Can I drive/ride in Singapore with Malaysia International Driving Permit ?

ansonkit

Hello ..

I'm a Malaysian. Will soon work in Singapore.

I currently holding Malaysia valid license + International Driving Permit .. Previously drove/rode in Taiwan.

I have no intention to drive/ride the Singapore registered vehicles back to Malaysia. Cause I rather take bus or plane back to Malaysia.

Am lazy to go through conversion. I rather renew my IDP every year.

My questions:
1. Can I purchase a car/motorcycle in Singapore?
2. Can I still drive/ride a Singapore registered vehicles in Singapore ?
3. According to SG Police website, "a Foreigners are only allow to drive not more than 12 month every time he/she entering SG". Is it true?

Thank you very much.

as i kno u must be a PR or at least have a work permit to purchase a motorcycle in Singapore...
If you have PR at Singapore then u onli can drive Singapore car & Motorcycle...so that's means you cant drive/ride malaysia car/bike in Singapore with PR

Hello ..

I'm a Malaysian. Will soon work in Singapore.

I currently holding Malaysia valid license + International Driving Permit .. Previously drove/rode in Taiwan.

I have no intention to drive/ride the Singapore registered vehicles back to Malaysia. Cause I rather take bus or plane back to Malaysia.

Am lazy to go through conversion. I rather renew my IDP every year.

My questions:
3. According to SG Police website, "a Foreigners are only allow to drive not more than 12 month every time he/she entering SG". Is it true?

Thank you very much.

answer

My questions:
ans: yes ,as long you are holding a valid singapore driving lesen. coz if ur holding work permit. your driving lesen only valid for 5 years & need to sambung subsequence year & for PR case is a whole life **.

ans: even ur holding malaysia international driving permit is only valid to drive if ur in singapore for holiday but not for person who hold work permit & drive singapore car/motorcycle in singapore coz our lesen tak pakai in there.

ans: are u go there working using work permit right?? so dont worry above regulation, does not apply.

recomendation.

once u had a job at there with valid work permit, do apply conversion lesen from malaysia to singapore lesen secepat mungkin coz their law are keep changing.

procedure:

1. ur driving experience licience must be above half~year before entering singapore for work.
2. booking ur theory test at driving centre(SDG 7~10 dollar niah for now), waiting period about a month to 3 month. depending on availability.
3.once u pass the theory keep the slip & go down to malaysia/johor JPJ ask for surat pemindahan lesen to singapore, the officer will print one letter to singapore counter part (ur personal particular,eg,lesen cat) and u need to pass this letter & theory test slip to singapore TP.
4. once they approved they will immediatly give u singapore lesen & potong malaysia lesen.
5. so u only have 1 singapore lesen..(**24 merit point for first 2 years) langar traffic light -12 point. :banghead:

if u want keep both lesen, then lain cerita liao. possible keep both :smokin:

FYI

for who cannot transfer or no driving licience & want to get one.

if u want to take fresh driving course at there with pass (1 attempt) at least SDG 2.5k...for now
if fail 1st attempt, then u kira lor.

hope this will help

---------- Post added at 11:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:46 PM ----------

as i kno u must be a PR or at least have a work permit to purchase a motorcycle in Singapore...
If you have PR at Singapore then u onli can drive Singapore car & Motorcycle...so that's means you cant drive/ride malaysia car/bike in Singapore with PR

even u had a work permit or PR without drivind licience oso cannot purchase or drive.
u had work permit or PR & driving licience can purchase & drive/ride

1.workpermit + SG licience= can drive/ride at singapore/malaysia using both plate of transport. either place.
2. PR + SG licience= can drive or/ride singapore car/motorcycle at singapore only!!!!. malaysia both.

i passed the test but last minute change my mind so didn't potong msia license as the spore license that you holding have to renew every 5yrs, consider a hassle to me...

If you are PR then you can't drive msia registered vehicle in spore...

