recommended engine oil to reduce lifter noise for evo?

ce9a_evo

Hello MLOC member , any 1 can advise which engine oil is good and also able reduce de noise of engine tappet / lifter for stock evo 4,5,6 ? please share opinion ,thx .

hello ce9a_evo,

could you please share what brand/range of lubricant you used before?
how's the engine condition? sometime the engine condition might be the reason of the teppet/lifter noise.

at this moment would i suggest you to use either one:-
1 - Motul Turbolight 10W-40 Semi Synthetic (middle range price)
2 - Motul 300V Chrono 10W-40 100% Synthethic Double Ester (Little bit high)
due to stock as u mention + good condition i assume. hope you might feel the different.

please update to us any tested you has/will be doing & the outcome...
so we could use the info as a guide in future...

Acually all our evos have to use 15-50w. You can use 6100 synergie or 300v competition from Motul
Another thing is that the lifter sound from evo 4,5,6 is very common compare to ce and ct. If this problem cant solve you have to change aftermarket lifter and is not so expensive.

tappet sound will always come out even after you change your engine oil.. will quiet for a while then it will come back... its like a mitsu trade mark thing..hehehehe.. you can try motul as recomended or sunoco 17.5/50 for smoother ride... maybe you can try a good engine treatment oil on top of that.. it will quiet down for a while.... or if got budget then change to aftermarket lor.. lolz..

happy modding!!

hello ah kit,

but some mechanic suggest to use 10W-40 (last choice i assume)....
maybe some place hard to find 15W-50

long time never heard from you...
did you manage receive my mail regarding the Toyota Soarer ABS ECU?
sorry off topic....

hello ah kit,

but some mechanic suggest to use 10W-40 (last choice i assume)....
maybe some place hard to find 15W-50

long time never heard from you...
did you manage receive my mail regarding the Toyota Soarer ABS ECU?
sorry off topic....

Pangyau,

U waiting Ah Kit to reply ur mail ar.....u better call him and call him and call him...cos he is a damm busy business man in old klang road. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

My 2 cents.....

kampoon,
kring...kring...kring... ah kit sometimes... thinking to borrow his brain about EVO la... ehhehe
not in the rush actually coz my friend waiting the respond/assistance from UMW
to rectify the problems...

pangyau I try to help you to find at sarawak. toyota soarer ecu? which model? email me the code

if stock engine , I recommend Turbolight or 300V Chrono 10W-40...if moded one use 15W-50 6100 Synergie or 300V Competition...

btw...the lifter (rocker bullet) got life span...if will make 'noise' after sometimes...it need special tool to check the lifter condition and measure...and sometime just need to service by removing the air lock in the lifter (bleeding)...

I did this on my evo3 engine before...really quiet then...no come back the tet...tet...tet...sound

service charge...rm30 per lifter (if service all) rm30 x 16 = rm480 (year 2001 price)
if got faulty lifter ....rm 70/unit...if change all rm70 x 16 = rm1120 (2001)

so better change after market one i.e Tomei =rm1100 (year 2005 price)
got cheaper option US brand...ask Ah Kit...

Kampoon & Leslie : Sunoco oil is from which country ? Where can i get de oil ?

Pangyau :Engine condition is just 100% stock, under good condition . Just that de lifter having noise . I've tried motul 4100 turbo light 10w 40, it makes my lifter sound more loud. Now shift back to motul 4100 15W 50, noise get lesser . Motul 300V i nvr try b4 coz its expensive

evo kit : thx for advise . i'll try to use 6100 and see next time .

Btw , the price for 6100 Synergie 15W50 around how much?

ce9a_evo,

then it would be best to try out Motul 6100 Synergie Techno 15W-50 as per evokit suggest.
the price in East M'sia is RM172.00 4L. Maybe in West M'sia slightly cheaper RM5-10.
the higher end product 300V Competition among the best product.. but kinda high price also.

if all the lubricant unable to minimize/reduce the tepet/lifter noise...
then you should do as per azizi.aziz suggested...

price is about rm155 to rm165 in kl....i tried motul 4100 turbolight but its too thin for evo, so been using 15/50w 6100 synergie, 4100 power & Q8 F1 15/50w....so far so good.....

Sunoco is from Japan and the oil is directly imported (no repacking here or in other nearby countries) so there's no mixing/fake oil.

sorry for up back this topis..just 2 days ago my tepet already got sound tet tet tet tet tet like mesin jahit already kekekekeke.. where to find the oil 15W-50 6100 Synergie ?? and the motul ? got at sunway?? really annoying that sounds..and how about i change after market lifter ?? issit easy to find or hard??

i share my exp here.. ....i drive a heavy modded mivec turbo and current using shell helix semi, the engine sound cak....... is quite loud.... but after change using motul 6100 15-50w, sound reduced quite a lot... i can get easily sarawak here at price rm185.......

sorry once again. if at sunway where can i find the oils?

There's quite a lot of shops selling motul oil ...

N1 racing, KSP power , Kaki motors ... etc

---------- Post added at 04:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:25 PM ----------

Update : I've tried to change motul 4100 series 15W50, but seems de problem is not solve. So at last i decided to change the whole set of tappet . No more tappet sound appear.

After changed tappet i started to use Motul 300v .