1st few mods on lantis??

PedalToTheMetal

hi sifus? using a 97 mazda 323f lantis h/b..
wanna kno if it can fit b6 or b8 engine?? new to car mod..hope u guys can help me? thanks..
btw..can lantis fit rx7 front bumper? with a lil bit of cuttin's on the bumper? juz askin...thanks again..
:tee:

hi gabanz! thanks for ya reply..
well..its 1.6(m)..plannin to turbo it in the future..
but i'm new in this...
a)can advise me on which engine is better for turbo?
b)for 1.6 engine..wat is teh best size rims for it? 17 inch can powerloss??
thanks again!

hey bro.. driving lantis 1.6(A) here.. now i am using 16" taiwan rims..
power loss abit when picking up compare to 15"..
but if u drive a manual i think 17" still ok la..
my 2cents..

i still prefer ori 14" for my 1.6 auto. or else end up high of FC coz the load. unless light rim, i m not sure.:biggrin:

hehe thanks..most probably i stick with the 16..
bout the engine swappin i mention earlier..anybody cud help?
thanks!! :tee:

B8 gtx (180hp)..u will need to buy another 1 fwd gear box..pair of fwd knuckle, custom made drive shaft..inspection by puspakom..& jpj approvement..

thanks gabanz..by the way..there's another b8 rite? if i'm not wrong b8 gtr 210hp?? will it fit into lantis? or b8gtx is better?
thanks for the advise!
:wink:

both oso can fit... only diff between gtx n gtr is bigger alternator, bigger turbine, banana like manifold, different e.c.u. n wiring, bigger radiator n fan... all in all everything oso bigger la! haha.... and also dat difference of 30 hp... =p

Based on my experience, 'B8 BPT GTX (180hp)' is easy to maintain and easy to get it's standart spare parts compare to 'B8 BPD GTR (210hp)'.

(I transplaned B8 engine into my Ford Lynx year 1996 twice, 1st engine was B8 180hp & 2nd engine is B8 210hp).

I experienced a destruction of my IHI RHF6 (B8 210 turbo) compressor wheel (technical failure..)..the turbo itself cost more than RM1.5k.

Lucky for me 'Tong Turbo' help me to find the compressor wheel only (almost 1 month searching for it). If B8 180 turbo rosak..very easy to find & cheap..

So..go for easy maintenance engine..

see http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y25/gabanzgabanx/compressorwheel.jpg

waa...price diffrent nearly 1.3k???!!! but we can tune the gtx to more hp wan rite?? easier to maintain thts the good thing!! :rock: mind listin the pros and cons for both this engine? thanks..oh ya..gtx intercooler and gtr intehrcooler is placed diffrently rite?
i got this info from b6b8 site..
here..
HTML:
http://www.b6b8.org/portal/content.php?article.30
but dun realli understand wat it mean by 'intercooler next to gearbox mounted parallel to tyres'..
thanks loads to all!! :tee:

erm.. intercooler for gtx is directly under the airfilter... so its a side port... cannot be seen from outside.. whilst gtr comes with front mount but on the left side...

PedalToTheMetal said:
waa...price diffrent nearly 1.3k???!!! but we can tune the gtx to more hp wan rite?? easier to maintain thts the good thing!! :rock: mind listin the pros and cons for both this engine? thanks..oh ya..gtx intercooler and gtr intehrcooler is placed diffrently rite?
i got this info from b6b8 site..
here..
HTML:
http://www.b6b8.org/portal/content.php?article.30
but dun realli understand wat it mean by 'intercooler next to gearbox mounted parallel to tyres'..
thanks loads to all!! :tee:
BPT halfcut price just increased recently. last year still can manage to get rm2.5k to rm3k. BPD could cost up to rm5.5k to rm6k.
BPT(GTX) can tune to more hp?u mean can mod to have more hp? yup...but still hard to catch up with the BPD(GTR). If hv xtra cash, go for BPD. maintainence are almost similar for both but satisfaction will be more with BPD.Turbine very seldom kong.make sure u change the minyak itam regularly every 3000km.
Welcome to the club bro!

thanks for the reply guys!
hmm..gtx and gtr diff by 30 hp...alot tho.. :rolleyes:
i)can gtx intercooler be shifted to the front?
ii)anyone knoes which is a heavier engine? hehe..power to weight does matter too rite?
iii)210 hp does sounds better..but the parts are hard to find rite?accordin to gabanz..
iv)wow..change minyak hitam every 3000km?? so fast? i tot change around every 5000km? wat bout gtx?
thanks again!!
*sorry for askin so many questions ya..still learnin..hehe!

can... but not using the same intercooler la... try vr4 or vr4 rs or evo3... erm... weight dont matter dat much la bro... i'm a 100kg.. so if got diff in engine weight 1 or 2 kg can make up for my weight r? hahaa... yeah better to change every3000km or 3500km... and gotta top up engine oil every2 to 3 weeks... coz the gtx turbine, the one i was using last time eats up a lot... maybe my foot is just too heavy la... parts for 210 n 180 almost the same la.. if spoil oso sure same problem.. haha.. mostly gearbox n driveshaft... (my case dat is...)

PedalToTheMetal said:
thanks for the reply guys!
hmm..gtx and gtr diff by 30 hp...alot tho.. :rolleyes:
iii)210 hp does sounds better..but the parts are hard to find rite?accordin to gabanz..
iv)wow..change minyak hitam every 3000km?? so fast? i tot change around every 5000km? wat bout gtx?
thanks again!!
*sorry for askin so many questions ya..still learnin..hehe!

iii) Parts almost the same except for internals. but still can get.I know someone who can get it for u...price? surely more then the GTX. if VJ23 turbine kong, then that could be another reason to try a different turbine....hehehehe...anyway, vj23 turbine still can get. price ofcourse expensive...ball bearing maa....power wise...hmmm...gear 3, 4 & 5 blah gila at 1.2bar!

iv) depend on individual. I change mine every 3000km with semi-synthetic and mine is the GTX. I change my wife's lynx every 5000km with semi-synthetic. i know someone uses mobil 1 in his b6t change every 5000km-6000km.

oo..ic..thanks..
well..is it worth gettin the gtx?seems like its an old engine already rite?
ahha izzit possible to fit rx7 turbo in gtr or gtx?
juz wondering..cuz saw it in motor trader..hehe
oh ya..roughly how much is the installation cost?
installation price will be diff for the gtr and gtx?
ugh..seems like i got losta quesyion but suddenly ma mind's empty..
later broz!