charging mobile phones in car and battery life

richardtan

Hello Everyone,

My battery went flat.
Got it hooked up to another car and now seems running fine.

I have not been using the car much over the last few days.

Could it have caused it? Am wondering could it be caused by frequent charging of my mobile in the car?

So, I hope to find out if life span of battery deteriorates with use of devices in the car plugged into the cigarette lighter socket.

Does using of ICE devices also would definitely shorten the battery life?

By the way, I am going to monitor for how long more will my MF battery last since it has been 1 year 1 month already. The 1st battery from toyota lasted me a good 2 years. This is my second one. I sense that this battery may not last long. How to tell? Only when the battery icon red light on the dashboard comes on? There is an LED in the middle of the MF battery. But I see no light. :hmmmm: its shown on a sticker on the batt, red light meaning need to charge. white light means replace it.

Hope to hear from you. Cheers.

Best regards
Richard Tan

Could it have caused it? Am wondering could it be caused by frequent charging of my mobile in the car?

i don't think so..
The HP charger couldn't do that much damage.

Maybe something wrong with the battery itself.

:hmmmm::hmmmm:

I think your battery uses is overload...when u r using many device in a one time..the current (amp) is not enough to support ur car equipments...when the car need more 'current' over than its standard amp so it will pull the battery current storage..then the alternator also cant support to recharge ur battery then it will be remain low current storage..after that, if ur battery is in low or flat condition and its remain for more than 1 day (usual batt albility)..ur battery will be damage...All this will happen when u are using maximize ur car electronic & electrical system...esspecially in a night because this time u r using headlights plus with others accorsories.. then..I dont so that car phone charger make this happen because its only using just a little bit current...about 3V-5V...0.1-0.8amp.. For prenventive, do these 2...1st..pls check ur current usage..the high possiblity is if u r using speaker amplifier (steal batt current so high if ur increase ur sound volume, the curent usage also increase) ....or others accorsories..check them voltage& current usage.....2nd...check ur alternator condition...ist ok or not..check it charging suplly voltage and current...ist stable enough to recharge ur battery .. that all I know..I hope its will help u..

Dear Sifus,

I like to confirm that for vios06, or cars of this type in general, is it that the cigarette lighter socket can provide all the current in the battery or is capped at a certain limit like 3 amps or 2 amps? I need to know how much current can be provided by the car cig lighter socket. And is it that when I tap directly the battery +/-, I can get more amps? I intend to install some devices in the car and these may take up too much amps. So, I like to know the current (amps) limit. Thanks.

Hope to hear from you. :wavey:
Cheers.

Richard Tan