2348.3km On a single tank

mu24

John Taylor made a new world record by driving 2348.3km on a single tank.

Here are some taylor's tips on how to save fuel.

Drive Light - Remove all unwanted items from the car. " I once removed 140kilos of unwanted stuff from my friends car! He immediatelly got more miles on his full tank," said Taylor.

Check tyre pressure at least once a week, two at a strecth - " You'd be amazed how muhc fuel you waste when your tyres are under-inflated. I normally go two Psi above the manufacturer's recommended level. That's still within tolerance.

Get to top gear soonest possible - "Get to top gear as quickly as possible without red-lining the car, keep the revs low and drive smoothly.
" Dont gun your engine you burn up 4 times more fuel when you gun your engine from a traffic light.
" Raching from a traffic light is the best way to vapourize all your fuel very quickly!"

Check your engine weekly - "A well tuned and maintained car does consume less fuel"

Service regularly - Take heed of the manufacturer service intervals, they're there for a reason.
" Service your car when its due, don't delay; delays will cost your more money and fuel. "

Drive at a constant speed - " You burn up a lot more fuel in stop-and-go traffic, so try to plan your route where there's less traffic lights. I would sooner drive 10km out of the way to avoid five traffic lights. becasue i actually use less fuel when i do so!

Good tips, anyway .. wat car? .. stock tank? .. we cant do in malaysia, fuel price increased already.

Below is my contribution:

Peugeot Australia is claiming a world record for the longest distance driven on a single tank of fuel.

http://img.drive.com.au/drive_images/Editorial/2002/08/14/14fuelrun.jpg

The 2348.3km record was set in what Peugeot says is a showroom-stock 406 Turbo Diesel sedan, driven by renowned light-foot and multi record holder John Taylor (pictured).

The car was driven from Melbourne to Rockhampton on its 70-litre tank of diesel.

The record has been recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records and translates to an average consumption of 2.88 litres per 100km – nearly 100 miles per gallon (97.96mpg).

Taylor set off from the Melbourne suburb of Hillside, with wife Helen and a Guinness Book of World Records observer onboard.

The trip to Rockhampton took 36 hours and the average speed was 65kmh.

There was still 2.31 litres in the tank at Rockhampton, and all-up fuel cost was $52.13.

The previous record on a single tank of fuel was 2153.4km, set in 1992 by Audi in the UK.

Below is another detailed additional article :)

This month another fuel economy record tumbled in Australia but – in a country that buys the biggest cars it can afford because fuel is among the world's cheapest – will anyone care?

The world's car makers are vying to be the first with zero-pollution fuel-cell vehicles. Honda and Toyota are trying to interest indifferent Australian motorists in their petrol-electric "hybrid" vehicles. And Peugeot is trumpeting a world record for the longest distance travelled by a production car on a single tank of fuel, achieved with a diesel Peugeot 406 sedan.

On its 70-litre tank, it covered 2348.3km between Melbourne and Rockhampton, using 2.88L/100km and averaging 65kmh in 36 hours of travelling time.

Last year Hans Tholstrup covered 1710km on the 40-litre tank of a Honda Insight, travelling from Brisbane to Melbourne, averaging 56kmh and using 2.2L/100km. That journey took three and a half days.

The Peugeot not only went faster and further in a shorter time, it also had more people on board.

Driver John Taylor, holder of numerous Guinness long-distance driving records here and in Europe, had two passengers (his wife, Helen, and an official observer) and their luggage.

Tholstrup had two bananas and a water bottle. He had turned off the air-conditioning – and jettisoned three of the four cloths he was using to mop his brow.

Peugeot is coy about Taylor's techniques but the driver says: "In all honesty, we set the record in a fashion that most Australians would be completely familiar with, when they take their annual holidays ..."

He took the Hume Highway to Seymour, Newell Highway to Goondiwindi, Gore Highway to Toowoomba,and Burnett Highway to Rockhampton.

Further gladdening those sections of the community pushing for greener cars, the Peugeot journey coincided with the announcement that the NSW Government had ordered 200 Toyota Prius sedans, the world's second largest order for hybrid vehicles. (New York City placed the largest Prius order, for 300.)

The Greener Motoring campaign by the Australasian Fleet Managers' Association aims to cut the fuel consumption of participating fleets by up to 15 percent by June next year.

But, the association says, the push to reduce exhaust emissions would benefit from wider availability of liquefied petroleum gas (LPG).

Driving your dollar further
Peugeot
Melbourne to Rockhampton – 2348km
Av speed – 65kmh
Fuel consumption – 2.88L/100km

Honda
Brisbane to Melbourne – 1710km
Av speed – 56kmh
Fuel consumption – 2.2L/100km

Whats the difference if the fuel tank is big, modify kancil, back seat remove and put one big tank behind, from JB to kelantan 4 laps also can.

