Satria Neo CPS problem

Hi all,

I got my Neo CPS 2 weeks back.. after long await (3 1/2 months) and after cursing proton people (mainly my salesman)... they keep on promising me from a date to another to another to anoter... and at the end of the day. i changed my salesman.. and finally i got my CPS.

This are my list of complaints..

1. My sit belt indicator are not on when im not using my sit belts
2. weird sounds coming from my bonnet... as if the Boot Board is banging on my boot.(it's sounds like 30 years old car bein driving)
3. jerking 2 times in my 3 & 4th gear
4. lack of power... my 3rd gear cant climb 25-35 degree slope.
5. my drivers window is making sound as if it's vibrating... (u know the kind of sound u get when u max ur audio... but in my case no need to switch on the radio u can hear the window sound)

guess that's all my complaints...I'm going to service my 1k one of this days.. can somebody advice me where's the best place to go.. and is there any SC which open after office hours / weekend. it's kinda hard for me to get leave la now.

Bro Tornado,

1. Yes my seats belt indicator not on too....i guess it lights up a while to remind u then off permanently.
2. Ur sound can it be heard while u inside the car? More to left or right hand side?
3. Lots of neo cps owner hav this problem too..but mainly on 2nd gear...Mine jerk 3 times previously when rpm climbing from 3k - 4k. End up change ECU and solve the problem :)
4. During my run-in (b4 1k service), yes i did feel tht too.....very lack of power during hill climbing....feedbacks from fren said the ecu is learning the way u drive so it's like tht.....try climb the hill again after ur 1k service...
5. I dun hav any problem wit the window....

For service, strongly advise not to go Glenmarie branch....service sucks and their mechanics experience in fixing the car sucks too......Me prefer go COE...best :) Normally they open till 6pm ony.....and sat for service ony (not car fixing)

Hope tis infor helps....

I just want to voice my opinion after reading this thread, even though there are two Protons currently being used in my family, I'm utterly disappointed with Proton, being an automotive engineer student in the UK and currently doing my training in an engineering company in the UK as well, I’m honestly embarrassed with my mates over here when it comes to Proton (especially after the Top Gear ‘excellent’ review of Neo and Myvi). I’m not complaining about Perodua though, since they simply re-badged a car. Now, straight to the point, both cars below are performance orientated and have a 125hp engine:-

Satria Neo CPS retail price around RM60k – that is the amount of money Proton charged for the R&D, manufacture, Quality Control etc. of this car

For comparison

Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6 currently priced in the UK for around 11k pound = RM63k-66k (depends on the exchange rate – that is the amount of money Suzuki charged for the R&D, manufacture, Quality Control if this car. Im not going to use the price in Malaysia because it has a ‘stupendous’ tax:thefinger: imposed on it. For those who doesn’t know about this car’s performance check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzuki_Swift or a review by JC http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/driving/jeremy_clarkson/article664487.ece

Up to this point – Im sure you don’t have to be a genius to realise that we’ve been ripped off? Agree?

To add more, I’ve seen the Swift it in a showroom even though I’ve never driven, the built quality and the amount of extras (including 17inch wheels) is way better than my Satria Neo H-line manual (I assume the quality is similar to Neo CPS). And performance-wise, I’ve read in numerous magazines and none of them complained about the car. One magazine (Evo Uk) even did a long-term test – test drive a brand new car for 6 months and evaluate them every month. The evaluations include the running costs, fuel consumption and of course the reliability of the car. Completely no problems within the 6monts test – nothing like experienced by u guys for Neo CPS in just days!

I know Suzuki is well established and has a lot of funding from their owner. But after more than 20years? Come on Proton. Don’t get me wrong - I’m not blaming the engineers, I’m actually proud with them to come up with so many technologies – their own engine (Campro,Campro CPS), own chassis, own manufacturing plant, prototypes engines :- V6, campro turbo, electric engine, etc. Even with the help from Lotus, what the engineers have achieved are very impressive. But the bottom line is, its up to the management to give full support to the engineers in terms of funding and the green light to do what they’ve developed.

