Acoustic

Hi guys, just to clarify things

terms / names obtained from haynes manual

Everyone's favorite AE86 by takumi is a "LIFTBACK"

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/ae86trd.jpg

There is a popular cousin, which is the "coupe"

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/sae86c.jpg
Notice their tail and rear windscreen is very different.

Since either of these two will be everyone's favorite hence they are automatically assumed as winnders and will not be voted.

Everyone knows that, but lets talk about it's elder brother the KE70 family.

The common 4 doors version is officially called "SALOON" and not sedan

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/ske70.jpg
And the bigger cargo unit called "ESTATE" and not wagon.

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/ste70w.jpg
Now there has been quite a few 2 doors version, and the most seen on west malaysia is the "LIFTBACK" thought to be TE72, but in reality has all kinds of code and I'm so confused, so I'll refer to it's original name "LIFTBACK" of the 70s

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/ste72ll.jpg

Another confusing version is the 71 series, designed by TE71 if it had a 2T or 3T engine, or AE71 if it had a 4A or 3A engine.

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/sae70s.jpg
Notice the rear window is much smaller than the 72 series and that the rear wind screen closes like AE86 liftback without the small section

Finally one of our sifu's all time favoritre AE70 in Kuching Sarawak, because it came with 3A carburetor hence AE and not TE.

2 doors SALOON is it's official name

http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/4883/rwdcorolla_files/ste72hl.jpg

So, let vote, which is your faavorite? and why?

Mine is TE71, because it's "supposed to be" cheap and can modify the front like AE86 trueno so I can own a AE86 wannabe :) hahahahaha

seriously, aerodynamics is very important and 71 series tail is like 86 liftback tail and has very little turbulence :)

Although important the front aerodynamics will affect, but many neglect the rear, which are more important than the front in actuality. Why?

fish has small tail compared to big heads - like sharks and dolphins and boy they are fast

jumbo jets also have small tails and they've had small tails since WW I

F1 is starting to make their tail like fish

superbikes aim their exhaust straight and not sky high to minimise rear turbulence, which cuases vacuum, which sucks them back and make them slower.

jet fighers are the only exception for un-confirmed reasons which I suspect the invincible heat / flame is the small tail.....

i.e. subwoofer port which is 4 inches will produce frequency at a calculated frequency of around 4.3 inches..... there is a invincible port.

Flare port does not have the invincible length.

OK, enough with mumbling, lets vote :)

Feel free to describe what you'll do with the car :)

TE71 coupe... saw one in the past 3 hours. also saw a lift back, and a hardtop... still prefer the coupe. dun play play.. rim same as mine, but gold color one.. dunno where he got it >_<

if i got hold of a TE71 ar... i probably stop planing to mod my KE70 liau.. keep it stock (except the handling, need new suspension) for old time memory lolz..

probably a ke70 as well.... :D got one oso...so have to like it...if not, she'll merajuk... :lol: :lol:

TE71 coupe coz it looks kewl and it's cheap... A pal of mine bought his for only RM2500~!!!

More $$$ leftover to mod and play around... :D

Originally posted by e39a@Mar 28 2005, 19:25
probably a ke70 as well.... :D got one oso...so have to like it...if not, she'll merajuk... :lol: :lol:
[snapback]847975[/snapback]​

your current ke70 fix nicely make a good daily driver mah... then won't merajuk liau... get others strip down to the ground make a track car lol...

b4 this, i owes think tht the TE72 liftback, but now think TE71 better liao

quite similar to 86....if change front to 86 sure cun! B) B)

I'll go for KE70 Sedan....because I have one...and now doing it :) hehehehe :)

Mivec's car is a MONSTER....i saw it edi....i damn jeles la... :lol: :lol:

ahahahaha

kena found out ......... this time I see MIVEC's car have to drive slow slow and hide from him else I'll become a vvictim ..... :)

Slim back for aerodynamics? Just a little i guess. Unless the car is designed like supercar, where the front is low slung. Best aero package is from the F1 cars and also those solar teardrop shape cars. Those are the best.

I vote for TE71 too. But come to think of it chin, my TE47 is also slim back. Not lift back but with a tiny boot door. The glass doesn't lift up. I think mine is a coupe but designed like a liftback. I dunno la.

But think of it TE71 very very close to AE86. :huh:

About the sedan and saloon term, i think this is a UK, US & Japan marketing thing. Remember haynes manual is from UK, i have seen australia ones too.

No matter what, i'll stick to my TE47 at the moment. :)

1st. TE71
2nd.hardtop
3rd.saloon

btw... theres one TE71 pending project is for sale.has 3tgte inside.the pending project is to fix AE92 front bodypart instead of standard.owner willing to sell at RM7000.need money to corona project.

Hey is that the white TE-71 with 3T-GTE we saw last year? For sale ah? 3T-GTE i remember he bought for RM7K also!!! I wan engine & gearbox only can ah? hehehe.

Originally posted by e39a@Mar 31 2005, 11:28
Mivec's car is a MONSTER....i saw it edi....i damn jeles la... :lol: :lol:
[snapback]856369[/snapback]​

Wah!!! e39a where got monster lar...I think yours is lar...you know I know lar :) :D :D
so when start arrr?

Acoustic,

Wah!!! no need to like that arrr...your car sure tarpua me one...because I just overhaul
my 4K engine only :D :D :D :D :D ;)

Just as an aside, AE71's aren't always coupes, and I would assume neither are TE71's. We have AE71's here in Australia, they came with 4A-C's (1.6L SOHC carby). But we only got the 4 door sedan, which looks identical to the KE70 except with the newer "sloping" rectangular headlights (like the ones on that coupe)

Yeah demuire, sometimes, i think toyota just makes use of the engines available in that country and bolt it in the body they imported. Well i think we will never have the whole story on how toyota manages the models for every market.

But look now at their IMV format, its easy to understand. 1 platform, many body styles and 1 engine with different displacements. I think it started even longer than that since i heard of Altis using Altezza platform.

But i think its a crazy debate. What is right in Malaysia might e worng in Aussie land and vice versa. :(