Buying A Skyline!

pimpin is right, im doing the same thing or maybe all of us here,think about other expenses like taxes,bills,house loan,savings,insurances,feedings,ur parents,charity or whatsoever..the left-over cash gonna be spent for ur hobbies n interest(cars,gals,clubs,holidays)..that's the right way

im not here to be a sifu,as im younger than u n u'r 'mkn garam dlu' way from me...but in a simple way i do is,let my mind works into the deep...if it cant work,just bang it to the wall:banghead:joking

pimpin is right, im doing the same thing or maybe all of us here,think about other expenses like taxes,bills,house loan,savings,insurances,feedings,ur parents,charity or whatsoever..the left-over cash gonna be spent for ur hobbies n interest(cars,gals,clubs,holidays)..that's the right way

im not here to be a sifu,as im younger than u n u'r 'mkn garam dlu' way from me...but in a simple way i do is,let my mind works into the deep...if it cant work,just bang it to the wall:banghead:joking

Dude, you don't make sense. What are you on about??:rolleyes:

just get the car. u will regret it more when one day, u look back thinking that u were THIS close to gettin it.

mod parts slowly and enjoy ur car. occasionally problems will surface but u have to be mentally ready for all this. i.e. imagine while driving to see client, something fks up and u cant repair it asap becoz ur waiting for ur next salary to come in month-end. would u stop to think that the car is so troublesome and u would prolly be better off gettin a reliable car? would it piss u off that it would break down so many times and cost u your savings?

some food for thought for u

btw i dont own a skyline but i can relate...

...and goddammit im happy i own a jdm

Mate, I totally understand how you are feeling right now as I was in your shoes, no kidding. The passion and love for an R34 can really cloud your judgement and distort your rationality. My advice is please do think real carefully even when you are fortunate enough to not have any liabilities.

Let's take a Honda Civic 2.0S as an example (similar price range at around RM125k for a ER34). How comfortable would you feel in maintaining this brand new car? Now factor in the following extra considerations for an ER34:

1) Insurance (You've no NCD)
2) Petrol
3) Road Tax
4) Parking (Valet for your sweet ride)
5) Maintenance
6) Your ER34 is almost 10 years old compared to a brand new Civic.
7) Touch wood but you do have to consider if anything happens to that car, what's going to happen to you? Can you afford any expensive repair works?
8) What if you suddenly decide to settle down and have a family?

Just think carefully... You don't wanna be picking up debt unnecessarily...

Whatever you do, do not buy an R33 - no disrespect to other bros - cause firstly you seem inexperienced relatively so an older Skyline which could have numerous problems is daunting and could even have problems just when you need it most. Also, being an older model, do bear in mind that financing for the vehicle could be a problem.

Having said that, over this past year or so I've bought all my cars (sports cars lah) through this dealer turned friend of mine. He used to work at Tenaga Wan Bersaudara but has since left to work elsewhere - it's been awhile so I'm not up to date with his current company. I bought my 350z, V9 STI Spec C and R34GTR V-Spec II through him. His service is definately top notch.

For example, when I bought the 350z I told him I needed the car tinted a few days after taking delivery but at the time I was busy with a merger (was in investment banking) so needed the car for a lunchtime meeting. He told me to go to work as usual and at 9am he turned up, picked up the car, had it tinted, washed and polished and parked outside my office by noon.

There was a time when I was looking for a continental car so he found a 360M which was not in good condition so I told him I didn't mind a 911 Turbo (996 model) so he had the car brought to my office during lunch so I could test drive it. Same goes for the GTR - also brought to my office for lunchtime testdrive despite it being from another dealership.

Forgive me for going on and on - this is one guy whom I'd always buy my cars from - but there was once we were chilling at my place over the weekend cause we shared an interest in trance music and I was messing around with my turntables but anyways it was about 3-4am when he got a call from a customer who bought an Estima from him and his car battery was flat in Puchong (I lived at the time in KL town) and my car dealer went all the way to help him change battery.

How's that for customer service. :biggrin: When you're ready to buy your Skyline, I'll pass on his details.

I always wanted a Skyline but I've also noted that financially I am not ready for the Skyline yet. One fine day I decided to drop by a car dealership that I happen to pass by. They had a white R34 there. Went for a drive and can't sleep for days.

Went back again for a couple of closer look and then went back again for a drive.The feeling is stupendous. Paid a downpayment for the car and went home panicking as I've yet to dispose my ride. Without selling my ride, I wouldn't have enough downpayment for the R34. The next few days were spending visiting used car yard to get a good price. I ended up selling the car in Ipoh and took a bus back to KL.

Taking delivery of the R34 was the best feeling ever. I love the car lots and smiles each time I drive it. Even after kena scolding kau-kau by boss, I still smile when I drive it back home. :)

That was 2 years ago. No regrets whatsoever. True, it sucked a huge chunk out of my small salary each month but then I won't look back when I'm 40 years old and regret I didn't do it.

I always wanted a Skyline but I've also noted that financially I am not ready for the Skyline yet. One fine day I decided to drop by a car dealership that I happen to pass by. They had a white R34 there. Went for a drive and can't sleep for days.

Went back again for a couple of closer look and then went back again for a drive.The feeling is stupendous. Paid a downpayment for the car and went home panicking as I've yet to dispose my ride. Without selling my ride, I wouldn't have enough downpayment for the R34. The next few days were spending visiting used car yard to get a good price. I ended up selling the car in Ipoh and took a bus back to KL.

Taking delivery of the R34 was the best feeling ever. I love the car lots and smiles each time I drive it. Even after kena scolding kau-kau by boss, I still smile when I drive it back home. :)

That was 2 years ago. No regrets whatsoever. True, it sucked a huge chunk out of my small salary each month but then I won't look back when I'm 40 years old and regret I didn't do it.

OMG!!!! :biggrin: Amen! OMG! I went through the same sh*t!!!! Can I like click & paste from yours as well?????? :biggrin:

hahaha slide it and vspec,

that phrase is probably what i truly 100% agree. It happened to me when i was back in australia, had a sucky day at work, but the moment i crank up my 32, fang it a lil all my problems went away. now i have my 34 and idont drive it to work, but even after work , i take it out for a spin it seems to really destress hearing the roar..

A ride in your Skyline = anti-depressant, period.
Brings out the Devil inside of you.

Derrickho: Yes, I own a Skyline.

gotta agree with u guys... ride in the skyline = can change ur mood... but try to avoid driving the skyline when u r drunk + angry + it's raining!!!!....

Is skyline maintenance cheap for its sports car range...What is the average spending amount etc...Pls....??? Thx in advance:itsme: