very noob guy asking about audio here [SERIOUSLY]

mastaqalia

hello guys,

i bought sony xplod XS-GTF6935B last week to replace the rear stock speaker. the sound kind of nice compared to the old one. i am planning to buy a COMPONENT SET to fit into door panel and NOT PLANNING ON ADDING SUBWOOFER. usually in the ads the component set would come with a pair of cross-overs (i dont know what cross-overs are for, someone care to explain briefly?). ASSUMING i already bought a component set:-

1) is it advisable that i buy an amp? if so, what channeled amp should it be as my rear speaker is 3-way and assuming most probably my component set is also 3-way? what if the component set is 2-way or 4-way?

2) if i need an amp, do i need a pre amp? usually cars with woofers should have amps but im not planning to add woofers.

bright ideas and advices are warmly appreciated

regards

hello guys,

i bought sony xplod XS-GTF6935B last week to replace the rear stock speaker. the sound kind of nice compared to the old one. i am planning to buy a COMPONENT SET to fit into door panel and NOT PLANNING ON ADDING SUBWOOFER. usually in the ads the component set would come with a pair of cross-overs (i dont know what cross-overs are for, someone care to explain briefly?). ASSUMING i already bought a component set:-

1) is it advisable that i buy an amp? if so, what channeled amp should it be as my rear speaker is 3-way and assuming most probably my component set is also 3-way? what if the component set is 2-way or 4-way?

2) if i need an amp, do i need a pre amp? usually cars with woofers should have amps but im not planning to add woofers.

bright ideas and advices are warmly appreciated

regards
may i ask what model is ur head unit.... and what car do you drive?

my setup using Xplod™ CD Receiver - CDX-GT270S with MA Audio component set wif crossover with 2years old Sony Xplod (can't remember the model :hmmmm: ) 3 way speaker (think the same spec as urs just a lil ancient)... without any woofer and amps

and i drove a kancil...

for me the sound quite good.... the only deficiency I found is just recently when I played my frens trance mp3... the bass not as 'lemak' as ones wif woofer

usually i'm listening to modern rock mp3s (at least 192 kbps).... so the sound is good for my ears

dunno if my setup will work on me if i use a bigger car :hmmmm:

i think (wif my limited knowledge), crossover got to do with splitting the higher notes to the tweeters where the rest goes to the midrange 2 way speaker...please dun shoot me if i'm wrong :adore:

i'm not an audiophile... just a guy who satisfied wif his current setup :love:

may i ask what model is ur head unit.... and what car do you drive?

mine is quite same as yours CDX-GT280S and i drive a sedan wira. sure the bass is not as "boom-boom" as the woofers but i hear to the sound of my pc's altec lansing 4121 everyday so i kind of wanted to boost the bass a lil bit. the reason i dont want subwoofer is i need that boot space for my everyday work and cant afford to reduce it.

some of my frens said "pasang amp lagi sedap bunyi, speaker ko boleh pegi lagi ni kalau pasang amp". but when i ask for more details they cant explain to me. that's why i created this topic.

i would rank myself as half audiophile because i enjoy dream theater and frank sinatra.

so what really you suggest? go with both cross-overs and amp or just one of them?

mine is quite same as yours CDX-GT280S and i drive a sedan wira. sure the bass is not as "boom-boom" as the woofers but i hear to the sound of my pc's altec lansing 4121 everyday so i kind of wanted to boost the bass a lil bit. the reason i dont want subwoofer is i need that boot space for my everyday work and cant afford to reduce it.

some of my frens said "pasang amp lagi sedap bunyi, speaker ko boleh pegi lagi ni kalau pasang amp". but when i ask for more details they cant explain to me. that's why i created this topic.

i would rank myself as half audiophile because i enjoy dream theater and frank sinatra.

so what really you suggest? go with both cross-overs and amp or just one of them?

dun take my suggestion seriously.... get a 2nd opinion alright?

since both of our headunit are the same (sony pre-amp are quite good actually), just get the component unit first... usually for mainstream package such as Xplod, they offer crossover as well...

when you fit it in, may i suggest 1 simple test...
  1. park your car and turn on your headunit wif ur fave cd...
  2. turn on the volume until you achieve the sound level that you prefer
  3. then drive on with the speed you usually drive, with the windows closed and the aircon running
  4. at this time, the sound level should drop due to noises...crank up the volume 1 step at a time until u hear the same level as idle
  5. if the volume turned on too high i.e more than 20, then you should either buy an amp or insulate your car....
wif my settings, the sound felt nice when i crank it to 12-15....but when i drove, i need to crank it to 18-20 to get the same level

personally, i'd go for sound insulation/dampening of my car first then decide whether i need an amp or not....

