Kookaburra said:Horsepower is not everything, although they do sell cars! Put an M3 on track against a Hartge 3 series with more horsepower and the M3 will probably still be faster. A modded car doesn't have many stuff available in the M like the brakes, suspension, differentials and weight balance.
On the open road, the Hartge may be faster but anyone with balls can drive fast on a straight public road.
I think M division should continue with their philosophy of building driver's oriented cars, it's what makes them special! Over the years, they have lost the plot slightly as they want to sell cars. The original E30 M3 and the M1 are street-legal race cars!
Lastly, there is nothing like driving a manual car. I have fun every time driving my Mk2 Golf with a small puny 1.8 engine :regular_smile:
Sorry, I don't think the E46 M3 has a chance against the E90 Hartge V10 3 series. I've driven the E90 and the chassis etc is a lot better than the E46. E46 M3 brakes sucks pretty bad and can't even cope to handle it's stock form. That's why a lot of people change the M3's brakes and suspension for track use. It's good but not enough.
Hartge would'nt just throw a V10 engine and then not mod the chassis or suspesion, brakes etc. Hartge did this to show BMW that they are really slow. BMW's new upcoming V8 M3 is only going to have 400hp. The E46 already has 343hp. Even a slightly supercharged E46 M3 @ 5psi would have 420hp and torque that would match or surpass the new V8. Sorry but.. I rather spend money on a 330 and mod that. Even if I pay less, I will have a better car than the M3.
When I heard BMW was only coming up with 400hp for the M3 i was pretty disapointed. Holdens and Fords over hear are already surpassing the 400hp mark and cost half or 1/3 of the price. In power sense it's pretty disapointing. BMW would have to improve the handling drastically inorder to compensate. And with all this new technology coming up like the active steering etc. Not many people are impressed.
BMW's M division should be doing what AMG are doing. Look at the SL65 AMG with 603hp and 1000Nm. See ya later M6. Look at the M6. With so much hype especially stating that it's the 'ultimate ultimate driving machine' hauhuahauh I was laughing. Understated looks that look like a pussy cat compared to the AMGs. It could've been much better especially when they stated that the chassis is better than the M5. So why don't they put more power into the engine? $300,000AUD+ rather buy the 997 Porsche Turbo or the SL55 AMG.
And where do you drive most of the time? The track or road? Not everyone can be a race star... most people are happy with flooring the pedal with all that torque behind you. hehe.
But you are right about the E30 M3(200-240hp). Some still say it's the best M3 yet.
And oh yeah.. don't get me wrong.. I like BMW's... it's just that they know they can make power figures like AMG but they don't. Many cars on the road these days can knock off a stock E46 M3 with 1/6 of the price. I just hope they don't loose the plot. They're lucky that theres so many BMW aftermarket tuner's out there boosting about with their cars.. anyone who's played with the BMW's engine would know how capable it is. Jap engine's can't compare to the reliability, strength, engineering, etc. of the BMW engines.
BTW... Alpina's Supercharged 545i steptronic got rated better than the new V10 M5 in all areas in BMW CAR mag. It had 500bhp and 700+Nm and better looks too.. It's a shame.... the aftermarket tuner's are depreciating the M division.
C'MON BMW!!!!
jugbugz, I like your comments. Proves you are not another insane BMW fanboy nut.

Kantoi!!