Rear Seat belt

wfhan

If my vehicle is a pre-1995 model and it does come with rear seatbelts, but
my rear passengers do not use their seatbelts, are they committing an offense?

anyone can answer this ??

been reading mtm site, it does not gives clear explanation also.. but of course in term
of safety, is better to buckle them up. But would just like to know if it is an offense in this scenario.:driver:

yes...effective 1st jan 2009 rear seatbelt is compulsory....and a hefty fine to the driver if caught.

i better go cut my rear belt tonight...

Erm , if those who don't have rear seat belt ?..Haha , update me..Didn't read the newspaper..

its on offence from now on bro...So if the passenger dont want to listen to ur order,kick them out eventhough its ur fren...:biggrin::biggrin:

FREE retrofitting in JPJ opis...

no excuse

but im gonna cut my rear belts =P

PR:u have a good idea bro...So if u do it,tell us the feed back...btw,what car u use?

looseand:u got three years to install ur car a seatbelt...if im not mistaken la

just remove the screw and take it out lo..then go to JPJ , and get newer once..hahah

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1/2/nation/2931461&sec=nation
6mths to install

im just gonna take my whole backseat out all together...
I rarely have passengers in the rear anyways

prevention is better than cure!

Vehicle owners and passengers will be given until June 30 during which they will only be issued a compound fine of RM300 for not wearing the belts.

From July 1, they can be fined up to RM2,000, jailed a maximum of one year or both under the Road Transport Act.

From the starnewspapper website..What does this mean "From July 1, they can be fined up to RM2,000, jailed a maximum of one year or both under the Road Transport Act."..Izzit ridiculous?

Ya lor , after i read..I am also confused..First they say driver , now they say driver and passenger..:confused:

passenger below 17 or 18 din buckle up,driver kena

sounds more serious than front passenger not buckling up....if caught only RM300 on the spot....but rear passenger kena RM2000