Mcpherson or super strut?what u guys prefer??

ahle@

any command for Mcpherson or super strut??

Mcpherson=easy to take care,but come with single pot caliper(some model 2 pot but hard to find).(but why BZR also using mcpherson?cause 20kg light weight??)

super strut=better cornering ,2 pot,but 20kg more and hard to maintain...(at japan website there have special tool to open the super strut,(super strut cant ketuk one)but malaysia not,...)

i will convert my SVT to BT soon,but the halfcut come with mcpherson absober(very new,35000km only)...so now thinking want change it or not(my car is using super strut now )...

any sifu can give your command??

If you already have super_strut then keep it. When absorber kong, save RM2.8k and go convert to TiTAN.

Convert to Mcpherson, later absorber die still have to spent money repair. Every 2 years. Mind as well install TiTAN but if you never race / rally on public broken road, can last forever.

Go back TiTAN tuning say you want 70% comfort and 30% performance. It will come out 60% performance 40% comfort. It's like that one, Richard's standard and our standard different.

Tell him to set the absorber soft soft don't want high pressure.

Use moderate spring rate like 4kg front and 2.9kg rear enough already.

I would go for mcpherson and upgrade to twinpot or four pots if not satisfied with the brakes ... super strut is damn good .. but it's not meant for malaysian roads ... after a while krik krok krik krok ... damn kow pening one .....

ya..i check the hk magazine say that super strut have to check after 30000km c the screw got loosen or not and the rubber...some more need special tools to open cannot simple ketuk out...

anyway thanks for sifu yolk and chin:)

erk, my super struct already kriok kriok lah, can repair or not? please advice

i used to use super strut...
now using macpherson....
and i regret!

macpherson is darn scary at high
speed on uneven road. but i believe
titan would solve that for u. haha.

but still i see the HK AE111 track
car prefer to use macpherson.
with their own joint.. which is big~

my super strut run aready 100k KM but no sound yet la...ya is good when high speed...but i never try mcpherson B4...dont know how la....HK AE111 is BZR model so all using mcpherson(stock),but they change it to super strut..cause 6 speed Gearbox more heavy so maybe dont want too heavy at front lo then put mcpherson..

or u keep the super strut aside first...
try out the new macpherson strut...
then u decide...

i dump super strut bcoz i cannot afford
for the change or lower arms...
chop shop selling RM200-250 per side.
but they told me brand new RM300+ in japan.
but they don't wanna help to buy...
order from my dad's fren.. but no answer recieved.
just once i ordered from UMW.. which cost RM800 for
right side only.

when it started to scream for help...
hahaha... just like wht yolk described.

kuching got ppl rebuilt their own lower
arm. and getting more and more 20v
super strut on road. but i still prefer
macpherson. it's really troublesome
to get in workshop every 4-6 months.
somemore i normally drive without caring
much on road condition. even my macpherson
absorber last for only 4 months only. hiak hiak.

ya HK member say super strut normally hav to "check" every 10000km...

Ae111 got original 2 pot for mcpherson right?,..got saw it B4...but hard to get...how much ar?i mean the ori one not modify 1....

i'm not sure about that.
but i think that is the VR4 twin pot. not toyota.

artnet said:
or u keep the super strut aside first...
try out the new macpherson strut...
then u decide...

i dump super strut bcoz i cannot afford
for the change or lower arms...
chop shop selling RM200-250 per side.
but they told me brand new RM300+ in japan.
but they don't wanna help to buy...
order from my dad's fren.. but no answer recieved.
just once i ordered from UMW.. which cost RM800 for
right side only.

do u mean RM200-Rm250 per side for only the super strut?
if like that, i just bus it for RM60 per side, then i fast2 buy for both side, my mechanic friend also shock, the condition also still good... but after i install it that krek krek krek sound still heard... any sifoo can tell me what is goin' on here? :)

bros... how to know whether my car is using ss or macpherson? my ride is an ae111 97 auto local...

if u never changed ur undercarriage system, most likely it is mcpherson. I don't think ae111 local comes with superstrut. .

i think mcpherson is good enough for everyday use in d city, it's not tat u gonna be doing aggressive cornering everyday to the office, or back home. If comparing superstrut with double wishbone, i still think double wishbone is d best of all system. yea, i also do agree hard to find spare parts.

you can use VR4 Twin port if you want to. just mod abit and remember to custom made the centre cone O rings. Toyota twin port also need to mod because is SS type. VR4 Calipper bigger and more variety of pads to choose and cheaper too..... using more then 6 years , skimmed the rotor a few time already , still working cond... mcpherson if you want more comfort and easy to find spare parts.

any command for Mcpherson or super strut??

Mcpherson=easy to take care,but come with single pot caliper(some model 2 pot but hard to find).(but why BZR also using mcpherson?cause 20kg light weight??)

super strut=better cornering ,2 pot,but 20kg more and hard to maintain...(at japan website there have special tool to open the super strut,(super strut cant ketuk one)but malaysia not,...)

i will convert my SVT to BT soon,but the halfcut come with mcpherson absober(very new,35000km only)...so now thinking want change it or not(my car is using super strut now )...

any sifu can give your command??

Hi... Sorry need to off topic slightly... Just want to ask..

Mac pherson and SS are referring to the suspensions right? What has it go to do with brakes? Does this means that mac pherson must use single pot and ss must use twin pot? If mine is mac pherson, can upgrade the caliper to twin pot in the future or not?

Still don't get what has the suspension got to do with the caliper :hmmmm:

Thank you.