Urgent! Possibility of Fuel change next year!!!

• Thread starter semperfi
  • Start date
  • Replies 26
  • Views 4K
S

semperfi

People.

I spoke to a friend of mine from one of the main OIL Company yesterday and boy was I in a shock to hear that the Govt might not subsidise fuel by the beginning of next year!! And so, where's the catch?? The Govt might introduce U95!!! Yes, Ron 95 (not confirmed yet)!!! To all owners of Skylines, Evos, Ferraris and other supercars... we might (not confirmed) be using Ron 95 for our cars!! This is gonna be a big blow to us as this kinda fuel will damage our engines literally speaking.
We might havta re-tune our cars... and our vehicle's engine lifespan won't last long either!

And yes, we're headed back to stone age!

Even with our present fuel/gas quality, our engines are dying a slow death. And guess who will be the first to get ****ed??? Make a wild guess?

Last edited by a moderator:
While i agree with the going back in time statement, RON95 should still be ok for the RB series engines. Typically in japan you are offered 3 variants of fuel, RON89 Regular, RON96 Premium and RON100 Super Premium (numbers may be wrong but should be close)

All you need to do is retune of your engine to perhaps take RON95. Lower RON levels means more knocking potential, so a tune is necessary to take care of this. Of course the down side to this is reduced power and efficiency, but hey we can’t stop stupid people form doing stupid things right.

Alternative to this is to put fuel addictives to up the efficiency level, but it would be like a drug and you’ll have to use them all the time. So bottom line is retune and get bigger turbos :-)

p/s guys who will be crying foul will the our rotary buddies & the environment

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/6915/the-real-mccoey-on-ron-research-octane-number/

its ok, there are numerous water/alcohol injection kits sold in the market. gives the effect of super high octane fuel... very affordable nowadays (even for laymen like me, even more so for most skyline owners) SUPREME knock surpressant, virtually eliminates knock.

p/s in the united states, normal pump fuel is RON92 (okay, some might argue that american 92 RON is similar to 95 european RON :thefinger:). that didnt stop them from producing the baddest cars the world has ever seen.

The Japanese that tuned my car previously said our current fuel quality is not good for the RB engine. Re-tune my car again? Great! Bringing in the Japs again would probably make a bigger hole in my pocket! I'm done for! :banghead:

there are many good n competent home grown tuners in malaysia, why waste money to bring in some japanese tuner?

hahaha.. dude, worrying for things that's inevitable is pointless. Let it come, we'll deal with it. There's always a way. U dont need japs to come over. Local tuners arent dead. Over the years, the local tuners have made their mark. :driver::driver:

but if u really wanna worry, i think ron95 is the least of our worries... economy tsunami is coming.. and mind u.. there could be a war coming too...

First off, I don't trust locals. (no puns intended) I've seen how the Japs work with the engines. They practically do everything by the book and tuning a RB is like a shoot in the breeze for them.
And my car is in the Borneo(I'm from KL anyway), there are no known locals in Borneo that can tune Skylines whatmore F-Con V Pro? Basically, it's a catch-22 for me. I've asked numerous tuners from KL and the price they charge are ridiculous!! I told them I needed 350-400ps. (I don't need to go that fast) and the price they quoted me was beyond this world! They said I need to put in an aftermarket ECU,change to a bigger turbo, change my exhaust, get a air suction kit, intercooler, get this, get that! I wasn't born yesterday ya know.

I called up Japan, they said, I only needed to get F-Con V-Pro and an a boost controller and since I've bought a HKS Racing chamber kit and HKS suction reloaded kit from them previously, that is all I needed. They came, did it within 2 days. 400ps! They said they can still push the power up but they won't. My engine would not last long they added and plus our hot weather and fuel quality...will kill the RB26!

I'm content with what they did to my vehicle. Happy as ever and till now, I don't even have any problem with it, touch wood. Can you guarantee you don't have to bring your vehicle back to your local tuner every now and then to get minor adjustments? KL would be better off unfortunately I don't have the liberty to send my car back to KL every now and then. Blown engines and blown turbos are quite an occurence over here. So, what happens next? Who's gonna pay for the blown engine? You or the local tuner?

"You want 600ps? No pohblem. You buy this la, very good one! You must buy that also, and this and that! This one plug and play one. Oh, you've a blown engine boss.. I find another one for you. I kira you cheap cheap..." Malaysian attitude and no responsibility.

