AE111 Transplant Info

so wat are the prices for ST + installation, BT + installation and SC + installation??

I also wanna change engine d... engine need to overhaul rather change it

Thanks for the info Schomatic. I read online, is that one is electronic, and the other is mechanical.

I don't understand what you meant by 5 speed and 6 speed. Is it the different gear box on the BlackTop?

By the way, I plan to use the car daily, and not for racing. The main reason for changing the engine is because the old engine is not fuel efficient (RM60 for 350km,70% highway), and no power.

yeah different gear..
5 speed.. normal lor.. most manual car nowdays also 5 speed manual..
6 speed.. got one last extra gear to engage to lor. which is the number 6 gear lor..
BT got 5 speed manual and 6 speed manual variant

if ur main purpose for daily use than ST would be highly recommended.

Nobody wanna provide prices of the engine + installation r?

ylkien said:
Thanks for the info Schomatic. I read online, is that one is electronic, and the other is mechanical.

I don't understand what you meant by 5 speed and 6 speed. Is it the different gear box on the BlackTop?

By the way, I plan to use the car daily, and not for racing. The main reason for changing the engine is because the old engine is not fuel efficient (RM60 for 350km,70% highway), and no power.

Hello bro, if you ar looking for a fuel efficient engine, I think the 20V is not your choise. I think there's no different between 20V and your current engine fuel consumption, or even worse for 20V. Maybe 4AGE 16V or 4AFE is more suitable for you or maybe it's better you change a new car.

I heard from my fren tat 20V on highway more fuel efficient but in city not fuel efficient.

Issit true?

Ahchi,
Why do you say ST is better than BT for daily driving? I travel 70% highway daily.

mu24,
i think also feel that this engine will be more fuel efficient on highways compared to city driving. Like a turbo engine is more efficient on highways, compared to N/A.

I would like to check out the difference between ST & BT. Can someone provide the engine code for SilverTop and BlackTop? 4A-GExx...?

ylkien..I think U better read the FAQs at www.club4ag.com . The website should provide u with all the basic information. If u need more help on technical or hands on or daily experience with 20V engines, I sure most of the bros here would help.

Btw. Just to enlighten u,

AE101 20 V - SIlvertop
AE111 20 V- Blacktop

Those are the codes.

Cheers! :)

Thanks.

Got this extra info from the website :

The 20-Valve 4AGE replaced the 4AGZE Supercharged engines. Just like the early and late 16 Valve 4Ges, they also underwent revisions. The Silver Top was introduced in the Corolla AE101 (1992), and the Black Top in the Corolla AE111 (1997). Both engines used Toyota’s version of Variable cam timing- VVT.

very intresting subject ylkien. I am also very keen of changing my old 4AFE but not sure to take ST or BT. Whats the avg price of the half cuts now? does it include fuel pump and rear brakes/arms..etc??
my 92 4AFE is consuming like a 20V already at 350KM per 40liter tank.

Got budget go for BT. If u want pickup and better fuel comsumption go for 4age Ae92 16v Non TVIS. Never go for SVT. But the choice is ur. hehehe

hi bro tctho

y u said dun go for SVT ler....any bad experience u had b4...

share with us a little bit..

1do11ar,
Estimate price is stated on the first post. RM2.5k for SilverTop, and RM3.3k for BlackTop. I ask the shop whether they include the disc brakes, fuel tank, or any extra stuff, and they said no :cry_smile: But rear disc brake with suspension is ~RM400. My car is also suffering from bad fuel consumption like your car. Toyota not that fuel efficient.

It is quite clear that BT is a newer engine, and suits AE111. Anyone is using SilverTop, which can share a bit, for AE101 owners?

Can someone confirm that the BlackTop sold in Malaysia has 4 throttle bodies ( http://www.users.bigpond.com/vidore/toyota_4age_engine.htm)

More info about TVIS, as mention by tctho

Hey...U want discbrake?
I got leh..Me got extra after transplant. U want?
Cheap cheap!

Plus..My place in kepong got plenty of BTs.

KHWONG said:
hi bro tctho

y u said dun go for SVT ler....any bad experience u had b4...

share with us a little bit..

ECU got problem and tappet sound like diesal engine.

conflict_tuning said:
alorr friendss...go for blackie laaa...i already used it for 9 years..juz 1 years back the engine got idling problem...else no problem...every day hantam kaw2...8k rpm...some friends from se.g club say me org gila...don't know how to drive slow...huhuhu...running on 160kmh drop to 3rd gear when haram racing one...no problem at all...very robust and very durable engine...and the engine can tahan until 400hp(brani or not to tune and $$$)...

go blackie..blackie..

ermm... bro, conflict_tuning, the blackie got 8 year already me? I wondering the AE111 blacktop is release on starting year of 2000 or end of year 1999. If 7 year already, ur blackie sure very expensive lor...

ylkien said:

ermm.. no for racing, u can use the 5 speed BT lor....

mu24 said:
so wat are the prices for ST + installation, BT + installation and SC + installation??

I also wanna change engine d... engine need to overhaul rather change it

ST + Installation = around RM3500
BT (5 Speed) + Installation & SC + Installation = around RM 4500
BT (6 Speed) + Installation = around RM6000