Satria/Wira

keithmin

isit true that Wira is better than Satria in handling ? i want to know tis coz my satria isnt smooth enough when driving in roads that have small holes or bumps, but i`ve tried wira, waja, its better than mine, i`ve changed my absorbers, mounting...what else could be the fact that makes my satria unstable...it just feels better when in wira, but GTI is so much better, i relaly don`t understand this...isit because of Lotus handling ? if yes then what should i do to improve my handling ?

the fact is more heavier the car the more stable it is.. by the way what model is ur satria..? 1.3 or 1.6 ?

of course they will be a different if u compare with wira, waja because those are heavier than ur satria but it doesn't means that u need to dump a couple of brick back in ur rear boot :p

i have woofers, maybe i have much heavier things that a car is suppose to be :) car jack, tool box, but i dun think that helps, hmmm, my satria is 1.6 4g92, but GTI is also lighter than waja/wira, y can it be so stable ?

hmm...lots of factors contribute to a car's handling..

1st, Wheel Base
2nd, tire size & type of tyre used (soft,medium,hard compound)
3rd, Anti-Roll Bars, strut bars, any other supporting chasis strenghtening bar
4th, suspension & wheel setup (wheel camber, toe, height, stiffness, absorbtion qualities of the suspension)
5th, speed on what type of terrain (dry road, wet road, flooded road, pothole ridden road)
6th, frontal vs rear end weight distribution (as we know, AE86 has one of the most balanced front to rear weight distribution)

my 2 kupang:rolleyes:

the fact is more heavier the car the more stable it is.. by the way what model is ur satria..? 1.3 or 1.6 ?

who says heavier is more stable ? this is one of most misconception

so its like suggesting a lotus elise is very unstable, which is very not true and a 10 tonne lorry is very planted, but is not also true :driver:

it depends on body rigidity, suspension setup ,weight distribution, tyres, like what Pocketrocket said.

who says heavier is more stable ? this is one of most misconception

so its like suggesting a lotus elise is very unstable, which is very not true and a 10 tonne lorry is very planted, but is not also true :driver:

it depends on body rigidity, suspension setup ,weight distribution, tyres, like what Pocketrocket said.

I second that... A common misconception.... Back to concept of physics --> momentum and inertia...

Inertia is the tendency of all objects to resist a change in motion. It is directly proportional to an objects mass. The heavier the object is, the more inertia it has and it would keep going forever if it was in a frictionless environment. Another way to put it is inertia is how much an object will resist a change of velocity.

got that?

ntx...we're not talking bout momentum...your explaination is on a totally different topic from stability issues here..

"the heavier the object, the more inertia it has to move forever in a frictionless environment", and as we know, cars have high friction against wind or air at highr speeds. this does not explain the stability of the car but it touches on aerodynamics

what the TS wants to know is his chasis feels diff from driving other cars which what i mentiond contributes to all cars stability n handling woes

my 1 kupang:rolleyes:

yes, abt physics, i know that, but i wanted to know what makes it so unstable, like maybe absorbers, springs, or maybe wheels ? i think it might be wheels, im using a brigestone tyre, 14" rims, i think its time for me to change those, but it might cost me a lot :banghead:

wind is not a problem, coz i seldom go fast, only when going KLIA or Putrajaya, i`ll go maximum abt 190km/h, others 120 - 140km/h is average, the problem here is when im driving on the road, ya know, Malaysia roads, bumps n holes everywhere, it makes me uncomfortable...i have an Ultra Racing 2 point bar at front, i just changed absorbers, 4 of them, mounting also changed, the bush, all rubbers, i really don`t know what else can i change other than changing a new car...

what shockers are you using?

is your car lowered?

to get stability at those speeds, u definately need at least 16 inch rollers, else u will feel like ur car is floating. bigger contact patch of the tires helps the car grip the road hence achieving better stability at high speed (why do you think murcielago's oem rear wheel is 335 width)

camber adjustments to at least -1 on all 4 (keep in mind to regularly rotate ur tires) mine was front -1 n rear -1.5...i love corners

