well actually u can la, but only in H mode la, driven in 4WD(H) around 100km/h plus plus in slim river, off-road of course... (anyhow you are not suppose to drive at that kinda high speed off-road anyways)
the plain reason being traveling at that speed in 4WD on tar roads puts alot of strain unto the hubs and excels, that way the hubs might give way easily cause the traction on the front and rear tires are quite high, where else in loose surface the traction is relatively low so strain is much less from surface to excels compared from drivetrain to excels. this gives the wheels some freeplay for it to spin spin so it doesn't suddenly put force unto/jerk the excels/hubs ma. then the gearing in it wont break lo.
hehe...
also because ours are part time 4WD so when we engage 4WD the drivetrain and gearbox locks fully and is controlled only by the engine's rev to spin the wheels where else the modern day 4WD system like in the SUV's these days are not fully lockable. They are electronically controlled locking system which most likely are ran by motor or hydraulics which could not perform its 4WD function as good as ours. Thats one plain reason why when people go hardcrore off-roading they still use gearbox like ours which is either a part-time 4WD or a full-time 4WD system and not electronically controlled.
a good way to know if u are on 4WD is that when you drive, try moving the car without accelerating, just release the clutch a lil on a uphill climb, you will notice your car will start to jerk. just do it for a short while to know wether your front wheels are actually still locking or not. don't keep doing that cause it would definately kill your 4WD system. this way i found out once when i tried the 4L drive on a slight slope, the car jerked wei, damn scary and it happened before when i was offroading also, i wasn't on a mud path and i was in 4L so the car when i was trying to move/slow down the car also jerk like that, but lucky it was still sand/mud/dirt terrain so the jerk was minimal but i can still feel it.
another time it happened was when i got stuck in a flood in KJ earlier this year(guess some of you know bout it). manage to get the car started again after the water subside then i engaged 4WD again cause was pulling a car out from the tunnel and to prevent wheel spin cause it was an steep slope. thought of engaging 4L so it would be an easier pull butthen when i tried playing with the clutch it jerked again. learned another thing from there also, never try playing with your clutch in 4L mode, just balance it abit then step on it liow, dont try to decelerate controlling the clutch cause it would definately jerk the whole system. then later i just moved into 4H and it did its job well also, manage to pull the flooded waja out of the tunnel too.
hehe, well... lumut got place for offroading also ka? got as fun as slim river anot? hill climbs combined with deep ravines and also river crossing, quite scary but fun la... for river crossing, if u have a snorkle it would definately be better. if i'm not mistaken the nissan club of KL did a trip there once to visit the orang asli village, but i usually go there for fun la. just to enjoy nature and sight seeing abit. can camp also, you can go to the MORE website and check the place out.
drive safe everyone... =)