooler system.{front one better}. eksoz..and bigger air filter...bigger radiator {may be 3 layer }, THERMOSTAT bcoz malaysian weather is really hot...our water "'corrupted" already{rust}...So need extra attention...to cool down engine faster ....Is it true....

1) definitely evo engine since it is l4 and subaru is b4 it has low center grativity and it are on load more than l4(Straight).
2) Boxer engine have less strength on their engine block because it is not rigid enough, often you can hear subaru break their engine part the crank shaft due to not rigid engine block unless you out metal sleeves in to the engine block.
3)the balance of the crankshaft must be very accurate, the adjust of timing of the engine of boxer also need to pay very careful attention due to it low center grativity design
4) The boxer engine is have very smooth rev compare to evo due to boxer engine shorter rod but in reverse cause more wear and tear on engine. Maintenance also higher compare to evo.

The gearbox of subaru is fragile due to the thin gear of subaru.

Most durable gearbox are supra and m3 because made by getrag germany

My fren advice....if stock standard...must fix with bigger intercooler system.{front one better}. eksoz..and bigger air filter...bigger radiator {may be 3 layer }, THERMOSTAT bcoz malaysian weather is really hot...our water "'corrupted" already{rust}...So need extra attention...to cool down engine faster ....Is it true....

I've been running my fully factory stock Evo (except air filter & PFC) for more than 2 years now + merembat/high speeding as well as been stranded in traffic jam many2 time...and so far no problems. Thank God.

In my opinion, stock car don't really need to comply as your friend advice. However, it still go back to owner preference lah.

that's right. evo and subaru engines are strong and durable enough in standard form. of course it won't hurt to install bigger radiator, oil cooler, etc.