Bridgestone what model? RE 001? GIII or MY 01?

are u using any rear 3 point bar? this helps hatchbacks like satria alot cuz hatches are prone to light ass specially at those speeds

what shockers are you using?
Im using Sachs shock absorbers

is your car lowered?
nope, normal springs, i even add a 1 inch rubber so i wont hit btm when driving throught a bump

to get stability at those speeds, u definately need at least 16 inch rollers, else u will feel like ur car is floating. bigger contact patch of the tires helps the car grip the road hence achieving better stability at high speed (why do you think murcielago's oem rear wheel is 335 width)
WOW, but 16" tyres r a bit exp...to be honest, i really like them, i`ve seen satria with 16", its really nice

camber adjustments to at least -1 on all 4 (keep in mind to regularly rotate ur tires) mine was front -1 n rear -1.5...i love corners
ohh, i din know this could be the fact, i dont know anything abt alignment, i just let them do it

Bridgestone what model? RE 001? GIII or MY 01?
i dont know which model but its written Bridgestone Turanza 185/60/14

are u using any rear 3 point bar? this helps hatchbacks like satria alot cuz hatches are prone to light ass specially at those speeds
nope, i didnt add any bars at rear

hope u learnt something today bro...i was in the same situation as u when i 1st bought my car...

ntx...we're not talking bout momentum...your explaination is on a totally different topic from stability issues here..

"the heavier the object, the more inertia it has to move forever in a frictionless environment", and as we know, cars have high friction against wind or air at highr speeds. this does not explain the stability of the car but it touches on aerodynamics

what the TS wants to know is his chasis feels diff from driving other cars which what i mentiond contributes to all cars stability n handling woes

my 1 kupang:rolleyes:

Dude, I was referring to stonebridges' comment:itsme:

get GTi's suspension.... especially their Lower arm. my mech says it would do.. and plus get some sport springs and absorbers if you dont have it on your car, infact get that first...

happy driving. :driver:

ohh ,ok....i`ll see what can i do....coz i`ve just changed those... :) n thanks everyone :)

y not ask the wira that u've tried abt his suspension setup???
coz everyone have different setup....

anyway....
just a suggestion....

if can of coz i wan use back satria setup lo....anyway...i have a few noob questions to ask...i`ve always see bhp, torque on every car, i want to know whats tat ? bhp is horsepower, i knew tat, n i think my satria is 110bhp sumthing like tat, what is torque then ? its like xxx torque at xxx rpm, what exactly is that ?

there r many many equations in other website, the best answer i can get is this:

As you know, an engine’s output is rated in horsepower and torque. Torque is pulling power, and it’s best demonstrated as the grunt that gets you moving, while horsepower is what keeps you going.

Without sounding like your high-school physics teacher, torque is the twisting force created in an engine by rotating parts; horsepower is the measurement of how fast torque is being used. Horsepower and torque work hand-in-hand, as horsepower is calculated from torque.

For the average buyer, torque shouldn’t be a deciding factor unless you know you’ll be towing or hauling heavy loads. And that’s where high-torque vehicles will thrive, driving while towing a trailer or maxing out cargo capacity. It will be easier to accelerate and sustain speed with a high-torque car in any situation, but especially with heavy loads.

High-performance cars can also produce gobs of torque that greatly aid in acceleration. That feeling of your eyeballs being sucked into the back of your head in a fast car during heavy right-foot pounding is an example of excessive torque.

===================

ok, this means trucks, trailers have very high torque ?

yes. high torque to pull heavy loads in trucks...cant go fast, but strong pull
imaging u have torque as high as trucks under ur hood:biggrin:

ohh, those engines r powerful enuf to pull sumthing heavy, but what abt the xxx torque at xxx rpm, means it need certain rpm to get that strength ?