what angle cam and what brand to use for daily drive???

kumar22mostwanted

i drive a putra with e3 heart and just installed adjustable cam pulley and now my mech trying to poison me to get performance cams and i am also very tempted however my car is purely a daily drive car and wil never be going to track or for racing I am really interested in installing cams to improve my pick up and top end

Firstly is it suitable to change to performance cams for daily drive??
If so what angle cams and what brand would be recommended for my use ??

for daily drive? the std ones, of course sir.. do u need dat extra powwahh btw? if the power figure now is sufficient and in ur preference place, then other set of cams isnt needed at all imo, just adjust ur cam pulleys jer ler

i prefer the 272deg if u dont have any standalone, if u already have a standalone like a microtech, then get the biggest set of cams u can afford and get it tuned by a good tuner, d idle will not suffer even for a bit. of course my intrepetation of "not suffer" may differ from urs sir

272 and 282 cams without piggyback or standalone still ok, but you canot make full use of the cam's potential. but you need fuel regulator and send to a tuner to tune your engine timing, and also you need ajustable cam pulley to fine tune the setting you want : acceleration or top speed

for example if you using 272 or 282 cam with fuel regulator tuning, your low/mid/top will benefit 10-15% more power compare to stock

if you using 272 or 282 cam with piggyback+remove revcut or standalone, you may rev free up to 9000rpm which will benefit your acceleration 0-120kmh, and alot maximize your 3rd gear potential up to 170-180kmh if your gbox allows

newbienissan, if installin cams only produces 15% of power, id just go and fine tune it, much much cheaper sir. weve seen gains up to nearly 40hp on the dyno dynamics when the emanage was tuned by joshua thiran of millennium motorsports asia on a bone stock b16a. id expect better results if the engine had a bigger cam set

hmmm, my bad, actually i seen stage 2 vtec rolling on dyno produce about 230whp too. just say 10-15% is minimum gain :)

we hardly see a 230hp vtecs on the dyno dynamics, we tested a 230hp GSR wit TD05H previously dyno-ed on a dynojet, it produced a mere 160hp on the dynamics fyi

woao 272 was still withing my option but 282 i was worried that it would deteriorate my cars drivability as i mentioned before its purely a daily drive car and air con is always on at full blast
yeah ive just got the set of works cam pulleys but havent tuned it yet with my mech but ive read that the cam pulleys will work better with those performance cams
yeap ive thought of investing in standalone but for my car i dont think it will be worth it at all as its pretty much stock i havent even mod the airfilter or change stainless steel piping now only gonna do coz the previous owner kept it completetly stock as he got from halfcut
oh yeah and i didnt mention it being a daily drive car i wont be like revving past 5k most of the time so would the cams still have an effect
sorry if asking silly questions but im not to sure bout cams so i would like to learn from yall

so actually what you need is a mild cam with a high lift. 262 degree with 12.5 lift will cater your need well. i used to have 262 degree and 12.5 lift, the peak power was not as great as 272 degree BUT the torque curve was superb, 2800rpm onwards a straight line up to 5500rpm with NO DROP in the dyno chart. and my turbo kaki frens also shared with me, for turbo engine is better to have high lift cams than high degree.

adjustable cam pulleys are to fine-tune your cams so you can setup your engine powerband according to your desired power. adjustable cam pulleys alone wont give u much diff to your stock cam. it has to be combo with a high cam to fully see the results.

hope this helps :)

Since it's stock, for the amount of cash you'll be spending on cams, might as well you get a set of stainless steel piping, a wastegate, blow off?, banana, fuel regulator, higher injectors. Then in the near future get a piggy back or stand alone then only think bout the heavy mods like camshaft, pistons, etc........

[H] [K] [S];4411469 said:
Since it's stock, for the amount of cash you'll be spending on cams, might as well you get a set of stainless steel piping, a wastegate, blow off?, banana, fuel regulator, higher injectors. Then in the near future get a piggy back or stand alone then only think bout the heavy mods like camshaft, pistons, etc........

im already just about to do the ic piping and banana and wastegate and those basic stuff soon already coz my car just gonna come out of workshop after do top overhaul and service my turbo so i wanna drive it a couple of days the send it for the above mentioned mods
the cams mod is suppose to be after this one and it was actually never in my plans but since my mech poison me i cant stop thinking about it lah hehehe

---------- Post added at 10:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:16 PM ----------

so actually what you need is a mild cam with a high lift. 262 degree with 12.5 lift will cater your need well. i used to have 262 degree and 12.5 lift, the peak power was not as great as 272 degree BUT the torque curve was superb, 2800rpm onwards a straight line up to 5500rpm with NO DROP in the dyno chart. and my turbo kaki frens also shared with me, for turbo engine is better to have high lift cams than high degree.