In conclusion, the 200% tax for imported cars that have been imposed by our ‘Malaysia Boleh’:banghead: government has forced us Rakyat to buy Protons and Peroduas. This has led to successful sales for both of the Malaysian car manufacturers thus more money to their CEOs and bosses ie the management. Having the Malaysian car market in their hand with no healthy competition from other car manufacturers (naik lemak dah), there is point for Proton(or I might say the managementss) to improve their current products and innovation seems to be on hold. So guys, who to blame? the Government? Proton management? Proton engineers? Hmmm..

i know how you feel bro...

Bro Tornado,

2. Ur sound can it be heard while u inside the car? More to left or right hand side?
3. Lots of neo cps owner hav this problem too..but mainly on 2nd gear...Mine jerk 3 times previously when rpm climbing from 3k - 4k. End up change ECU and solve the problem :)
4. During my run-in (b4 1k service), yes i did feel tht too.....very lack of power during hill climbing....feedbacks from fren said the ecu is learning the way u drive so it's like tht.....try climb the hill again after ur 1k service...
5. I dun hav any problem wit the window....

For service, strongly advise not to go Glenmarie branch....service sucks and their mechanics experience in fixing the car sucks too......Me prefer go COE...best :) Normally they open till 6pm ony.....and sat for service ony (not car fixing)

Hope tis infor helps....

CPSlover,

The sounds comes from behind left hand side... the window vibrating sound was there since day one... that's the first thing i notice and second thing that i notice was the boot sound...

I went and sent in the car for service in semarak ... it's due so i dont think i can go to COE. I sent my car to Semarak Branch... yesterday evening for service and minor repair.. and i found out aditional problems to my car.

1. The key "ring lights" were not on all this while. they open it infront of me... and apparently it's not the bulb.. somethins is wrong with the wiring...

2. speaker cover behind (left side) tercabut

3. my behind sit clip was broken.. that's y the sit is loosen

upon servicing the forman told me i have to leave my car there due there's a lickage (apparently it's the radiator water) near my campro unit.. after jacking up my car I could see the bellow of my engine was full of "collant"... :banghead: cool aint it?:nurse:

They told me they would try to settle whole list of complaints by today...Im going to take my car later today... if there's still other problem than i'm taking it to COE. no choice la kene amik leave.

It's really hurting to know that this things is happening to my 2 weeks old car... i really wish it could be more reliable..

FYI... all this while i never bawak orang duduk belakang my car yet.. and i tak pernah "renjan" my car yet... so heartaching...

today i would renjan it a bit.. .nak see whethere there's power or not...

CPSlover,

The sounds comes from behind left hand side... the window vibrating sound was there since day one... that's the first thing i notice and second thing that i notice was the boot sound...

I went and sent in the car for service in semarak ... it's due so i dont think i can go to COE. I sent my car to Semarak Branch... yesterday evening for service and minor repair.. and i found out aditional problems to my car.

1. The key "ring lights" were not on all this while. they open it infront of me... and apparently it's not the bulb.. somethins is wrong with the wiring...

2. speaker cover behind (left side) tercabut

3. my behind sit clip was broken.. that's y the sit is loosen

upon servicing the forman told me i have to leave my car there due there's a lickage (apparently it's the radiator water) near my campro unit.. after jacking up my car I could see the bellow of my engine was full of "collant"... :banghead: cool aint it?:nurse:

They told me they would try to settle whole list of complaints by today...Im going to take my car later today... if there's still other problem than i'm taking it to COE. no choice la kene amik leave.

It's really hurting to know that this things is happening to my 2 weeks old car... i really wish it could be more reliable..

FYI... all this while i never bawak orang duduk belakang my car yet.. and i tak pernah "renjan" my car yet... so heartaching...

today i would renjan it a bit.. .nak see whethere there's power or not...

Freinds,

anybody is from proton here? need some explanantion...

I just took my car yesterday and try lenjan abit... the meter could reach 180 tapi the engine bunyi mcm shouting in pain... :driver:

these are my list of complain and explanation from SC:

1. Key ring "lights" not ON... according to SC. there's bulb (blue colour) but no wiring.. this is standard in all neo cps. "mmg takde lampu" the bulb there is for maybe next time u nak letak lampu boleh letak.. kene modified sikit. tapi lepas waranty baru u boleh buat... :banghead: (i assume that is proton "look into the future policy".. good job :adore:

2. the noise from my boot... they tighten the boot. but the noise is still there but lessen... it's the board according to them and it is standard.