Also use Surbo + Microcompressor + fuel pills.

i think its stock ler... if it is modify guiness world record wont recognize it :)

This guys feat is basically due to the constant speed he's driving thruout the 2300++KM. He basically avoided all traffic and traffic lights so that he don't have to start stop. While i believe his feat is probably applicable in outback countries with some country roads, its definitely impossible at malaysia. I cannot find a road in Malaysia long enough to be empty for you to drive mostly alone and constantly at the same speed. Had he done that in Malaysia, the most he can go is only about 900++KM per tank.

Whatever that is his current achievement of 2300++KM really puts my 1.6liter car to shame while only doing 450+KM per tank.

my car have 55 lit tank and can only do 480KM max. Time to change to Peugeot? :D

2300KM+ is almost half way for engine regular service! Imagine you were only pump petrol twice for each engine oil service interval.

sakuraguy said:
Good tips, anyway .. wat car? .. stock tank? .. we cant do in malaysia, fuel price increased already.

Below is my contribution:

Peugeot Australia is claiming a world record for the longest distance driven on a single tank of fuel.

http://img.drive.com.au/drive_images/Editorial/2002/08/14/14fuelrun.jpg

The 2348.3km record was set in what Peugeot says is a showroom-stock 406 Turbo Diesel sedan, driven by renowned light-foot and multi record holder John Taylor (pictured).

The car was driven from Melbourne to Rockhampton on its 70-litre tank of diesel.

The record has been recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records and translates to an average consumption of 2.88 litres per 100km – nearly 100 miles per gallon (97.96mpg).

Taylor set off from the Melbourne suburb of Hillside, with wife Helen and a Guinness Book of World Records observer onboard.

The trip to Rockhampton took 36 hours and the average speed was 65kmh.

There was still 2.31 litres in the tank at Rockhampton, and all-up fuel cost was $52.13.

The previous record on a single tank of fuel was 2153.4km, set in 1992 by Audi in the UK.

Oh wow....hmmm its say there tht his fuel reach Rockhampton 2.31 litres and fuel it up full tank is $52.13. hmmm convert tht to our money how much will tht be. Im living in Sarawak and from Kuching to Miri is 1200KM and one way only cost me RM140 sharp on petrol no diesel. Average speed is like 100 and max is 170.

Anyway im using Proton Iswara Aeroback with medium mod to travel. Tht guy use diesel and of course the fuel price is not tht expensive rather thn petrol. this only my opinion.

Fellas. You people forgot one important fact. He is driving a diesel. No petrol car can match a diesel in economy. So the Kancil comparos are inaccurate. If he had driven a petrol car, he'll never have come anywhere near that mark.

Prodigy, Clarkson once did 800 miles (calculate yourself if you want it in kilometres) in an Audi A8 with a stonking great twin turbo V8 diesel, in varrying traffic conditions, traffic jams, contraflow, traffic lights, uphill, you name it.

65km/h ... my GAWD !!!!! die of boredom !!! hahahahah

My stock standard Putra (m). with 50lit tank can
simply touch
510km normal road 60% highway 30%
560km highway 60% normal road 40%

my 4G91 can get 12.1km per liter in urban drive..... that's max can go.

50liter can get around 600km in urban drive.. if highway, sure will break this number :D

si|verfish said:
Fellas. You people forgot one important fact. He is driving a diesel. No petrol car can match a diesel in economy. So the Kancil comparos are inaccurate. If he had driven a petrol car, he'll never have come anywhere near that mark.

Prodigy, Clarkson once did 800 miles (calculate yourself if you want it in kilometres) in an Audi A8 with a stonking great twin turbo V8 diesel, in varrying traffic conditions, traffic jams, contraflow, traffic lights, uphill, you name it.

correct aboslutely...a diesel will always give better fuel consupmtion than a petrol...Alpina D3 Based on the BMW320d, the D3 has a new turbo and musters 200bhp and 295lb ft whilst returning a combined figure of 49mpg.

i remember an article on a petrol Daihatsu doing 100MPG, but it was not done on street, just driving round the skidpad and average speed of 20kph ie almost idling engine speed!

It's also depending on the type of tyre use. If not mistaken, this guy Taylor uses Bridgestone - the newest set of tyre claims to be reducing fuel consumption.

boyzone said:
my 4G91 can get 12.1km per liter in urban drive..... that's max can go.

50liter can get around 600km in urban drive.. if highway, sure will break this number :D
eh... so good ka? aijoh.. i wanna taruk 4g91 liao.

In a way, that car can't be called stock. Only the engine is. Since he removed many stuff inside the car. Hell, if anyone were to take all of the stuff out and just leave a car shell, chassis and engine. Damn well can drive far like that. But i believe that guy is damn cow smart.

He must have the engines technical specs. Must have found the optimum engine operating spec matched with engine weight to get 56km/h. Damn smart. He probably modified the air filter. Found some nice low resistance tires for green cars. Damn smart. In a way its not talking about how far he could go on a single tank. It is how well he planned out everything to achieve it. Kudos to him.