AE92 meter problem wif 20V SVT

ae101svt

Asking this question for a fren of mine.

all expert sifus here, my fren hav transplanted his AE92 wif 20V SVT but the problem is he can't use back the 92 ori mter nor AE92 GT meter (long meter) cos both of them r using the 'mechanical' cable to interface wif the speedo meter while the SVT is using electronic signal for the speedo meter....

he really need the speedo & odo meter to be function... sifu sifu really need ur advice here to cheers him up....TQ TQ & TQ.

bro...

so far my car can use the original meter..now already change to ae92 gt meter..if not mistaken,u can use long meter cable put from the gearbox to the meter..my car use..how can ur frens car cannot use.haiya pening ahh.me also use svt..since transplan until now me still using the cable.but already changesla.putus!

20V SVT uses electronic/electrical signal, where else ae92 use mechanical system by cable. u can fit in the svt 20v meter togather with dashboard or find ae101 wagon type meter.... looks like ee100 if not mistaken but use electronic signal

about 92gt, not sure what type of system (mech/elec)..

just find a way to make the cable work with the gearbox..should be no problem..leave this to mechanic,they should be creative enough to think

sifus, is tat means use back the 92's mechanical cable to interface the meter? then how bout the speed sensor wire tat connected to the SVT ECU ? cos according to TRIAL we can't used back the mechanical cable else no speed signal will be send to the ECU???.... really blur blur here....

Easy...........

Aiyorr.....i thought is what problems....easy mar friend, my car is ae92 fitting with 20v svt with AE92 GT long type meter running with cable type. My 20v svt gb no problems to match with my meter ler????? if u didn't throw ur old gb which running the cable type, take the counter " GEAR SET " at the gb there and plug it into the 20v svt there, cos 20v is running wiring type. done lar..... the speed signal will be sending to ecu if u did connect them from meter to ECU!!!!....

SPeed signal will only applicable if you run ae101 meter,if not,no speed signal to ecu since the signal is from the meter itself,purple color wire at the back of the meter socket,i dunno about other electronic meter from other toyota model can have the same speed output signal..so,better stick to the same model to avoid mistakes unless youre pretty sure the output is the same...

ae101svt,got double check, no need using the ae101 meter for sending the speed signal to ecu, ae92 also got lar......

trd_ae92 said:
ae101svt,got double check, no need using the ae101 meter for sending the speed signal to ecu, ae92 also got lar......

mine...use AE82 meter at engine ae101 svt...got no prob wattttttt...hehehe....everything function at meter....

Tq all expert sifus here for ur golden info, but as told by my fren AE92 meter is for carb so is there any output for speed signal send to SVT ECU?? if yes wat color of tat wire??? Tq Tq...

Cuscostrutbrace: U mean 20v meter or seg 101 meter? cos i'm using AE101 seg ori meter... but i wonder if no speed signal from meter to ECU then will it trigger the engine check light ON and without the speed sensor signal will 20V SVT VVT function?...ops...sorry for so many question here...

ae101svt said:
Tq all expert sifus here for ur golden info, but as told by my fren AE92 meter is for carb so is there any output for speed signal send to SVT ECU?? if yes wat color of tat wire??? Tq Tq...

Cuscostrutbrace: U mean 20v meter or seg 101 meter? cos i'm using AE101 seg ori meter... but i wonder if no speed signal from meter to ECU then will it trigger the engine check light ON and without the speed sensor signal will 20V SVT VVT function?...ops...sorry for so many question here...

a'a ler......gud Qstion....the engine check light ON and without the speed sensor signal will 20V SVT VVT function??????.....coz mine....check light is on.....on since transplant....past 3 years

Yes,of course your car can run for many many years even without the speed sensor signal to ecu,i also have run this before,no problem,but the rev cut is only at 7600,when connect the speed sensor signal,rev cut go to 8000rpm.Adelqmey have been using AE82 meter got no problem,everything function at meter,of course everything will function,only no speed signal to ecu,have the ecu will think the speed sensor damage,and go into 'safe mode'.If you got no error code if you did not connect the speed sensor,you will have someday,sooner or later,when drive above 140kmh.The sensor at gearbox will send signal to meter,to run the speedometer,and from the speedometer,a wire come out to send speed signal to ecu,if did not connect this wire,your speedo will still function.Only no speed signal to ecu

ae101svt;I'm refering to 20v svt meter,but i think seg101 is using electronic meter also right,so maybe u can check if theres speed signal wire from the meter.purple color if at 20v meter,but SEG meter i dunno...

cuscostrutbrace said:
Yes,of course your car can run for many many years even without the speed sensor signal to ecu,i also have run this before,no problem,but the rev cut is only at 7600,when connect the speed sensor signal,rev cut go to 8000rpm.Adelqmey have been using AE82 meter got no problem,everything function at meter,of course everything will function,only no speed signal to ecu,have the ecu will think the speed sensor damage,and go into 'safe mode'.If you got no error code if you did not connect the speed sensor,you will have someday,sooner or later,when drive above 140kmh.The sensor at gearbox will send signal to meter,to run the speedometer,and from the speedometer,a wire come out to send speed signal to ecu,if did not connect this wire,your speedo will still function.Only no speed signal to ecu

ae101svt;I'm refering to 20v svt meter,but i think seg101 is using electronic meter also right,so maybe u can check if theres speed signal wire from the meter.purple color if at 20v meter,but SEG meter i dunno...

Tq for ur info, i think my car run without the speed sensor signal to ECU cos my rev cut exactly at 7600rpm and my car sometimes when push hard will registered an error code 42 (VSS) and i noticed tat when checklight ON VVT disengaged. hmmm.... think need to change to 20V meter liao....TQ TQ.