AE111 20v black top engine pinging!

stormlcc

Please help, my gf's 20v black top engine got pinging when pick up. almost everytime i press the throttle more than 50% it starts to ping. I've tried adjusting the timing and it got much better but after i drive/rev for 6-7 times it starts to ping again. Already changed black oil and don't know what should i do with it, it's a bit hard to diagnose, pls give me your opinions if u've experienced this problem before, thank you very much!

bro i am having the same problem but not as serious as you but ghaven adjust my timing yet but i think there is another part you should check, maybe it will work. check the knock sensor. this is my two sence, if wrong dont scold me. hehehe

ok, will check it....thanks for the suggestion

if knock sensor got problem ur "check engine" warning lamp will on...
for this case, it's possible the fuel system, try to change fuel filter or injector...
if same thing happen, maybe is the oil pump...
it's OIL PUMP, not FUEL PUMP...

if knock sensor got problem ur "check engine" warning lamp will on...
for this case, it's possible the fuel system, try to change fuel filter or injector...
if same thing happen, maybe is the oil pump...
it's OIL PUMP, not FUEL PUMP...

ok, will try it out, thanks man

From what I know, knocking / pinging is usually related to distributor timing which could be set too high. Also related to the type of fuel you're using. I personally experience more knocking when using Petronas as compared to Shell. It usually happens when VVT is activated (more timing advance) at around 2000-3000rpm.

Basically, its more related to ignition timing and fuel system. Not too sure how oil press could related to knocking but maybe better oil press could result in better cooling, which might reduce the knocking. ~ Just some info

From what I know, knocking / pinging is usually related to distributor timing which could be set too high. Also related to the type of fuel you're using. I personally experience more knocking when using Petronas as compared to Shell. It usually happens when VVT is activated (more timing advance) at around 2000-3000rpm.

Basically, its more related to ignition timing and fuel system. Not too sure how oil press could related to knocking but maybe better oil press could result in better cooling, which might reduce the knocking. ~ Just some info

already tried to adjust the timing, after adjusting, there's no more pinging for a while, and after a few runs (around 5-6 times) around a stretch of road revving between 6-7k rpm, the pinging is back again........

and yes u r right about the rpm, it starts pinging around 2k - 3k rpm

hmm than this means BT engine will knock what ever you do?????
mine very funny after reset ECU dont have knock after REV one round than the knock getting back and will go worse when time pass.
any sifu that can tell us why this happen???

hard to say...

have to check on by one...to narrow down the possibilities...

yes like chinozie said...
just suggesting...
check ur distributor...cap got leak???
What i've done before was changed my distributor, cable plug, changed to new fuel filter, plug using ik20, upgrade fuel pipe to 8mm, injector cleaning, bigger fuel pump(using nissan/evo/b8/1jz), and using adj fuel regulator. Reset the ECU back n set back ur imming..
This can solve about 80% my pingging problems...
After awhile there's still got pingging but its just sometime...it apear if im drive my car wif air con ON and normal driving...if OFF the air cond and whack...no pingging

correct me if im wrong...:wavey:

Just checking, do you guys short pins TE1 and E1 when adjusting the timing? According to Toyota spec, AE111 BT's timing is 10 ± 2º BTDC @ idle, with TE1 and E1 connected. This is for Japan spec petrol RON100. If using RON97, i think timing preferably set 10º BTDC or worst 8º BTDC to prevent knocking. With RON95 coming out soon, I guess timing had to be backed up even more... :slug:

I also noticing knocking when AC turned on. Any idea why is this happening???

seems like we are all having the same problem, mine i had a big ass merc fuel pump but fuel regulator still stock and others like plug cable, etc all stock.
when i drive with my aircond on the knock get worse some times worse till it happens on second gear. if without aircond is way way better but still sometimes it have it (during high revs), but i think mine timing is too high if what pcmoddingmy says is correct.
have to get my eng timing retune.
anyone have any other better idea what is going on?????
headache:banghead:

Just for update... I found that after setting the ignition map via Emanage Blue, engine pinging is no longer noticeable. What I did was set the ignition values to -15 all the way from 1000-8000rpm. I could exactly feel the power drop and the car became flat.... but since my engine is still running-in (just after overhaul), I think it would be safer to have less power than more pinging. After proper run-in, will have to retune everything.

i also facing this pro last time..after i changed bigger fuel pump and tuned the FPR (n timing also) at dyno shop, its gone. but in aircon ON still have a bit. for me its ok now.

i also have this kind of experience, but after install the exhaust temp sensor, the problem solved completely...

the sensor is located at the catalytic converter which most of hc shop will cut, it is location juz under the shifter... not easy to find, but if u can get it then considered lucky lor.. tomorrow i will do some exhaust work, will take some pics by then to share..

well in my case if air-con on there r much more pinging during low revs, when it's off then it's only minor

scottwrx
i have a question for you, previously do your engine run without the sensor???
yah recently one of my friend told me that, cause is a feed back. i have it, have to find one day to install it but mine wire is too short have to find a way to extend it but i dont wish to cut the wire do anyone of you all have any idea??? or where can i get the socket????

i was driving without the exhaust temp sensor for a while, then found the sensor..
the socket is already available under the gear lever.. i only drill a hole on the side and connect, the do one bracket on the piping to secure only,

scottwrx, are you referring to the exhaust temp sensor which displays temp on the AE111 meter cluster? Mind sharing a picture or two of the socket and wiring? I think I saw an unused socket near the gear/handbrake lever too...

thats the one lor... forgot to take out for pics... coming soon.. hehehe...