Just my 2 cents. I might be bias but c'mon, tell me there isn't any one of you who haven't come across this situation before. I have had a couple of encounters with my previous car and that's it, nope I don't trust them with my RB26.

Again, no puns intended to some local tuners amd I know there are good ones out there but my location forbids me to send it to them and neither will they come over here. I rest my case.

Now that my F-Con V Pro is bought from Japan and tuned by them, no one will touch it and I have to get a new set from KL. Existing F-Con V Pro will have to go. :thefinger:

So far, My F Con is still good! My friend changed his car and wanted to used his existing F-Con on his BNR34 but no one wants to do it. The govt is creating uneccessary problems for us... everything is going fine until Murphy comes along!:banghead:

Last edited by a moderator:
isn't RON95 to replace RON92?
Yup, that's what i heard too... the government will replace RON92 with RON95 (still subsidized) , RON97 still in the market (but no longer subsidized) the RON97 price will follow world crude oil market price...if going down the price will drop , if going up...makan roti lor...:biggrin: but the thing not sure yet...exp Mar09..

no need to bring in japanese tuner then :burnout: can continue boosting hehehe

Adding on to what semperfi said...
Have you seen the workmanship of an engine properly done up by a reputed Japanese tuner? Every nut and bolt is marked. That's how meticulous they are. So neat and tidy. Every measurement is marked and carefully recorded in a little journal so they have references in future. It is very obvious when comparing an engine done in Japan to and engine done by locals. The local ones just don't measure up in terms of quality.
That being said, of course not all Japanese tuners are good. I guess the reason why people put them up on pedestals is because of the reputation they have built for themselves through their commitment, dedication and quality clearly shown in the work they have done. You will instantly realize this if you visit their country. They take pride in every little thing they do. Service is usually first class. That being said, of course not all Japanese tuners are good. In every industry, or society for that matter, there are always your bad apples. =)

LOL problem is that bad apples are everywhere in Malaysia :-D so let them do the work and clean up after them yourself :-)

just wonder... when la local tuner will come to that standard? Might be the labour cost also different...hehehe:biggrin:

guys,

the zero subsidise plan sounds almost exactly the same like what's happening in our neighbour country such as thailand. No RON97 though. RON92 controlled, not subsidised, but RON95 full float.

As for the RON95 for tuning issue, those Thais has been tuning their car with 95 all the while. Used to run my RB to 900whp with Vpower and the Thai tuner was so impressed and jeolous of what we can get in our pump locally.

aziz.aziz,

labour cost different might be the case for Malaysian vs Japs, but you can be rest assured not in the Malaysian vs Thai.
Really, is the attitude of our mechanics have in themselves, not so much on how skillful or how much..and that;s the hardest thing to change:banghead:

Yup, spot on Tony.
It's attitude. The 'tidak apa' attitude that's pulling many industries down and hurting the growth. No pride or passion in what they do. Ah well...

agree also...it's attitute...just wondering if we as customer demand for better service..and put high expectation on them.. would they become better or they label us as 'lansi' owner...hehehe:biggrin:

y don't all zth owners save 50 k each...form our band of brothers...so everything will be controlled...
slowly eliminate the money system and start with a coupon system...that way no inflation or subsidy can affect us...hmmmm my opinion when ill have the power to help....!!

With regards to local engine builds and tuners:

Maybe its not only the local tuner and mechanic's 'tidak apa' attitude to blame, but also the attitude of our Malaysian car owner in general, always wanting best deals, quick service, and most importantly at the cheapest and best price. How will any car enthusiast turn engine builder / tuner survive in Malaysia if all his customers want cheap cheap cheap? And if he makes a mistake, we f*ck, sue and bad mouth him to all our friends and all over the internet.

If it were me, I will be so fed up, and move to a more civilized and prosperous country where customers can appreciate my work and pay me whats due for my quality.

So maybe we need to change OUR attitudes also.

My RB did manage to pulled some high horses, but eventho it was only for a short while before the sad incident of theft, but the Japanese tuner was also impressed on how high the 2.8 l engine could rev so willingly over 9000 rpm while on the dyno. Give my builder a few more years and some $$ to invest in a V Pro power writing software, and I know he can turn into a good local tuner as well.