In the end... i'm using msia license and drive occasionally in spore illegally for like 2yrs... :biggrin: very scared but have to say LTA never kacao obedient road user...

i passed the test but last minute change my mind so didn't potong msia license as the spore license that you holding have to renew every 5yrs, consider a hassle to me...

If you are PR then you can't drive msia registered vehicle in spore...

In the end... i'm using msia license and drive occasionally in spore illegally for like 2yrs... :biggrin: very scared but have to say LTA never kacao obedient road user...

bro are u pr or work permit? or none of this?

work permit/holiday using malaysia lesen can drive malaysia car/bike in singapore-> no problem

shite...driving in singapore very the leceh boh...i rather caught dead than driving in SG :P

bro are u pr or work permit? or none of this?

work permit/holiday using malaysia lesen can drive malaysia car/bike in singapore-> no problem

Work permit... but i drive spore vehicle...:biggrin:
malaysian using msia lesen can drive msia car anytime in spore...
malaysian who was PR can only drive spore car in spore

Bro satan, driving in spore is not fun although their road condition is much much better than here... so so so many camera surrounded, some is fake but i never try... if you wanna tekan hv to tekan a distance, then slow down while passing through camera then tekan again, tak shiok!!! thats y spore kaki love to come msia tekan!!!:driver:

Work permit... but i drive spore vehicle...:biggrin:
malaysian using msia lesen can drive msia car anytime in spore...
malaysian who was PR can only drive spore car in spore

Bro satan, driving in spore is not fun although their road condition is much much better than here... so so so many camera surrounded, some is fake but i never try... if you wanna tekan hv to tekan a distance, then slow down while passing through camera then tekan again, tak shiok!!! thats y spore kaki love to come msia tekan!!!:driver:

ur car or company car??? btw ur damn daring lar.

yah no fun to drive in singapore, i kena one time speeding in singapore. driving 80km/h niah also kena, TP stop me & thold me "u speeding" i say "no, i just drive 80km/h niah". he say "yes, i know u see the speed camera that i capture in the car, shown 80km/h" u see the sign board there 60km/h :banghead::banghead::banghead:

summon ticket SDG150, deduct 6 merit point from my lesen :banghead::banghead::banghead:

ur car or company car??? btw ur damn daring lar.

yah no fun to drive in singapore, i kena one time speeding in singapore. driving 80km/h niah also kena, TP stop me & thold me "u speeding" i say "no, i just drive 80km/h niah". he say "yes, i know u see the speed camera that i capture in the car, shown 80km/h" u see the sign board there 60km/h :banghead::banghead::banghead:

summon ticket SDG150, deduct 6 merit point from my lesen :banghead::banghead::banghead:

company car lah... i didn't want to, my manager force me... lol

spore highway 90km/h, small and winding road 60km/h, but got 10% allowance right??
just be careful bro, my leg always cramp while driving in spore, feet hanging halfway in the air to control pedal maintain 90km/h hahaha...

but wonder why some spore driver very daring, tekan till 180km/h... kena once... then i just mumbling that" come to msia then you know" hahahaha:thefinger:

thank for everyone who making replied and advises. Perhaps I didnt clear my situatian.

I am holding Employment Pass in Singapore. Wish to purchase a Singapore Registered Motorcycle and intent to ride the bike with Malaysia License in Singapore.

Since my employment contract is only for 1+ year, therefore, I do not wish to convert my license as it will cancel my Malaysia License.

I too had gone through some asking to Singapore LTA and friends.

They told me, a Malaysian with Work/Employment Pass are not allow to drive in their Malaysia Registered Vehicles into Singapore. Excemption only for those who using the vehicles to enter Singapore for daily basic.

And, A Malaysian with Work/Employment Pass are allow to drive/ride Singapore Registered Vehicles in Singapore with their Foreign License up to 1 year only. After 1 year, a valid Singapore License is require.

For my case, since I am only staying in SG for 1+year contract, therefore I will just purchase a SG registered motorcycle and use it that way.

Thank you everyone