1.6 flywheel+cluth use in 1.3

Evo48

Sifu@zth....... anyone here change or heard about the 1.6 flywheel and cluth kit put on 1.3 car? does it help on the power of the car? please give me opinion on this.....

If you're talking about Proton engine, NO. You can't use 1.6 flywheel on 1.3/1.5.

The crank bolt and PCD is different.

Evo48, if u talking about proton, u can use it, but must change the whole set of clutch, including the flywheel. Of course the pick up will be increase...

nicteh...theres is no proton 1.6 flywheel wit 5 bolt...those r all 7 bolt

those 4g13/4g15 need to get mitsubishi super touring flywheel...thhey r 8"
or mayb if u can find the ols sirion turbo then even better...

but wats the point having a heavier flywheel...u will lose pick up...
but of coz the top speed will be better..

Currently using 1.6 clutch & flywheel for my wira 1.3 so far no problems.
If I'm not mistaken the ori. clutch size is 7inches and the 1.6 clutch size is 7.5inches.
Got the flywheel from chop shop but bought the clutch brand new (Mitsubishi).
Best thing to do is to skim or potong the flywheel first then the pick-up will be ok. Will reached top speed faster as well.

Down side is the clutch will feel heavy as wira1.3 using cable for the clutch and will notice the engine rev is higher thus noisy.

But can feel the power increase and can hold on to the rev further down the rpm. Would definately recommend the upgrade.

Cheers.

u can onli lighten it to same weight of ur stock flywheel...

or be on the safe side...lighten a miximum of 1kg onli....

u might end up wit crack flywheel

i used 1.8 supertoring flywheel n clutch set on my 4g15. after lighten flywheel, can feel the "light"ness. no crack, no problem even when constant upshifting at 8000rpm.

khoyos...super touring 1.6 and 1.8 same size or not?

the mech told my fren if can get the old mitsu sirion turbo even better wor...how many inch oh tat sirion turbo 1?
can fit 4g15 gearbox or muz grind the gearbox a bit?

i'm using 4G13 (iswara) with 1.6 super touring flywheel 8 inch (no skimming) n clutch set (exedy 2 pucks)....

i think no different at all except the clutch pedal will be heavier than before.

i'm using it coz juz wanna try it n BTW, i got it damn cheap from my fren...haha

need to lighten to at least same weight as the stock 1 loh...
or mayb coz this size onli got performance clutch to play wit

The flywheel too heavy-lah bro. That's why don't feel any difference. But 8" i think need to grind the gearbox.

i heard of this b4.. changing to 1.6 flywheel and clutch will giv better torques... but after seeing these replies.. i think the statement might be wrong then.. any sifus can clarify it?

i jus share my experience...

the purpose i change to SUPER TOURING 1.8 flywheel cause i wanna use 8inches clutch plate..bcos last time the standard clutch plate(7.5inches)..dun hav the branded one(such as EXEDY,trinity,etc..) but now EXEDY has come out clutch plate for 1.5 flywheel(7.5inches)

i lighten my flywheel..dun know how many grams..but less than 1kg....feel slightly light to rev high...no problem during going up hill...but i suffer bit lost on top. previously i can reach 170kmh with my stddard 1.5 engine..but after lighten the ST flywheel, hard to reach 170kmh..jus 160-165kmh...

now..change carb...of coz can rev high very fast..i never test on standard flywheel with standard clutch set(7.5inches)

personally...i don recomend u all to change the flywheel..not much different on standard set up...summore nowadays EXEDY has market clutch set for 1.3/1.5(7.5 inches one)...jus change to better clutch plate to get better clutch grip(make sure its original)....plus the cost to lighten the flywheel,open the gearbox,change to new clutch plate..will cost u much....

jus my2cents...

Actually... the MAIN purpose for upgrading to an 8" flywheel is so that you can use racing clutch for better launching... as racing clutches comes minimum in 8". Exedy memang all the while got clutch for 7.5"... but those are OEM spec clutch.... for Racing clutch, minumum is still 8".

If you're going to use back OEM clutch... then don't bother... coz' OEM clutch is memang designed to slip for the comfort of driving... so the car doesn't jerk too much... so it doesn't matter if u using 7.5" or 8"... the clutch will still slip!! So launching will still be the same!!! Where by, instead you'll feel more 'downgrade' in performance due to the heavier clutch.

Whether or not the 8" flywheel can be lightened to the same weight as a stock 7.5"... i dunno woh... have to weight and see. =Þ If can... then by all means go for it loh... but once again if u're planning to put back OEM clutch... might as well lighten your 7.5" flywheel instead... then mah even lighter loh! =)

And btw... 8" flywheel can fit... 8.5" flywheel also can fit into a 1.3 g'box housing... but if u wanna go 9"... then only have to grind the inside of the g'box housing.

jcn9690 said:
i dont think can fit bigger 8" flywheel no such space....

Hmm.. not sure if the flywheel will be 'in the way' of any of the 4G13/15 engine parts or not... but i was just referring to 8.5" flywheel being able to fit into the 1.3/1.5 gearbox housing without having to grind the inside of the gearbox.

I previously used the 8.5" into my 4G91 mar... can still slap on the 1.3/1.5 gearbox without having to grind it.

jawoliso said:
So bigger flywheel & clutch=better performance?
not necessarily. the flywheel may be too big for ur crank to rotate.

but in my case, 4g15 + twin 40dcoe carb + RPW 292 cam + some other mods, after install larger flywheel (lightened) and clutch plate, result is finger lickin good.