Brake Pads..Brake system

AD_EG

The reason of this post is to start a topic mainly just on the braking system.

Please leave your comments on what brake pads you're using,

If you're using 2 pot , 4 pot ,6 pot.

How you feel about the pad performance...

If you have changed to steel braded hose,what was the difference like?

single pot can't post r bro...hahahaha:burnout:

broooo !! cannnnn laaaaa :adore:

hehehe...at least put in laa what brake pads and brakes you're using..im just collection info on what most of the ppl are using...cause everytime i read other threads its not really complete and on top of that i dont know if i can trust that particular forum as much as i trust zth.

Anyways to get the ball rolling, im using DC2 brakes, single pot with lumberg pads 550C.

The performance is good buttt i find the brake fade happens too quick for a pad that is supposingly suppose to withstand 550c.

I would like to try bendix metal king,but quite a number of ppl "claimed" that it eats up the rotor quickly in OTHER forums.Anybody used it before?

i advice u try n look for other brand beside metal king.it really "eat" up ur rotor.:burnout:

What do you suggest boss? it will really be great help if you can state what pads you feel is cost friendly and fair in performance?

ok ... coming from you...i guess i can trust that metal king does eat up rotors..sooo thats off my list.

anyone had experience with bendix metal king??... planning to try it on my RVR single pot... (brake pad same with gsr caliper)

previous experience with RS pads on my saga oem calipers.... braking is good.... but too much brake dust... accumulated brake dust can reduce braking performance over time... not to mention, each brake pad finished will eats up about 1mm depth of ur disc....

adeg, try using EBC green stuff...i'm about to try black stuff and if response is good, i'll opt for greenstuff, mine proton single pot also...good enuf for street IMO

anyone had experience with bendix metal king??... planning to try it on my RVR single pot... (brake pad same with gsr caliper)

previous experience with RS pads on my saga oem calipers.... braking is good.... but too much brake dust... accumulated brake dust can reduce braking performance over time... not to mention, each brake pad finished will eats up about 1mm depth of ur disc....

helo sky....well,never had the chance to use bmk but seen a few of my friend using it.
just a glimpse of their rotor make me stay away from it.:biggrin:

General knowledge about Braking system.

Important To make your brake effectively i think just make a regular service like change brake fluid every 2 years coz DOT 3(major with red colour) and DOT 4(major with yellow colour) are glycol bes that can be react with moisture a.k.a lowering your brake fluid boiling point that can lead to brake fade.:driver:

By the way,changing brake pads to the expensive one also good(less dust at your rims;good to health)..:biggrin:

Ventilated disc/slotted disc helps your brake disc fast cooling(avoid brake fade).

Cross drilled type make a good contact with brake pads(more grip but its make your brake pads wear fast).:burnout:

*Brake is the most silent killer if you just ignore about it*

let me share.

1st time:
EBC rotors pair with Bendix pads.
Using Endless DOT4.
(surface Drilled and slotted) rotors
Braking was good but still feel spongy due to the rubber hose. Overall it perform better than the original. Less brake dust also but the Bendix eats up my EBC rotors quite fast.

2nd time: Just change 2 weeks ago
Brembo Max rotors with FERODO pads.
Flush brake fluid using Endless DOT4 again.
ProRS steel braided hose.
(slotted) rotors
This time it's even more better...can say very sweet. The car brake according to me. Brake feel is solid and high speed braking is not as scary as last time it used to be. Even at low to mid speed the brakes still perform very well. Downside is brake dust is a bit more with the FERODO's have to clean the brake area more...

I didn't use those drilled through rotors because they crack and saw some examples already so I stay away from them. Not sure about others but I saw R35 OEM rotors also crack...scary.

let me share.

1st time:
EBC rotors pair with Bendix pads.
Using Endless DOT4.
(surface Drilled and slotted) rotors
Braking was good but still feel spongy due to the rubber hose. Overall it perform better than the original. Less brake dust also but the Bendix eats up my EBC rotors quite fast.

2nd time: Just change 2 weeks ago
Brembo Max rotors with FERODO pads.
Flush brake fluid using Endless DOT4 again.
ProRS steel braided hose.
(slotted) rotors
This time it's even more better...can say very sweet. The car brake according to me. Brake feel is solid and high speed braking is not as scary as last time it used to be. Even at low to mid speed the brakes still perform very well. Downside is brake dust is a bit more with the FERODO's have to clean the brake area more...

I didn't use those drilled through rotors because they crack and saw some examples already so I stay away from them. Not sure about others but I saw R35 OEM rotors also crack...scary.
i'm not alone...hehehhe:love:

hmm, the EBC black stuff entry level pads seems their performing way better than alot...

my slotted rotor very very VERY makan and my rear is normal la, i think upgrading the brake pump plays an important role too...

me using evo2 dual servos, s/steel brake lines, Gti calipers, front slotted, rear normal rotors, pads is EBC black stuff

now wanna test how long the rotors will makan the pads

hmm, the EBC black stuff entry level pads seems their performing way better than alot...

my slotted rotor very very VERY makan and my rear is normal la, i think upgrading the brake pump plays an important role too...

me using evo2 dual servos, s/steel brake lines, Gti calipers, front slotted, rear normal rotors, pads is EBC black stuff

now wanna test how long the rotors will makan the pads

Wah~~nice setup taikor.....your rotors eats ur pads is better than pads eat the rotors alive...Hahaha

seems like the slots are quite big apart...thats y i worry it'll makan alot
anyway, i noticed 100km drive there's a layer of dust on my rims...means its eating fast

Bump: seems like the slots are quite big apart...thats y i worry it'll makan alot
anyway, i noticed 100km drive there's a layer of dust on my rims...means its eating fast

PocRoc, what slotted rotors you using?

Thank you everyone for your input.

Pocket,

How much is EBC Green ?

Im definitly not going to consider bendix metal king,but based on the replies,i think i have to go for steel braided hoses to improve my braking...im using slotted/crossdrilled rotors(cheap ones).

The brakes is good, just not good enough...i feel its a little spongy,and i have already bleed the lines..and using ferodo brake fluid.Any recommendations for the steel braided lines?

My current pads,Lumberg 550,doesnt leave much dust/dirt,but i feel like i need to use the hoses to fully utilize it.

Go for ProRS..good stuff with reasonable price.

PocRoc..cheap one ah??? your definition of cheap is expensive right? Hahahaha