Any Air-Con Expert Here?

JacEK

Guys, hope you can help with your advise or comments if you happen to face similar problem like mine.

My car air-con functioning well in terms of the coldness. But the only thing i face is that it seems to produce strange sound from the engine bay whenever i turned on my air con. Sometimes the sound will goes off, but after a while, it will reoccuring.

Regardless how the sound sounds like (very hard for me to describe bout the sound), what will be the caused of it, if there's any sound occured from the engine bay if the air-con is on?

Will it be the compressor, air-con belt (which i dun think so), motor (just changed, but the sound still occur) or any other air-con parts which im not aware of?

I did sent to air-con shop before but they couldnt find the caused of it and keep losing my money sending to different shops. Some say it's the compressor, which will caused me RM600 to change. But if the compressor is damaged, my air-con will not be cold right? So, i dont think it's the compressor problem, netither the aor-con belt or motor as I changed it 3months ago. This is what they told me to change and will solve the problem, but after spending RM400++ for the belt and motor, the problem still there.

Really hope any of you can advise me as the sound really irritates me....

Thanks and for those who manage to give solution or any good shop to troubleshoot air-con problem, i really dun mind to buy you nice dinner....

TQ TQ

compressor can still function if u had a failed bearing...... thats where your sound came i guess.... im having the same problem as you ... i just recond the whole damm thing.. =)

bro renxun, thanks for ur reply.
so, i did faced the same prob and u recond the whole air-con system? wow, shud be damn costly....mind to share the damaged? :D

thats gud advise, how come none of the foreman check or mentioned anything bout the bearing. would have to check on that....

i also experience it before.the annoying sound always came out if i switch on the
a/c.after changing the bearing n servicing the a/c,kau tim .

i just recond the aircond pump only
....cost me less than 250.....because i have to drain all the gas and buy new oil for the compressor..... which cost me rm50 there at least... so meaning to say its less than rm200 to rebuild the compressor

i think it's the fan.

see if there's anything coming into direct physical conflict with the fan.

in front of Post Office, Gombak there got 1 shop specialist air-cond

u can try and the charges so reasonable and fair

its confirm the compressor's bearing. This can happened if :
1st - the compressor already old and bearing is wear and tear
2nd - during refill air-cond gas, some air cond shop they don't refill it with oil.
this cause the bearing will have to work hard and dry.
Why not you try and add in some compressor oil. Go aircond shop ask them to do this.
If still can't work, just live with it or change a new one. Recommend Denso brand.

but i heard many say denso compressor drains alot of engine power away.... well, no doubt the cooling effect is better la...

but wat to do ... if it come with denso original of course will have to live with it la...

jacEK ...u driving civic ? i have the same problem too ...its very annoying ...the sound like kru kru kruuuuuuuuu ...rite ? last time i sent to air con shop ..they said its bearing problem ...then i changed it ...still the same ...#$%@#$% ...then i asked others ...most of them saz da compressor got problem liao ...one of them saz confirm wo ...if the problem still there ..he saz wont ask me to pay ... he quoted me 400 bucks ..change recond compressor , gas refill and installation ...

until now i havent fixed it yet ...fed up cos cheated once ..just leave it ..

thanks all bros for your great advise. really appreciate that.

fixed it FINALLY last weekend. Bearing and compressor was ok but the sound appeared because of the 'dryness' on the compressor. The mechanic just added compressor oil and th sound was gone....well up to this morning ...it was still ok...hope this will last for very long time.

yup steviezach, own a civic. well, for RM400, the price is reasonable for recond compressor, gas refill and labour fee.

my personal advise for those who face this problem in future, dont simple change bearing or compressor.....as i've experience many con-man mechanic who asked me to change this and that...and finally, the problem was solve by adding compressor oil!!

add compressor oil only ? how much dat costs you ? if it's cheaper then worth trying ...i will go try also instead of changing the recond compressor ..

hmm compressor alone for rm600? i guest its a new unit rite?

belt and stuff for another rm400 is killing also...

add compressor oil only ? how much dat costs you ? if it's cheaper then worth trying ...i will go try also instead of changing the recond compressor ..

yes bro. the prob was solved by refilling compressor oil. not 100% solve as the sound still there but very minimal....can hardly hear.

refill fully syntetic compressor oil - RM12
gas - RM50