HKS F-Con iS on ER34. Worth it?

reintel

Saw some advert abt it. Looks good and preloaded for ER34 specs. Has built it Speed limit defencer and Rev limit defencer. It says that the item can be plug in to different car depending on the wiring harness. Cost to ship back Malaysia ard RM2.8K- RM3K+

Anyone has tried it? is it worth the buy if i were to have future upgrade?

Saw some advert abt it. Looks good and preloaded for ER34 specs. Has built it Speed limit defencer and Rev limit defencer. It says that the item can be plug in to different car depending on the wiring harness. Cost to ship back Malaysia ard RM2.8K- RM3K+

There are NO such thing as "Plug n Play"! Don't get fooled by those advert...once you plugged into your car, it need to re-tune again for your main ECU to accept it. Without any proper tuning, I don't think your car can be move at all, and all the christmas lights will appear on your dashboard. Think about it, a brand new F-Con without any data programed gonna cost you around RM4k plus not including the harness, and this one gonna cost you only RM3k plus??!! :confused: :confused:

http://www.rhdjapan.com/jdm-low/HKS-F-Con-iS-Computer-RB25-w-Boost-Up-Map-Data-50900

If its true,damn this Japanese!! they sure know how to con you then..

RHD Japan ain`t Japanese~ Patrick and Russell just an ameteur selling parts online and mostly their customer from UK and OZ.....the license (Yuugen Kaisha) Limited type is equally Enterprise in Malaysia

The F-Con iS is the replacement unit for the F-Con SZ. The unit can be used on any car provided you can obtain the wiring harness for your car after which its a simple plug and play. I used to run this in my STI - you can even output onto a double din headunit using an S-Video or RCA cable and display similar to what a GTR's MFD shows.

This was how my STI was set-up:

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v272/144/120/503690359/n503690359_3185573_4714.jpg

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v272/144/120/503690359/n503690359_3185586_9038.jpg

Is the RM3k including the wiring harness? If so, then its cheap. I still have my F-Con if you want to track down a wiring harness locally (try N1) then its definately doable for around the same price or less even depending on how much the ER34 harness costs.

There are NO such thing as "Plug n Play"! Don't get fooled by those advert...once you plugged into your car, it need to re-tune again for your main ECU to accept it. Without any proper tuning, I don't think your car can be move at all, and all the christmas lights will appear on your dashboard. Think about it, a brand new F-Con without any data programed gonna cost you around RM4k plus not including the harness, and this one gonna cost you only RM3k plus??!! :confused: :confused:

Plug and play as in the wiring harness not plug and play PC style, cucuk terus jalan.

No wiring hassles.

Pimpin, Ain't the main ECU need to be reprogrammed in order for them to works together?? I understand that the wiring is for "plug n play" and not the ECU...misunderstanding n misread somewhere out there...:confused: :confused: :confused:

Well technically you don't program the main ECU of the car. The F-Con iS just intercepts certain functions in this case air/fuel and timing and allows you access and control over the mapping. Also removes your speed cut, boost cut, etc.

Basically, your ECU is not tuned directly just that various signals it receives are that of which you have tweaked using the F-Con. I really don't know how to explain it - I could cut and paste all
day but I'm trying to explain in my own words but I guess my explanations could be better.

Btw, the picture of the F-Con display in my STI displays various readings like I mentioned before its similar to the MFD and you have roughly 15 or so different readings to choose from such as intake temp, throttle position, etc. Pretty cool.

We called it PIGGY BACK type ECU (meaning original ecu still intact and link to aftermarket ECU),

otherwise Power FC, Haltech, Motec is STAND ALONE type ecu (means original ecu being remove)

My bad..had mistaken F Con is stand alone ECU this time...:banghead:

You're not entirely wrong bro. Basically HKS offers both piggyback and standalone versions of the F-Con. The F-Con iS is the piggyback model and competes with the likes of e-manage in terms of features/functions. The F-Con V-Pro is a standalone ECU but its not uncommon for the V-Pro to be used as a piggyback nor is it uncommon for a car to run more than one aftermarket standalone ECU. A good example would be the Top Secret Supra with the V12 motor which, if IIRC runs two F-Cons whereby one F-Con per 6 cylinders as the maximum can be handled by the V-Pro is 8 cylinders so they had no choice really.

There are also silly examples such as the 350z with the 2JZ from JB which had 3 different ECUs - standalone and piggyback which was totally unneccessary but whatever makes you happy I guess.

[PIMPIN];3499136 said:
There are also silly examples such as the 350z with the 2JZ from JB which had 3 different ECUs - standalone and piggyback which was totally unneccessary but whatever makes you happy I guess.

What?! Someone put 2jz into a Z? :confused::hmmmm:

Macam-macam ada.....

Pimpin, whaddaya reckon on the Link G4? Kee at Links boleh tune ka?

Since its a piggyback ecu and its preloaded with intended mapping. If we require minor adjustment, how easy to DIY? Is it normally comes with CD Software and cabling?

I've tried e-manage and it requires specific cable, but easy to tune. Never tried the rest except stand alone ecu.

Since its a piggyback ecu and its preloaded with intended mapping. If we require minor adjustment, how easy to DIY? Is it normally comes with CD Software and cabling?

I've tried e-manage and it requires specific cable, but easy to tune. Never tried the rest except stand alone ecu.

Ah yah Reintel, change the whole ECU to Power FC loh so that you don't have to worried about the wire and others components will work or not. The ECU you mentioned earlier on going to cost you around RM3,200.00 (if not mistaken), with little more $$ you can have a stand alone ECU and perform much better and a lot more than the piggyback! Best of all, more HP gained...:burnout: :burnout: :burnout: :burnout: :burnout:

R34 GTT ECU ?
i think is highly sourced item now since not under production anymore

R34 GTT ECU ?
i think is highly sourced item now since not under production anymore

U r right, the Power FC for R34 GTT is really hard to source, and you would be lucky to obtain one, most likely at a ridiculous price...

no choice.. Aus people offering AUS 1.2k for it for used set

Bro,

Is your GTT manual or tiptronic? If I'm not mistaken, PowerFC does not work with automatic cars but if yours is a manual then disregard what I just said.

Anyways, if being able to tune yourself then best go with E-Manage since you've used it before so perhaps stick with what you're comfortable.

Actually if you can source the harness for the ER34 then I still have my F-Con iS which can let you have for cheap. In fact can even test it out first that way if you don't like it then you're not out of pocket at all. Can't help with harness though and I doubt anyone has lying around to lend out. You'd most likely need to buy it first but F-Con you're welcome to try it out no worries.

[PIMPIN];3502550 said:
Bro,

Is your GTT manual or tiptronic? If I'm not mistaken, PowerFC does not work with automatic cars but if yours is a manual then disregard what I just said.

Anyways, if being able to tune yourself then best go with E-Manage since you've used it before so perhaps stick with what you're comfortable.

Actually if you can source the harness for the ER34 then I still have my F-Con iS which can let you have for cheap. In fact can even test it out first that way if you don't like it then you're not out of pocket at all. Can't help with harness though and I doubt anyone has lying around to lend out. You'd most likely need to buy it first but F-Con you're welcome to try it out no worries.

Reintel, our "Si Fu" here are so helpful to the extend to let you try out 1st, but don't tell me your GTT is Auto ah...:hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm:

[PIMPIN];3502550 said:
Bro,

Darn PIMPIN, that's an awfully generous offer u made there. really going out of your way to help out a fellow club member. Would the FCon work on a R34 GTT auto?