adjustable cam pulleys are to fine-tune your cams so you can setup your engine powerband according to your desired power. adjustable cam pulleys alone wont give u much diff to your stock cam. it has to be combo with a high cam to fully see the results.

hope this helps :)

hehe thats one of the main reasons also i wanna get high cams so can actually use the cam pulley properly
hmm so 262 is already enough for daily drive lah with high lift
how bout 272 or 282 with high lift??coz if the diff between 262 272 and 282 is not much i rather go straight and get the 282 provided it doesnt mess up my idling

272 is ok! does not mess ur idle up!!!!! sent ur ecu for tuning wit his chip! get him to set the cams wit the ecu then ur setting would be fine!!!! 282 no la bro a little too high for u liking! i would say since ur fitting those cams just go for 272 worth ur cash! always remember if u wan smooth flowing ride standard is the answer! when performance comes in a little sacrifice is required ;]..................... happy modding!!!!

your ride is done already???

hehehehe if only a little then no problem lah
but if dam susah drive then gotta pass lah coz they are hell lot of traffic jams and trafiic lights in kl and not enough smooth long roads hehehe

actually hor, i sit before in a member evo rojak vr4 engine, which is a 2000 turbo in short, 282cams....hehehe. but he fetch be beside with aircond on, no problem maaa....just that, when you hardbraking/idling u need to play with the throttle, else the engine will mati, just set the idling like 1300rpm and get a FICD will solve the prob. btw, the car is for sale, u can find in zth, alvin24's car....WHAT A CAR !

---------- Post added at 11:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:13 PM ----------

272 is ok! does not mess ur idle up!!!!! sent ur ecu for tuning wit his chip! get him to set the cams wit the ecu then ur setting would be fine!!!! 282 no la bro a little too high for u liking! i would say since ur fitting those cams just go for 272 worth ur cash! always remember if u wan smooth flowing ride standard is the answer! when performance comes in a little sacrifice is required ;]..................... happy modding!!!!

your ride is done already???

I second what you have in mind. For me, the most important is the engine respond n power band to drive on the road. i think 272degree with 12lift will do the trick nicely, steady torque power from 3000-5000rpm is more the enough to harness. but remember dont crave for peak power hp, coz our car doesnt move on peak power, but usable low to mid rev torque n engine respond is what you need for daily drive and touge :driver:

if ur running on street only, my recommendation is 264 cams or 272 cams. i personally used hks 264 cams on my 4g63 engine back then n the powerband really matched the td05 turbo. 272 should be nicer but anything more might hurt the low end torque that we need for daily driving hehehe

262 isnt much different then the std cams jer, might as well get a set of adjustable cam pulley and adjust to ur liking, like i said, its a cheaper option. my 4g91 is running wit a set and weve set the cam timing up dat we have a flat torque curve of 90 lb.ft now, gear 4 pun boley panjat genting woo

hmm yeah lah i also heard the standard cams cant do much with them even with adjustable cam pulley
yeah i was considering 272 cams as well then couple with ecu rechip
but how would the idling be like after installing 272 cams??
i mean like in kl got lots of jams and traffic lights so annoying cant even enjoy the ride
everytime must balance the clutch till like 2k rpm coz of the exedy otherwise slip i takut tambah cam then become more susah like the engine die or what that is the worst at least clutch engine wont die just car vibrate like hell if dont balance

---------- Post added at 07:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:04 PM ----------

262 isnt much different then the std cams jer, might as well get a set of adjustable cam pulley and adjust to ur liking, like i said, its a cheaper option. my 4g91 is running wit a set and weve set the cam timing up dat we have a flat torque curve of 90 lb.ft now, gear 4 pun boley panjat genting woo

wow sounds dam impressive bro 4g91 can panjat bukit with gear 4 :adore::adore::adore:

---------- Post added at 07:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:05 PM ----------

if ur running on street only, my recommendation is 264 cams or 272 cams. i personally used hks 264 cams on my 4g63 engine back then n the powerband really matched the td05 turbo. 272 should be nicer but anything more might hurt the low end torque that we need for daily driving hehehe

yeah bro totally agree i also since its purely daily drive will never ever rev over 5 and thats also when i really excited or kena cucuk like hell
most of the time its with 4k rpm and below just cruising only lah
so i guess a lower degree cam would be sufficient i guess ??
i was more towards favouring 272 but the main concern for me is idling