Camshaft Question....!

scomatic

Hi all,
I got a question, which is a bit confusing for me... Hope Sifoo can help me out here...

Question:
1. Lift are important or Duration are most important in selecting the Hi cam? Let say, 264 degree with 9.5 lift, and 272 degree with 7.5 lift... So which 1 better?

2.Turbo or supercharge setup, higher lift is better or lower is better?

3. As i know turbo or supercharge cam in and ex are differ setting from NA, so what is cause different? And how to correct it?

4. The higher lift, will provide more sharp on cam nose? or what more round on the base circle?

Hi all,
I got a question, which is a bit confusing for me... Hope Sifoo can help me out here...

Question:
1. Lift are important or Duration are most important in selecting the Hi cam? Let say, 264 degree with 9.5 lift, and 272 degree with 7.5 lift... So which 1 better?

2.Turbo or supercharge setup, higher lift is better or lower is better?

3. As i know turbo or supercharge cam in and ex are differ setting from NA, so what is cause different? And how to correct it?

4. The higher lift, will provide more sharp on cam nose? or what more round on the base circle?

1-both important
2-bigger duration, bigger kick
3-u know, i dont know..
4-really ha?

I only heard that NA suited for higher lift, and Turbo not recommended with higher lift. Yup, both duration and lift is important, but too high lift is bad for Turbo. Usually you wont find a very high lift on 262/264 duration cam, mostly high lift over 8/9 is for duration over 272. Other than that have to wait for seefuu to answer.

make sure the valve clearance is a ok...if not during WOT...it will hit the head...carefull...

if follow the setting base on ATDC and BTDC from the manufacture, i think it will not hit the head. Right?

that one have to ask the manufacture ...
and also rely on an expierience mechanic ...

cuz lately...i've heard lots of engine "pecah"...i wonder how that can happened...4AGE block is actually one hell though block...it's a monoblock...not aluminum...just just curios how can that happened...

during the old days...we seldom face this kind of issue...

that one have to ask the manufacture ...
and also rely on an expierience mechanic ...

cuz lately...i've heard lots of engine "pecah"...i wonder how that can happened...4AGE block is actually one hell though block...it's a monoblock...not aluminum...just just curios how can that happened...

during the old days...we seldom face this kind of issue...

yeah... i also 1 of the ex-engine pecah before, and it was because of using high cam too. Fuel not enough, knocking...

I only heard that NA suited for higher lift, and Turbo not recommended with higher lift. Yup, both duration and lift is important, but too high lift is bad for Turbo. Usually you wont find a very high lift on 262/264 duration cam, mostly high lift over 8/9 is for duration over 272. Other than that have to wait for seefuu to answer.

Yes i agree with this,but most impotant in high cam is must have correct compression ratio,this is very important.I ever saw a cam the lift degree is 320 degree for 4AGE in a japanese magazine,and i think this might be the highest cam for 4A oredi liao.:confused:
Correct me if i'm wrong.Juz to share.:biggrin:

Yes i agree with this,but most impotant in high cam is must have correct compression ratio,this is very important.I ever saw a cam the lift degree is 320 degree for 4AGE in a japanese magazine,and i think this might be the highest cam for 4A oredi liao.:confused:
Correct me if i'm wrong.Juz to share.:biggrin:

ooo.... so how to know what compression ratio suited what degree and lift? mind to evolabrate?

and yes... the higher degree was 320 and with 11mm lift, TRD - p/n intake 13501-AE881