Apexi RSM & 323f lantis.Info need!!!

Eddiev6..

Maybe install it in this weekend..Last week outstation.Bz sikit..
U use lantis also?Any mods..turbo/naV6?

before b6t, then b8t, now lantis v6 & telstar v6 with auto tranny....

dear all...

fixing rsm i think should similar to fix a attack meter cum speed meter. i done to my lantis before at sunway. take them almost 3 hours playing with the ecu. but at the end, they connect to the speedo meter. every thing is ok. RPM is accurate and speed also. Btw, i m using sard attack meter bought from zth member. even to speedo meter also is quite difficult to fix. Charge me 80 bucks. The only problem after is the indicator light for speedo going on and off. i check myself and found it bcoz of loose contact of socket, maybe bcoz of the work done. Till now, never a problem.

This what i got from web site astinagt.com about installing RSM.
-----------------------000------------------------------
This time, I found a much better time to wire it which I thought I'd share with you in case someone finds it useful one day.

The RSM needs 4 main wires , rpm, speed, ignition power and ground.

Power and ground are easy, Ive had a ignition triggered circuit setup for a long time to run various things.

The Apexi wiring guide says to splice the rpm and speed wires at the ecu and contains a manual with heaps and heaps of car's ecu pinouts. As per usual, the BA isnt mentioned and so with the last car I worked out the pinouts with the help of a mazda service center.

Anyone who has seen the ecu plugs knows this is an absolute pain in the ass!

This time I had the workshop manuals as a reference and worked out that the dash dials are a much better source of the rpm and speed signals. In the case of speed , it gets the pulse first, and then sends it on to the ecu.
The dials are also 100% easier to get to and work with.

What makes this even easier is that on the back of the dials is a plastic circuit board which is very well labelled and has screws inset.
Fantastic ! no cutting / splicing / soldering at all required. I just strip a bit of shielding off the RSM wires and use the screws as terminals to the circuit board. easy as pie and took like 10 minutes.

unfortunaly I didnt take photos although I meant to.

from memory the pinout of the dials is 2E is speed output ( to the ecu ). I think it was labelled 'SP+' on the circuit board. The RPM output was 2D I think. It was labelled something like 'P' maybe.

Either way, i connected my wires to the screws labelled 'OUT' behind the speed and rpm dials. Since the dash also has ignition triggered power, i used it to make install/uninstall easier. It came from screws connected to B+ and -

If any1 has a photo of the back of the dials cluster I can point out which I used.

So if ever u need a speed or rpm signal, use the dash, not the ecu

eakamal said:
This what i got from web site astinagt.com about installing RSM.
-----------------------000------------------------------
This time, I found a much better time to wire it which I thought I'd share with you in case someone finds it useful one day.

The RSM needs 4 main wires , rpm, speed, ignition power and ground.

Power and ground are easy, Ive had a ignition triggered circuit setup for a long time to run various things.

The Apexi wiring guide says to splice the rpm and speed wires at the ecu and contains a manual with heaps and heaps of car's ecu pinouts. As per usual, the BA isnt mentioned and so with the last car I worked out the pinouts with the help of a mazda service center.

Anyone who has seen the ecu plugs knows this is an absolute pain in the ass!

This time I had the workshop manuals as a reference and worked out that the dash dials are a much better source of the rpm and speed signals. In the case of speed , it gets the pulse first, and then sends it on to the ecu.
The dials are also 100% easier to get to and work with.

What makes this even easier is that on the back of the dials is a plastic circuit board which is very well labelled and has screws inset.
Fantastic ! no cutting / splicing / soldering at all required. I just strip a bit of shielding off the RSM wires and use the screws as terminals to the circuit board. easy as pie and took like 10 minutes.

unfortunaly I didnt take photos although I meant to.

from memory the pinout of the dials is 2E is speed output ( to the ecu ). I think it was labelled 'SP+' on the circuit board. The RPM output was 2D I think. It was labelled something like 'P' maybe.

Either way, i connected my wires to the screws labelled 'OUT' behind the speed and rpm dials. Since the dash also has ignition triggered power, i used it to make install/uninstall easier. It came from screws connected to B+ and -

If any1 has a photo of the back of the dials cluster I can point out which I used.

So if ever u need a speed or rpm signal, use the dash, not the ecu

i think they did the same to mine

engineer1 said:
dear all...

fixing rsm i think should similar to fix a attack meter cum speed meter. i done to my lantis before at sunway. take them almost 3 hours playing with the ecu. but at the end, they connect to the speedo meter. every thing is ok. RPM is accurate and speed also. Btw, i m using sard attack meter bought from zth member. even to speedo meter also is quite difficult to fix. Charge me 80 bucks. The only problem after is the indicator light for speedo going on and off. i check myself and found it bcoz of loose contact of socket, maybe bcoz of the work done. Till now, never a problem.

Thanks engineer1 for ur info..
Are u using original lantis engine or convert to others engine?Which shop u installed RSM before?

Picture from www.astinagt.com about installing RSM for mazda lantis BA series...

mine still standard gaban la. susah susah je la u all.. as i said, i fix my attack meter at sunway... its quite same with rsm. u all sure know where is N1 racing is it? if u r infront of n1, u will see air cond shop on yr left. ask him to install. wat i know, all instrument brought from n1 is fix here. last time there is one air cond shop beside amoil racing, but the sifu installing the gadget already cabut. or ksp also can but never try.

btw, my sard attack meter is on sale. gaban car i think no need that kind of meter. for new owner of lantis, checkout link below

http://www.maz323f.co.uk/

Mine not installed yet..last week BZ..and i rasa malas to drive to sunway..My friend suggest at KSP..Maybe this weekend kot i'm going there.U still using stock lantis?Rim standard also?Change to 17 inch,lowered it & its look better.. :D

17" aah? i think not suitable for daily use. expensive tyre also. plan to get only 16" after i got my second car. if u got xtra money, get 18 la... show u few picture below