1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

edgar_raphael said:
I just owned an used Wira 1.6Xli... need to learn more from you people here

Just after days owning the car (without any much experience from what a stock can perform) it now have 17", low spring, 2.5inch-inlet size muffler.

Performance.. totally sucks out on low end... downshifting (auto) was so terrible... sometimes wont downshift to 2nd gear when exiting corners... most of the time downshift to 3rd gear from 4th. Unless you tekan longer, more than 2-3 seconds.. only then it downshift again from 3rd to 2nd. I think when before fitting the muffler, still ok.

Handling also bad.. even on the stock suspension.. it was rather soft.. and you dont feel any security when driving it. Its a 97' car so is about 8 years old right now. On the other hand.. i had another 99' 1.5 (also auto) Wira.. and the handling I must say i much much better than the 2 years older car.. although the stupid 3-speed is not that amusing.

Anyone here care to share your experince on the handling with me?

Think better U use 16" or 15" rims, S type muffler (for auto car), 4-2-1 extractor with standart size pipping, performence plug cable & good tuning. U can esily get top speed 180 km/h & good pickup. i use satria 1996 manual. I use monroe absober with stock spring the handling is good.

can anyone tell me where does the SOHC 4G92 engine originate from?

Lancer CK4A year 1995 and above or..

Mirage CJ4A year 95 and above or...

Mirage CA4A year 91-95?

All of the above listed has Mivec engine.

The reason I asked is because I wanted to install SAFC, and all the 4G92 engine listed in the wiring diagram from the user manuals are from the three. Is it possible that the 4G92 Mivec engine's ECU is the same as the SOHC 4G92? I mean the socket.

The other alternative is a harder one, which requires me to identify those wires needed to get it working and it may take a very long time to do so which I am not keen to do so.

Please help and thanks.

think it's mirage CA4A 91-95... since ploton 1.6 first came in 95.... and almost like they wouldn't take the latest engine...

4g92

All forumers,

My 4G92 1.6A/B ME got a problem since few months back, it drinks a lot of engine oil, surprisingly no black smoke.... condition get worse if i am on highway.
Thinking of getting it fix, some mechanic ask me to go full overhaule and offer me 2k+, i am thinking whether i can get away with it by doing the top overhaule onli...

In between, my fuel consumption also quite high, 360-380km per full tank, highway omli 450km per tank, recently i can heard some tapping soung from the engine too.

I didn't modify much, only a 4-2-1 extractor, killing the cat too + drop in k&n filter...

Any suggestion on the overhaul and where can i get reliable mechanic.... also how to improve the fuel consumption....

why all ur 1.6 sohc engine got terrible FC? mine only rm50 got at least 350km if town driving, but when highway can raech 500km...

kialen..
try find another block then buying new one, coz it from japan which quality is better compare new one which made in malaysia.... but try this first la, try to reset ecu if cannot just change the whole block which the work is less... that tapping sound mone also got but it just for a while only...

I think those with bad FC need to reset their ECU and then adjust their ignition and/or cam timing. 1.6s should not have so bad FC. Mine is something like amad108's car, and with tons of add on stuff....see earlier postings here.

riggy how's ur 1.6 perform ar? izzit ori manual?
my car head already burn but i just let it n stiffen the head screw... now my engine got too many sound, bearing ,tapping, gekgek.. but still it performe very well until now..

anyone here wanna test DRAX ECU, just wanna u all fell.. just contact me if u fell free to test... hehe just a lit promote here... ehe.. it's for 4G92 sohc engine, those who convert dohc cannot use it unless u use distributer for dohc head...

amad108.. said:
riggy how's ur 1.6 perform ar? izzit ori manual?
my car head already burn but i just let it n stiffen the head screw... now my engine got too many sound, bearing ,tapping, gekgek.. but still it performe very well until now..

anyone here wanna test DRAX ECU, just wanna u all fell.. just contact me if u fell free to test... hehe just a lit promote here... ehe.. it's for 4G92 sohc engine, those who convert dohc cannot use it unless u use distributer for dohc head...

mine is auto :)

I'm on a new cyl head, running 10.7:1 CR, ported, polished. Basically did a minor overhaul last August 04...new piston rings also. According to what i read and what my mechanic tells me, a higher CR will for sure make fuel ecomony a little better while still making abit more power, however downside to this is that a little more engine wear happens. Just make sure good engine oil is used. I use 20w50 fully synthetic usually for maximum protection, and an oil cooler also. At least with this the radiator can cool down the head a little better and not be affected by the bottom end getting too hot also.

regards.

riggy said:
mine is auto :)

I'm on a new cyl head, running 10.7:1 CR, ported, polished. Basically did a minor overhaul last August 04...new piston rings also. According to what i read and what my mechanic tells me, a higher CR will for sure make fuel ecomony a little better while still making abit more power, however downside to this is that a little more engine wear happens. Just make sure good engine oil is used. I use 20w50 fully synthetic usually for maximum protection, and an oil cooler also. At least with this the radiator can cool down the head a little better and not be affected by the bottom end getting too hot also.

regards.

wah... u use oil cooler ar.. better change to manual before it's breakdown. why not use vtec piston? i think it can be done and i heard already people do that...
mine engine standard stock. my head cylinder have broke 2 times b'coz some ecu testing, the mapping not suitable i think.. now use standard coz my knock sensor 'kong' already so cannot use DRAX ecu, so sad la.... huhu
now i'm save money for other upgarde lor...

amad108.. said:
wah... u use oil cooler ar.. better change to manual before it's breakdown. why not use vtec piston? i think it can be done and i heard already people do that...
mine engine standard stock. my head cylinder have broke 2 times b'coz some ecu testing, the mapping not suitable i think.. now use standard coz my knock sensor 'kong' already so cannot use DRAX ecu, so sad la.... huhu
now i'm save money for other upgarde lor...

Not thinking of changing it to manual as the reason i bought auto was becoz i wanted auto. Anyways, i have already changed the autobox once, and will source for another one if its necessary. Its not so expensive to find a second hand jap autobox nowadays, around 1k with labour and fluid/filter.

I dont think its worth changing pistons, i might as well go use the 1.8 block later on, the torque is so much better and a more effective upgrade than getting new pistons (there is no replacement for cubic capacity). The only hassle is getting the car thru puspakom. Plus the fact that my new ride is comming out soon, need to spend money there also.

regards

throw it in the garbage can or giv ur car to ericko so he can actually drive up to 190kmh...

woo hi guys...im driving a 4G92P! hehe...

oh yeah we're gonna be having a bulk buy of Hotbits extractors...

we can get it right now for RM280 if we purchase individually...so im sure we can get a much better price if we buy it all together...

anyone interested pls PM me...!! :D

4g92 reporting...ello every body..

wow...so many discussion around here..let's make this forum active top 10...not worrying of FC anymore..use kancil for working..use 'the car' for balik kg or jalan-jalan carik mkn onli..heard that the petrol will increase although PM denied it..

hmmm... guess running bigger bore TB on the 92P saves fuel... mine increased upto around 85-90km per RM10 / 6.57L from 75km. huhuhuh... get them big big throttle bodies...

is it right ka bro kopi?

thinking of it few times but when the petrol cost increased, I just leave it there..

Which TB u r using? GSR or else or custom made?

miveccom said:
is it right ka bro kopi?

thinking of it few times but when the petrol cost increased, I just leave it there..

Which TB u r using? GSR or else or custom made?

Suggest you use the perdana 4 cyl throttle body which i am using. Not 6cyl. It is a direct swap for the 1.6 throttle body.

regards

MIVEC's TB and bored again. It's done by the previous owner who sold off his Satria Mivec and installed back the standard tb. but still have to be supported by an adjstable fuel regulator since air fuel ratio gone weng after installing it. Improved torque at mid-higher revs too.