amp for 2 JL 12W5

skccks

all the sifus here, i got 2 nos JL 12W5, any recommended amp?

pls advice.

assuming these are D4 (dual voice coil 4 ohm) models they can be wired down to 4 ohm (series/parallel) or 1 ohm (parallel/parallel)

so u need a sub amp that can give 500W bridged mono at 4ohm or a monoblock that can go down to 1 ohm and give around 500W also. your sub is rated at 250W each.

this sub is not DVC. it is single coil & double magnet. i just bought it from one of the forumer but have not test it becos dun have a amp to handle it. so zenn what is your comment on this subs?

besides that, orion 250hcca digital reference amp can handle this 2 subs. pls advice!

sorry la, my research in the JL audio website shows it as either dual 4 or dual 8 ohm sub. sure or not its svc...?

anyways, if it is svc, assuming both 4 ohm, u can wire them down to 2 ohm, so with the 250 hcca u will get around 400W bridged mono at 2 ohm, which is only 200W per sub. can la i guess, but i prefer more power....

thank you sifu! so is there any good amp u can recommend to me? my budget is below 1000 for 2nd hand stuff.

I have 1 slightly used Orion HCCA250G5, it's generation 5, latest edition, and the last edition,
The last batch of HCCA was made around 2003/04 or so.... and it's discontinued after Orion company sold to another company.
The amp was used by me (bought new) from March/April 2005, until October 05, and slightly used only. I don't boom.
1 thing is...it's slightly over your budget..... RM1.5k.
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=56583

PM me for details and test power if u want

400W @ 2ohm, if you're correct about the SVC 4ohm each, very powerful....rated at 12V

or 800W @ 1ohm........ can go competition if everything done well, assuming ur sub is as Zenn said, DVC 4ohm each

thank all the sifus! actually what is ur comment on to this sub (JL 12W5)? I more prefer SQ instead of SPL. now i am using stellar 5 channel amp. and i dont think this amp can handle. therefore i decide to buy another amp to hit this JL subs (2 nos) but my budget is below 1000. any good second amp please sms me ok? my mobile phone no. is 016-2373371.

thank you

anyone have a amp want to sell and meet my requirement & budget 1 pls sms me ok?

i decided to use the orion hcca 225 to run my 2 JL12W5. any advice or comment

i decide to use orion hcca 225 to run my 2 JL12W5 SVC 4Ohm sub. any advice /comment

:biggrin: ALFA LINEAR 1 ohm mono amplifier. Pure 1000Watts RMS. :rolleyes: 2nd hand. Using around 3 months. :wink: RM800

skccks said:
i decide to use orion hcca 225 to run my 2 JL12W5 SVC 4Ohm sub. any advice /comment

Orion HCCA 225 is a great amp but it's not enough power for your W5. :frown: This ampifier will blow 40 amp fuses if played too loud. I used this amp before that's why i know.. :biggrin:

:wink: How about Hifonics Titan TX1005D high end mono amplifier. :wink: Pure 1000Watts RMS (NEW IN BOX) Fully imported from united states!! RM 1600.00 You may check the spec in this website: www.maxxsonics.com/hifonics/