CPS (Cam Profile Switching) vs VVTI vs DVVT

May I suggest that you wipe down all that grime~ all that shiny mods don't look that nice alongside a dirty looking engine.

I'll remain my dirty engine...hehehe...i like it that way...

The upgrade change my "pickup", standard 0-90kmh distance now i can get 120kmh.

Bro,
Guys, being away for long time due to no internet access. I am interested to know how far this CPS could go with the below modification. Mind to share more or not.... marvelous means great la. You still use the 'lambda' sensor on the exhaust right? What have you tested after those modifications...?

Guys, recently i've upgrade my CPS engine...

The result is marvelous......:biggrin:

1) new air intake pipe + Apexi high performance air filter

2) new extractor 2" 4-2-1

http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/9896/dsc00273sk.jpg

Guys, thanks for responding on my post...:itsme:

The main purpose of the modification i've made is to improve fuel consumption,
nothing more then that...i doesn't care the top speed, acceleration, etc etc, bla bla..

So here i want to talk about fuel cunsumption after modification;
I bought my Gen2 cps somewhere in 2008 (April), and mileage on my ODO meter now 52,000km ++..yes, i travel a lot in this 1 year ++ old Gen2 cps...

I've spend so much money to feed the engine, my standard fuel consumption before mods is l/100km ~ 5.1 (90kmh on long cruise highway).
after mods, what i got is shocking ----> l/100km ~ 4.2 ...!!!

So, conclusion what i can say here is, at the same amount of fuel before mods, you can go approximately 120kmh +++, i can also say that the sensitiveness or responds on your right foot is also increase...

like i said in my previous post, i can get to 120kmh at the same distance before mods of 90kmh....

just "touch" the accelerator pedal, my car grawling like crazy and i can feel the Gs ( the true power of CPS )..

Idham, i doubt your intake will provide you with much more power. With its location in the engine bay, it is merely sucking in hot air. What you want is a CAI setup.

Cold Air Intake, like what the factory setup is. Sucking in cooler air from the outside off the engine bay.

Cooler air = more oxygen. more oxygen = more pawah for your CPS powerplant.

But damn, those stainless headers are SEXY :biggrin::biggrin:

Have you strapped your car onto a dyno? What are the results from these mods? Berapa banyak power gain? post up your dyno sheet, bro.

And to the VTEC vs MIVEC vs CPS bashing. Shut the eff up. That's you, 4G4life.

CPS Neo beating a DOHC VTEC Civic? it doesnt matter if it's a VTEC kecik or VTEC besar (sarcasm)

Let's see the specs on paper. powerplant first. EF9 vs Neo CPS

EF9

B16a, DOHC VTEC (what is reffered to as VTEC kecik)
160PS @ 7600rpm
152Nm @ 7000rpm

Curb weight: 1060kg

Power to weight ratio: 151PS/tonne

Neo CPS

Campro CPS, DOHC, CPS, VIM
125hp@ 6500rpm
150Nm @ 5000rpm

Curb weight: 1212kg

Power to weight ratio: 104hp/tonne

note: 1PS = 0.97hp

Now if we play with gearing, even if the Civic was 'handicapped' with a longer first gear and final drive, with it's more superior power to weight ratio, it will definitely beat the Neo. Unless the driver of said Civic is a kayu.

I would dare say that if a manual variant of the Jazz was offered here, it would definitely give the Neo CPS a good run for it's money. Similar power and torque from it's SMALLER 1.5L motor. And similar weight too.

Dont get your panties tied up in a bunch. Back up your statement with facts. Cold hard facts.

Last edited by a moderator:
CPS vs VVTi vs DVVT...?
Where is JinKL. I like his answer on this...hehe

Let's see the specs on paper. powerplant first. EF9 vs Neo CPS

EF9

B16a, DOHC VTEC (what is reffered to as VTEC kecik)
160PS @ 7600rpm
152Nm @ 7000rpm

Curb weight: 1060kg

Power to weight ratio: 151PS/tonne

Neo CPS

Campro CPS, DOHC, CPS, VIM
125hp@ 6500rpm
150Nm @ 5000rpm

Curb weight: 1212kg

Power to weight ratio: 104hp/tonne

note: 1PS = 0.97hp

Campro CPS is only 125hp meh? I'd thought it has more 140hp as few fellas claimed that it can beat certain 1.8cc car.
Vtec, no word necessary. The best in NA cat, far better than the C**pro CPS.

Bro, any problem on this topic? ... I don't own any CPS , Mivec, VVTI or DVVT though but I am interested to know how far we could go with these technologies... give chance la for others to comment a bit..:itsme:

CPS vs VVTi vs DVVT...?
Where is JinKL. I like his answer on this...hehe

Campro CPS is only 125hp meh? I'd thought it has more 140hp as few fellas claimed that it can beat certain 1.8cc car.
Vtec, no word necessary. The best in NA cat, far better than the C**pro CPS.

The implementation of these technologies are quite different from each other. VTEC, VVT-i, VVTL-i, MIVEC all have different forms of implementations.

VTEC in it's performance incarnation (DOHC VTEC) uses the VTEC system to allow higher lift and longer duration of the valves with the help of larger cam lobes and rocker arms. The SOHC VTEC system is tuned for FUEL ECONOMY and has the abilty to switch between 12V and 16V mode. i-VTEC has the added capabilty of VTC, which controls the timing of the valves.

Hence, a D15B SOHC VTEC (NOT VTEC KECIK) has a 'meagre' 130PS from its 1.5L lump, while the more superior B16A/B16B produces 160PS/185PS from a slightly larger 1.6L motor.

Manufacturers use the added capability of variable valve timing to achieve either outright performance, superior fuel economy, or a combination of both.

During the Proton technical roadshow in UTM, a cut-away of the CPS head was available for viewing. the CPS system is implemented only on the INTAKE side.

Now imagine if it were implemented on BOTH sides. Now that's performance.

proton engineering are improving , bt still far in terms of performance mainly i guess because protos arent built for performance , hehe ths the reason r3 is here to make it up

bt we will wait for the proton turbocharged engine to come out , we see wht tht can give

yes, a turbocharged motor, and also a V6 motor.

not sure if the V6 is turbocharged, but we'll see :D

Bump: yes, a turbocharged motor, and also a V6 motor.

not sure if the V6 is turbocharged, but we'll see :D

During the Proton technical roadshow in UTM, a cut-away of the CPS head was available for viewing. the CPS system is implemented only on the INTAKE side.

Now imagine if it were implemented on BOTH sides. Now that's performance.

I think there is related with copyright issue ..
so, they just implemented at Intake side.
However, hear that Proton will invite VW for turbocharge engine
with 160bhp engine. But not sure they will go or not.:driver:

Anyone has any experience with the Vios J series? The speed, well, is not slow on the highway...same goes to the Myvi...

I saw the new model for the Perodua MPV called Luminas...anyone saw it? The appearance is very nice.... not sure about the spec though.

The Cam Profile Switching (CPS)

The Campro engine is the first automotive engine ever developed together with Lotus by the Malaysian carmaker, Proton. The name Campro is short for Cam Profile. This engine powers the Proton Gen-2, the Proton Satria Neo, the Proton Waja Campro, the Proton Persona as well as Proton's future models. The Campro engine is aimed to show Proton's ability to make their own engines that produce good power output and meet newer emission standards.

All Campro engines incorporate with drive-by-wire technology (specifically electronic throttle control) for better response,[1] eliminating the need for friction-generating mechanical linkages and cables. There have been some issues with cracking oil pumps but apparently Proton have introduced a new part recently to solve this problem. A recall has not been announced.