What Happen to my tyres!!!

Gh0sT

hi, any sifu can tell my what caused this and will it affect anything?

just came back from sepang track,

1) maybe it was because at some corners i didn't take the racing line and caused unnecessary stress on the tires and caused this?

2) maybe the tires are over inflated or under inflated?

It only happened to the front tires, rear tires don't have this problem.

so any suggestions on what should i do???

pictures are here...
http://img180.imageshack.us/i/30082009739.jpg
http://img180.imageshack.us/i/30082009737.jpg
http://img180.imageshack.us/i/30082009740.jpg
http://img180.imageshack.us/i/30082009734.jpg

dont look anything wrong to me....after spirited driving my neova's also got that edge thing...pek corner alot kua

It's normal...dun worry. Once you drive normally in a couple of days, it should level out. What tires are those? Looks familiar...R1R?

yeah, its r1r...

level out ar? some areas is like 50% left....and the tires are 2 weeks old :( :( :(

thats mean ur tire pressure kinda low when u in SIC... & pek corner kao kao...

agreed...low pressure...

Gh0sT - what pressure are running with ?

look at the Parada Spec 2...even worst...sidewall to damn soft...
too loose...scraping all over the corner...under kaw2...

DSC00080.JPG

I reccomend car tires 2 psi harder than normal for trackdays.

On track, the loads are higher, due to harder cornering.

But after every stint I check to make sure the tires haven't gone up too hard la

I reccomend car tires 2 psi harder than normal for trackdays.

On track, the loads are higher, due to harder cornering.

But after every stint I check to make sure the tires haven't gone up too hard la

if normal i'm using 32psi, then goto sic, make it 34psi...??
thats confirm eat grass 1st, then eat sand, after last few corner, eat rocks loo...:banghead:

after 3 laps i check my pressure it was up to 40psi, so i let it go some air to 35 psi...

did u went up the apex on the left side at one corner.....
if u went over it at high speed.....its eats up the thread unevenly.....that was based on my own experience, R1R too.......only 1 side, front LH.

did u went up the apex on the left side at one corner.....
if u went over it at high speed.....its eats up the thread unevenly.....that was based on my own experience, R1R too.......only 1 side, front LH.

yeah, mostly on turn 9...same lo, mine also on front LH. front RH also got but not so obvious.
so your r1r still usable? did u do anything to the tires after that?

if normal i'm using 32psi, then goto sic, make it 34psi...??
thats confirm eat grass 1st, then eat sand, after last few corner, eat rocks loo...:banghead:

hihihi..over inflated..:rofl:

JINIELSEN, angrysnail,

Not so. With the 2 psi harder pressure, there is less sidewall deflection, meaning the tires contact patch to the road is more stable. As u know tire threads have better grip than sidewall. hahaha

This piece of advice was given to me by a Chassis Engineer, Tengku Djan Ley, himself.And ever since then my sidewalls are better for it.

I have driven on tires such as RE050, RE 070, AD07, Eagle Assymetric Conti CSC3 with up to 34-36 psi, and there is no loss of traction.

after 3 laps i check my pressure it was up to 40psi, so i let it go some air to 35 psi...

Ghost,

Bear in mind also when you measured at 40 psi, the tire's are hot.

this happen to my T1R also...the worst part is.. when i drive my car...the sterring doesn't feel right...when i take a corner..it feels like i turned too much..or sometimes even too little..not sure how to explain...all i know...i checked my tie rods and joints...everthing is fine..im assuming its my tires ...my sidewall looks like it dissapeared...haihs...have to get new tires.

JINIELSEN, angrysnail,

Not so. With the 2 psi harder pressure, there is less sidewall deflection, meaning the tires contact patch to the road is more stable. As u know tire threads have better grip than sidewall. hahaha

This piece of advice was given to me by a Chassis Engineer, Tengku Djan Ley, himself.And ever since then my sidewalls are better for it.

I have driven on tires such as RE050, RE 070, AD07, Eagle Assymetric Conti CSC3 with up to 34-36 psi, and there is no loss of traction.

bro, difren sizes is difren psi right..??
then if 195/55-15, how many psi shld put in..??

if u said those tires at above is 17" & above, then i understand la... 34-36psi...

this happen to my T1R also...the worst part is.. when i drive my car...the sterring doesn't feel right...when i take a corner..it feels like i turned too much..or sometimes even too little..not sure how to explain...all i know...i checked my tie rods and joints...everthing is fine..im assuming its my tires ...my sidewall looks like it dissapeared...haihs...have to get new tires.

me too... just changed the T1R, the whole car like swing swing here & there...
after i measures the width of the T1R, the contact patch, with the same 195/55-15, the T1R r 3/4"inches or up to 1"inches(difren tire pressure) lesser than AD07... no wonder the tire r 1.2-1.5kgs lighter than AD07... no wonder the car won't b as stable as the tire i'm using b4...
btw, the side wall oso kinda soft... wtf...:banghead:

Jin,

happened to you also??? afer track with T1R the car like no grip at cornering or unstable when drive on the road? if you also kena then i confirm gonna change my tyre also.

Jin,

happened to you also??? afer track with T1R the car like no grip at cornering or unstable when drive on the road? if you also kena then i confirm gonna change my tyre also.

i oso no idea why b like this... just change at the rear, front using Ad07... same sizes... but dunno why the car so unstable while cornering... goto do the alignment, but seemed like ok ma...

mayb u didnt adjust the camber.....
try adjust your front camber b4 u go to track...

bro's,

what kind of stress is put at the back tires when playing in track?

i mean i know,its not as bad as the front...the reason i am asking is bcoz....basically i cant afford to buy 4 semi slicks...so will be getting only 2...and be using my S-drive at the rear which is my daily driver tires....

is the stress bad enough to reduce the tire life span significantly ? or it wouldn't be that bad?

sorry if this is a noobie question....but i really cant afford to tear the rear tire...its only about 4 months + old....and have visited the track with that tires 2 times already...can see some signs of wear...but still ok la....

cause if the wear is gonna be significantly bad on the rear tires as well..then i have to save for 4 pcs one shot...i need to use my daily tires for at least another year....

Please use 4 same tires when doing fast driving. S-drive and semi-slick tires have different grip level. Using grip tires at front, and normal tires at rear is only for Drag racing.
For track or even on the road, that set-up will only cause oversteer!
Please use tires with same grip level. If use S-drive, use S-drive on all 4 corners.