3. noise from my window... they cant detect noise. i went for a test drive with Forman.. no noise. than i went back home.. the noise starts back...:banghead:

4. speaker cover behind (left side) tercabut.. they fixed it

5. my behind sit clip was broken.. that's y the sit is loosen.. they change the clip

6. sit belt indicator ... it's standard. there's no wiring from the sitbelt ( look into the future policy again here):banghead:

7. the coolant bocor in my engine... it's the clip that hold the hose is not "kuat" enough. they have change the clip which uses screw and charge me RM4 for it.:banghead:

i'm not trying to offend/condem Proton.. I love my car despite all this complains. NEO CPS is one of the best car i ever driven. (comparing to my '84 honda prelude) but come on.. i believe if proton could be more practical and give beter service & good quality car, one day they can tapau japanese market.. but they need to do something for them to move forward. not just sitting under the government blanket... make some quallity assurance, proper QC. Good SC, have a good after sales.

practically I grew up with Proton.. my mom uses proton iswara for 14 years, and just sold it to exchange with Saga BLM. my brother got Pesona, and I got NEO CPS... basically most of my family have Proton car... but most of them don't get all the gliches... except my NEO CPS.:bawling:

If u ask me would i recomend Neo... YES i would. it's a good car I do love the car minus the gliches .:love:

Fren,

Wat is the "key ring light" by the way?
How bout ur jerking? Did they solve it?

Haih...proton is like that la....i also got sound from the back of my car...just live wit it now..

The SC can't do much bout the jerking... but after the service it is still there but seldom... not permanently there and the jerk is barely can be feelt.

anyway, key ring light is the the light shape in "0" where u insert your key... most of wira have it... it'll apear when u open your door and would remain there for 5 second.. so that you'll be easy to find the key hole.

Oh tht one ar......not only u, me & the rest neo cps owner doesn't has the light too....
So just live wit it....

Really got bulb in there? But no wiring.....then wat for they put the bulb there?

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:24 PM ----------

Bout the jerking, when it get more serious....you can call i-care.
They solve my jerking problem by changing my ECU......but have to left my car at COE for 1 week..

Oh tht one ar......not only u, me & the rest neo cps owner doesn't has the light too....
So just live wit it....

Really got bulb in there? But no wiring.....then wat for they put the bulb there?

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:24 PM ----------

Bout the jerking, when it get more serious....you can call i-care.
They solve my jerking problem by changing my ECU......but have to left my car at COE for 1 week..

I saw it with my eyes... infact my foreman change my bulb... before they found out there's no wiring. i guess it's proton's policy padang ke hadapan:banghead:

Wat an idiot to put a bulb there but no wiring.......
They (mechanics) dun even noe there is wiring.....no communication between factory and their mechanics....

THt's why it takes forever for Proton to fix our problems....

Wat an idiot to put a bulb there but no wiring.......
They (mechanics) dun even noe there is wiring.....no communication between factory and their mechanics....

THt's why it takes forever for Proton to fix our problems....

that's y... there's wiring but not conected. if u see properly, at the key ring u would see the "plastic" for lights.

i guess if they didn't put it there the price of the car can be cheaper by RM 1.50 :rofl:

tornado...you saw the bulb? So can actually pull a wire to it? Damn difficult to poke in the dark...kakaka...

Yup there's a bulb with wiring... tapi tak tau where's the wire ended... something for sure the wire is not connected to the main wire therefore no power to enlighten the bulb... BTW U need practice my man... poking in the dark is essential... the key word is practice

Right so there is a bulb and a wire~ now where to put that wire is the question. Anyone has any experience??? I would do it DIY if it does not take too much of a hassle~

try the cabin light.... some of my frenz using savvy connect wire from there. hehehe They DIY it.

Argghh......problem again. Central locking automatic unlock after wash car.....

have u check ur captor? the free test? scary nyer if it's unlock by itself... pintu tak rapat kot?

nothing to do wit captor.....it happens everytime after i wash my car....masuk air i think....

Dun talk bout captor anymore....i do the test for 2 times and they cant even detect my car!!!
Initially i ask them to take out the system and pay me back money ......hahha