buying silvia s15 from singapore

i see. but you see in the market place there got a few dealers from singapore selling sing cars to malaysians. and i observed tat there are quite a lot of buyers. and the guy told me tat if buy from him, he is a dealer btw, the car wil hav a sing plate. and he said the car cant be driven into singapore and the car cant be insured so he ask 2 drive carefully then everything ok. after tat he said if wanna register in malaysia oso can, but need to buy AP which wil cost around RM40k-50k. if do like tis he said can register in malaysia and hav m'sia plate and wil count as recon car. if like tis is quite worth it to me. coz i ask R34 GTR is RM50k then plus AP another RM50k, all in 100k. but im wondering reli can buy AP? not apply? any1 noes?

borat,

i dunno if there are actually Buyers for these singaporean cars from this forum...no real testimony.

anyway,wat jj.v6 said is true. i've checked as well. The ONLY way you can bring in a Singaporean Car is IF u have a Special AP like Student AP. Those are given to those who studied there for more than 2 years and owns a car there, they can bring it back. However, if they do sell the AP to u, the registered name/owner must remain the original Student AP holder's name for the next 2 years or more. So, if u do get this type of AP, the car will not be under your name, and if the student file report against u, u habis la.

Wat i checked with these 'sellers' in here is that they say they can use Local AP's. u c...Local AP's Cannot bring in s'pore/thai cars. So, if assuming they can 'kautim' for u the registration of yr 'new' car from singapore, u will only get the JPJ pink registration card. But if there is a roadblock, n yr car is spotted to be a s'pore scrapped car, there goes yr hard earned money. your car will be confiscated aka SITA.

If you do register as S'pore plate, but cannot go into S'pore, if u DO meet an accident, or if your car total loss, or stolen, etc...or if u somehow got into trouble with the law...habis la. Your hard earned money gone. No insurance. :banghead:

All these risks for some savings. end of the day, u r actually driving an illegal car on the road with the possibility of losing it at any time. Even heard of a case whereby the car inside Workshop repairing oso, Kastam/JPJ passby, check, confiscated the car.

Even if u wanna use as track car, u need a geran...s'pore cars bawak masuk NO geran unless u beli AP Hantu. haha

Hope this helps.

These stories means that there is no shortcut to our dream :biggrin: Thx alot for these explanation because I myself had almost tried to falled into these kind of shortcut(aka nice deal) to get a dream car and had much been hoped someone could clarify well on these matter.Once again thx alot for the info's mates!!!

if need to do too much of procedure and money to get that singapore s15,why dont u decide to buy in malaysia,as i know now on recond oni 13+k with 70-80% loanable!!spend another 30k to modified wat u wish!! izit better???:biggrin:

wat do you mean actually?? confused mate..

there is no free lunch in owning such cheap cars,
do you think the big fat guy who sits on leather sofa in putrajaya will let you got off easily with cheap cars? if this were okay, nobody gonna buy protons and peroduas then,

and btw, if its completely legal why cant we just take a loan from bank to buy it?
many sellers of these singaporean cars talk shit.after 2 months kastam will go after you and give you a surprise b*tt sex and drove your car away with filthy big grin

for more info,go to ur nearest jpj station,an look into their kandang..how many spore registered car r thr??u will get the pictures...
as far as i know the most possible short cut to own a cheap car will be.buy a car from tax-free cities.etc labuan or langkawi..if u ave any relative in this place,,get a car under their name,let them use for few years(compulsory by law) then bring back to ur home town an cook it up(u know wat i mean)

Borat, what he's saying is: Why not just buy a MALAYSIAN S15 which is priced at rm130K with still 70-80% loan and use another 30 to mod it as you wish INSTEAD of going through such a big hassle for a damn Singaporean one.

Faham sekarang? :rofl:

like i told one forummer who pm-ed me on this...Dream Car at Dream Price is what it is...only a DREAM. :rofl:

haha.. clear thing up edi.. thanks all.. now i know, no way to get that kind of car..

thanks every1.. last time so excited when offered jhz 75k for a s15 spec r. then now i noe its not possible. let alone legal. but i still hope the rumour goin on tat may 2010, the excise duty for cars which 4 m'sia is now about 200% wil be scraped, then an s15 would be so much cheaper, and i can finally import a unit from japan..

yup last last time they said scrap AP. then open for AFTA.

how many times did they postponed it already?? 4? 5? times since 1990s.
you may be in luck. i hope u r in luck. many bosan hear rumours. : )

good luck

i heard drom a good fren tat it cant be postponed anymore and they hav to implement it tis year. hopefully its true. reli fed up la.. ppl everywhr in the world are able to own 2-3 jap sports cars at once. but 4 us to own even 1 its so darn expensive. buy 1 s15 here can buy 2 units at japan... shit..

no problem borat..
we hav our own japan spec sport car..
some example
wira evo 1,2,3,............
waja gsr.evo 5........
perdana evo 3,tt,rvr........
bluebird r32,r34,sr20...........
toyota corola 4age........
and many more...
more creative than japanese and far more cheaper....
welcome to malaysia edition sport car club...

"ppl everywhr in the world are able to own 2-3 jap sports cars at once."

Is that true...? even in japan itself.. not everyone can afford a car, since u need to prove u hv a parking place to own a car as well.. means you need to rent a car park or have a landed house which can accomodate the vehicle...

in the United States still got ppl playing civics... and most of the ppl who dont have land property and a garage can forget about owning a car or a sports car.. coz when you hit winter, u'll probably destroy the SportsCar.. insurance & Tax there is expensive.. and their Gasolene too...

yes.. you hav a point.. wat im saying is tat a well to do individual for example in australia can maybe afford to own a s15 and a 180sx. but for us here in m'sia, it is quite hard. coz i came across many ppl like tat there. but juz saying tat tax on cars here is very high.. coz protected market.. not open market..

to my understanding in singapore you will not be able to export the car if the car is more then 5yrs.... s15, DC5R, evo8, EP3 any reg date before 2005 all cannot be export.