4a-fe

elvin_teoh

hi all, i m a newbie here, wonder how many series of 4A-FE engines r there??mine juz only 16V 1.6L engine FF type(AE101).... is there anything dat can i modified it to 20V 1.6L engine ???

bro,

i also using 4AFE....for tis engine, not much can be done to get extra boostlah...most is also install 4-1 header, open pod filter, racing cam ( 4AFE ONLY ONE CAM, NOT LIKE 4AGE 2 CAMS).......i dun know whether e-manage can fit or notloh...:_: .....usually noobs like me just go for sports air filter, exhaust pipe change (i am using AE92 GT LEVIN ori pipe), some cheapo grounding wires.....the most also extra 5-10 hp onlylah....by the way, our m'sia 4afe can only produce 115hp at 6k rpm, and 142Nm at 4800rpm.....if wan power, go for 4AGE ST/BT......I dun think it is possible to make it 2 liter...

the one i am driving is corolla AE111 sedan 4a-fe..quite ok la..but still eager to get a black top

i afraid dat is not my engine....dat is 4A-FE 20V engine
mine jus 4A-FE 16V engine with 135 HP

elvin_teoh said:
i afraid dat is not my engine....dat is 4A-FE 20V engine
mine jus 4A-FE 16V engine with 135 HP
4afe never have any "20v" version. only 4age does. 4afe 135hp? you mod it already ar?

4afe are proven to be able to be able to push over 250hp@10,000rpm, but you'll need to custom made very bit of the internal, run sequencial fuel injection with a motec ecu, dry sump oil system, and probably racing fuel.

Wan power? Just add turbo. Me also driving 4AFE. Engine still healthy. So no plan to convert yet. Cheers..

haha..
here 4afe user also..
erm..1st of all..don bother about power n not power 1st..
for me every engine sure has their good and bad..
4afe is an engine generally for family used cuz it quite save fuel and it only has custom piston,not like 4age sports 1..
if u rev it too often or over de limit,engine oil will spread and u are ready to say bye bye to this engine..hahaha..
elvin teoh..ur 4afe with 135 hp??- -
M'sia version i think it's about 102-105hp only(manual)..
u said u want to fit to 20V 1.6L?yet if u want power go for BT or SVT..
BT can give u +-160bhp if u swap in to ur ae101..svt may less..but i think is enough for ur satisfaction..wan more power..go for 1jz or 3s gte..or gt4..
but got to change mounting and ur whole car fron and back ratio will totally affect..

just manage what you can la~

proper tunings and proper oils and proper care...~

t4kak0 said:
more power..go for 1jz or 3s gte..or gt4..

you won't find a 1jz that will fit into an ae101 legally..

3sgte is nice, but sit in one before in a corolla, abit front heavy and kinda scarry, but power just nice (stock condition, no need rev kau kau to get power). nice for striaght road sprinting, not so sure about cornering.

gt4 as in convert it to 4wd, yalar same, cuz the one i sit in is converted to celica gt4 drive train liau..

i juz tuned up my engine, n using syntetic oil+ sport type spark plug only...make it more power
anyway, is a car technician who help me

erm..elvin_teoh bro ..wat i gotta advice u is don think watever expensive thing such as fully syntetic oil lar,sport plug and big air flow air filter will help u increase ur power..sometimes will even worst..don angry yea bro elvin_teoh..just my 2 cents n base on my opinion..use back the engine oil that totally suitable and match ur engine..4a-fe i think use half syntetic or normal one will do..about the plug maybe wil increase ur hp but do u count the ratio of firing b4 change it?It's better u go for dyno tune ur engine rather then chaging all these costly stuff..

rollakid,haha..
yea i noe impossible for 1jz but got $$ apa pun boleh buat ..
eh,my car last sunday explode d..=( but just fron part lar..engine all gone..
now waiting de insurans ..now thinking of swap in BT or gze..2day i went to a wrkshop saw 1 BT non supercharged damn nice ! de previous driver maintainance damn good ! n oni run bout 9000km..quite worth..prize bout RM2700..but ..i prefer supercharged 1..any opinion ka?hehe..3s gte or gt4 yes..i agree..de front head wil be too damn heavy for ae101..or any opinion for svt ?heard tat not bad but if compare to bt stil owe a bit ..bt non supercharged hp is around 160 right if i not mistaken..hehe..
but useless la now..got to wait insurans only decide ..shit ! :(

bro, u must understand. yes, money can make thng possible but do u know how much money you're talking here? not to mention time and hassle to fit in 1J engine into it. Have u notice the engine mounting way was SOOOO much different? how about cutting firewall, extend dashboard sounds to u?

if you're looking at just change engine oil, plugs will gets u INSTANT power thn you're big wrong wrong. good engine oil give you return in long run, we r talking about reliability here.