...but then, there are woofers that does not need bulky box to get wonderful bass.... you can get a compact ones sited left/right of your boot...doesn't take too much space as well

p/s: i'm not an expert :adore: .... please get a 2nd opinion... :listen:

Bro,

This depends on your budget. Most would suggest to get an amp. but, if your budget is limited, you can get the components first. Most component sets are considered as 2 way. assuming that it only comes with a pair of tweeters and mids (and x-over of course).
Amp channel is not affected by how many way your speaker is. for your case, can get a 2 ch for the component only or get 4 ch and power all your speakers with the amp. This is under the assumption that you will use the passive x-over supplied with the components

This depends on what you already have. If your item have:
HU features: built in x-over, parametric/graphic EQ
amp: built in x-over

then I believe, for now, pre-amp is not needed.

papagoines and cacin, thanks for your explanations. you guys clear things up for me quite nicely. now i know what to search for in the ads, at least.

everyone's reply is much appreciated. thanks!

regards

1)usually in the ads the component set would come with a pair of cross-overs (i dont know what cross-overs are for, someone care to explain briefly?).

2) is it advisable that i buy an amp? if so, what channeled amp should it be as my rear speaker is 3-way and assuming most probably my component set is also 3-way? what if the component set is 2-way or 4-way?

3) if i need an amp, do i need a pre amp? usually cars with woofers should have amps but im not planning to add woofers.

1) the xovers in the component set are called passive crossovers. it just connects to the tweeter and the midrange speaker, from your head unit, or amp(if u have one). dont have to worry about this one, just plug and play

2) yes i would advise u to buy an amp, usually component speaker set perform better when powered by amplifier, because head unit power is very little. (usually 12W only, dont believe the 50W they print). just buy a 4 channel amp (for front and rear speakers, doesnt matter how many way). your component set will be 2 way, not sure if 3 way is in your budget, that one serious icer already bro.

3)dont buy any pre amps. theyre usually rubbish. better use that money to upgrade your head unit later. a good HU will have more features inside than any pre amp.

i second zenn opinion~! personal experience here. the sound is better without pre amp. pre amp jz messed up my whole sound. previously usng adam digital AD522. :)

but then,i was thinking.......:rofl::rofl::rofl:........screw the preamp,get a good hu.....lebih kurang preamp sets u back approx rm300-rm500....might as well spend the cash to upgrade ur hu........by the way,sifu.....i heard proper tuning would make a 2 way sound better than a 3 way,is that true??coz i'm planning to swap my mid n tweet to 3 way.....:driver:

zenn and everyone,

thanks very much. actually i was about to ask those questions here but u've already gave answers. i have a very good understanding of what to buy now.

p/s: at first i thought when u guys see my first post u would say "nahh, another noob" but frankly i'm quite shocked with your pro answers and and guides to a newbie like me here. now i would like to maintain those relations with ZTH members and make good use of it.

yeah i know above lines are quite gay.

but seriously, thank you very much

regards

what forum for? to share info and experience bro~! we will discuss it properly here... :)
even sometimes senior forumer learn from newcomer. but it rarely happen la....

but then,i was thinking.......:rofl::rofl::rofl:........screw the preamp,get a good hu.....lebih kurang preamp sets u back approx rm300-rm500....might as well spend the cash to upgrade ur hu........

yes......quoting upin & ipin "betul betul betul......."

by the way,sifu.....i heard proper tuning would make a 2 way sound better than a 3 way,is that true??coz i'm planning to swap my mid n tweet to 3 way.....:driver:

anything not tuned properly will sound worse than something tuned, correct?

so what about a properly tuned 3 way? haha.....doesnt matter la how many way as long as tuned properly

3 way is better~! last time listen to 3 way adam digital... boleh tahan bunyik dier~!
then listen to mohowk 3 way speaker... dissapointment to the max...
but then i believe the person who using the mohowk dunno how to tune properly bcoz from the way he explain to me quite differ from my study about EQ... jz my point of view la...

so my conclusion is 30% product, 70% tuning~!

3 way is better~! last time listen to 3 way adam digital... boleh tahan bunyik dier~!
but then i believe the person who using the mohowk dunno how to tune properly bcoz from the way he explain to me quite differ from my study about EQ... jz my point of view la...

what if ayam brand hardware and very nice tuning? the 30% - 70% still in effect?

can a n/a civic outrun a fd2r on a straight road? Same concept. U cant make mohawk sound like scanspeak or alpine f1 even with 110% tuning :thefinger:

the cap ayam will have its limitation compared to products 3-4x more expensive, sometimes 10x more. so, question is, when it reaches its limit, how satisfied are u...

if like dat,gila ka those fellows using 5k,10k,15k worth of component sets:hmmmm::hmmmm::hmmmm:like dat better buy 2k-3k worth of component set n go to the best sifu in town ma....prob is,u know anyone coz taste differs,right??it's like u could never go wrong when ur using "good stuffs".....u could always blame the tuning then...but if ur using cheap stuffs,don't tell me u gonna complain about the tuning,u gotta complain about the stuff ur using first....:driver::driver::driver:

Bump: hate that adam digital brand.....the dealer in cheras vely lansi lanyong:thefinger: