1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

rm200?so cheap one if its quite new..or maybe worn out..IMHO, buy new one..r3 suspension kit is good enough..rm 1.3k if im not mistaken..

for step by step upgrading, u can see back the old post in this forum..all steps are there..

yesterday i was looking around at one utama home centre. they have r3 parts but ridiculously expensive. i dont think rm 1.3k for whole set. just front brake pads cost 800 bucks. crazy. the evo and gsr suspension i was talking about still in good condition, personally test drived my friends car before he uninstalled them. i'm thinking of getting a fuel regulator for starts. any recommendations on what brand and model. what is the budget.? or any advice on something other than fuel regulator that i should get for starts. i'm complete newbie, should i go and dyno my car to see current performance. if so, where is good and how much cost? also should i get tuning? what parts exactly need to be tuned and yet again, where and how much. sorry for so much questions. guess im trying to learn as much as possible asap to avoid many mistakes. i've read most of the old posts.

new and annoying

chronic

hehe

chronic_ska said:
yesterday i was looking around at one utama home centre. they have r3 parts but ridiculously expensive. i dont think rm 1.3k for whole set. just front brake pads cost 800 bucks. crazy. the evo and gsr suspension i was talking about still in good condition, personally test drived my friends car before he uninstalled them. i'm thinking of getting a fuel regulator for starts. any recommendations on what brand and model. what is the budget.? or any advice on something other than fuel regulator that i should get for starts. i'm complete newbie, should i go and dyno my car to see current performance. if so, where is good and how much cost? also should i get tuning? what parts exactly need to be tuned and yet again, where and how much. sorry for so much questions. guess im trying to learn as much as possible asap to avoid many mistakes. i've read most of the old posts.

new and annoying

chronic

hehe

Get any fuel regulator AS LONG AS IT WORKS PROPERLY. You can go for the SARD, FSI, or even the AROSPEED taiwan made ones.

I suggest paying good money for suspension. Get proper shock sets for your car. If you want to get used shocks, its a gamble basically, they may not last long and may be worse than the stock ones.

regards

thanks riggy,

how much will a SARD, FSI or AROSPEED fuel regulator cost. Are they adjustable and do you think that it is viable for me to get one as my car is still stock apart from exhaust?

Hmmm, is it possible to get only an adjustable cam pulley without modding anything else. If so, is there any diff in torque/hp?

please help sifu'

regards:regular_smile:

1st try piping 2' with throttle body 'perdana' plus with drop air filter is enough..
that should the 1st stage...

for 2nd stage more aggressive mod which required a lot of money like
- cut crankshaft
- engine balance

i dont prefer too much mod coz the engine wear will become faster then normal, so try not too harm with too many mod...

chronic_ska said:
thanks riggy,

how much will a SARD, FSI or AROSPEED fuel regulator cost. Are they adjustable and do you think that it is viable for me to get one as my car is still stock apart from exhaust?

Hmmm, is it possible to get only an adjustable cam pulley without modding anything else. If so, is there any diff in torque/hp?

please help sifu'

regards:regular_smile:

Hi, cheapest is the arospeed. rm250+, sard and fsi around 400+.

If you have exhaust and a sports filter, i'd suggest it. As you can actually help the engine by adjusting fuel pressure to compensate for the better airflow in and out of the engine. it'll help throttle response also.

the adjustable cam pulley is good IF you do not know what's the correct timing to use and you want to play around first. Fortunately for me, i have a mechanic who is already well versed with the correct cam timing fo rthe engine, therefore it is not necessary to get one unless you got a new camshaft to play with. The only benefit is that it may be lighter than the stock pulley - but only by a few grams and not worth paying so much for so little gain. eVEN STOCK pulleys have levels of adjustment, except they have no markings to actually show you.

I would suggest getting the fuel regulator, the as amad108 said, a perdana throttle body - 4cyl is plug and play. as for the next step.

regards.

thanks riggy and amad108

will shop around for perdana throttle body and fuel regulator. i have a friend working in proton edar, can get cheap parts. hopefully can help with the tb, if they still have stock la...

did any of you guys try the diy voltage stabilizer as in the diy section. a bit research then am thinking of giving it a shot. any comments/suggestions.

regards:shades_smile:

Need Help.... Damn Confused....

To all the sifus'....

Please help me.. I am so confused.. This is about throttle body.. the story is like this..

On the second day of chinese new year, my car (stock) throttle body was giving trouble so i went and changed it at a workshop who conned me and gave me a second hand TB for 600. I didnt know anything at the time so kena tipu la. Anyway, 2 days ago that TB timing screw thread haus and got stuck so i went kedai potong and bought a perdana single cam TB. I inspected all 3 TB.

1st TB diameter - 49mm (original TB)
2nd TB diameter - about 45mm (second hand TB which foreman said is 1.6 TB)
3rd TB diameter - 49mm (perdana single cam TB which chop shop said is import TB)

Today i went and changed the perdana single cam cos i thought it wasnt perdana TB cos as far as i know and i also checked at spare part shop perdana single TB is 54mm but foreman and even chop shop tauke himself insist is perdana TB import model. Than he said 'nevermind, u take v6 TB'. from what i've researched and read here is that v6 TB cannot fit so i told him that then he said can, one of the foreman even opened up his satria 1.6 and showed me he put v6 TB. they even told me ' aiyo, lu tak tahu jgn main cakap oh, nanti kena gelak sama orang oh'. so i checked the tb and seems like can fit, the screws same and connectors all same. and the diameter is 54mm. funny things is it looked exactly like the perdana single cam TB which i saw at spare part shop but they insist is v6 TB.

so i took it and gonna fit it tonight or tomorrow morning will let know results. in the mean time can any sifu please expalin to me why 1.6 got 2 diff size or is one 1.5 TB and can v6 fit?

regards

khalil

chronic_ska said:
To all the sifus'....

Please help me.. I am so confused.. This is about throttle body.. the story is like this..

On the second day of chinese new year, my car (stock) throttle body was giving trouble so i went and changed it at a workshop who conned me and gave me a second hand TB for 600. I didnt know anything at the time so kena tipu la. Anyway, 2 days ago that TB timing screw thread haus and got stuck so i went kedai potong and bought a perdana single cam TB. I inspected all 3 TB.

1st TB diameter - 49mm (original TB)
2nd TB diameter - about 45mm (second hand TB which foreman said is 1.6 TB)
3rd TB diameter - 49mm (perdana single cam TB which chop shop said is import TB)

Today i went and changed the perdana single cam cos i thought it wasnt perdana TB cos as far as i know and i also checked at spare part shop perdana single TB is 54mm but foreman and even chop shop tauke himself insist is perdana TB import model. Than he said 'nevermind, u take v6 TB'. from what i've researched and read here is that v6 TB cannot fit so i told him that then he said can, one of the foreman even opened up his satria 1.6 and showed me he put v6 TB. they even told me ' aiyo, lu tak tahu jgn main cakap oh, nanti kena gelak sama orang oh'. so i checked the tb and seems like can fit, the screws same and connectors all same. and the diameter is 54mm. funny things is it looked exactly like the perdana single cam TB which i saw at spare part shop but they insist is v6 TB.

so i took it and gonna fit it tonight or tomorrow morning will let know results. in the mean time can any sifu please expalin to me why 1.6 got 2 diff size or is one 1.5 TB and can v6 fit?

regards

khalil

If its 54mm, most probably its a 4cyl perdana throttle body. If its a v6 TB, its slightly larger, however, you have to make sure the wiring is correct. There are slight differences in the wiring connection, its not as straight forward as the 4cylTB. Sometimes, chop-shop ppl want to make a sale and they'll tell u anything. Could be TB for 1.5, 1.6 , but who knows. They want to sell stuff...thats all.

regards.

it definitely is 54mm.and the connectors can fit. already installed it on my car. difference i can feel: -

1. maybe a bit better pickup, not really sure. sometimes feel same, sometimes a bit better.
2. sometimes i get flat spots (if thats what u call the problem) at about 4.5k rpm and 5.5k rpm i feel there is lack of power, like there is something holding back the engine power. why is that? can anybody explain to me.
3. a few people have mentioned that when they change their TB to the 54mm perdana TB, their car exhaust sounds like got cams. how is this sound cos i think my car sound quite normal except a bit of br.br.br.br.br.br sound. very very little only. can hear more if aircond is on

can anybody explain please. also what difference should i definitely be able to feel with this change of TB.?

sifus please help

khalil

chronic_ska said:
it definitely is 54mm.and the connectors can fit. already installed it on my car. difference i can feel: -

1. maybe a bit better pickup, not really sure. sometimes feel same, sometimes a bit better.
2. sometimes i get flat spots (if thats what u call the problem) at about 4.5k rpm and 5.5k rpm i feel there is lack of power, like there is something holding back the engine power. why is that? can anybody explain to me.
3. a few people have mentioned that when they change their TB to the 54mm perdana TB, their car exhaust sounds like got cams. how is this sound cos i think my car sound quite normal except a bit of br.br.br.br.br.br sound. very very little only. can hear more if aircond is on

can anybody explain please. also what difference should i definitely be able to feel with this change of TB.?

sifus please help

khalil

HI,

Flat spots at certain rpm - DO you have a fuel regulator? if you dont, get one. This is coz your car now breathes so much better, but now has the same fueling for the smaller TB. Get a fuel regulator to increase the fuel pressure a little.

Cam sounds? not that i am aware, the only reason it sounds is that it has too much air and less fuel - again, get a fuel regulator.

Funny br br br sounds? none of that sort in my car. Pickup is only slightly improved, but with the fueling properly setup, your mid range and top end power goes up by approximately 4 bhp - and it feels so much more relaxed at high speed cruising. So again, get a fuel regulator installed, set the fueling higher - good example would be reading some of the earlier posting about what pressure to run.

thanks riggy,

i guessed as much. well, next project to save money then find adjustable fuel regulator.

btw have u check the air flow sensor? if im not mistaken there's somekind of restriction there..only half open for the 1.6, 3/4 open for single cam 1.8 n perdana n for gti, no restriction..

try to remove it n see how it goes..

thanks encikmasen

hmmm, is it possible to adjust the opening of the air flow sensor. if so, how do i do it? if not, what other alternatives do i have?

khalil

chronic_ska said:
thanks encikmasen

hmmm, is it possible to adjust the opening of the air flow sensor. if so, how do i do it? if not, what other alternatives do i have?

khalil

Encikmasen is correct, there is an adjustment at the bottom of the airflow sensor. However, your current problem is actually too much air, too little fueling. wHEN YOU solve this problem by getting a regulator, then you can try adjust the spacer blocking the airflow in the sensor. BTW, my 1.6 is running 3/4 open like the 1.8 wiras with a 54mm TB plus other extras.

regards

hi there,

4g92p reporting in... running stock engine, manual, yr 94... never know there is such a thread for 1.6... hope not too late to report in... :)

cheers,

wira a/b 03' for sale
converted mivec 1.6 with jpj approve
with new paint providedd
selling 30,xxxx
call 012.607.7383
loan up to 29-28k