Are you a 'Banana'?

i'm not chinese but people think i am chinese so they talk to me in chinese which i barely understand.. so am i a banana? :p

i'm a chinese, and a hakka.

i can speak mandrin well, but not accurate like news reader, however i somehow unconciously speak good mandrin if i'm talking to someone who speaks very well.

i can read chinese words, well, roughly 60-70% of the commonly used one. would have problem if you want me to read out loud:p

write? hmm... maybe my name. i didn't write chinese for 2 year 7 months already, never touch it. was shock when i saw the form of the place i want to work temporary is in chinese, so i filled everything in english, except my name :P

being a hakka, i can understand hakka perfectly. 80% of my family members, as far as i know, are hakka (wonder why but mostly hakka marry hakka, those family in law also hakka, with a few exception). however, i can't speak hakka :( due to what happen 13 years ago in primary school where the headmaster says "dialags are banned", with my dad being a teacher in the same school, hakka is banned (okay.. more like discouraged lar..) in my family too, just my bro and i, can undertand but not speak. :( shame shame, now want learn also abit late hard to addapt.

cantonese, completely can't speak, understand abit, due to the cantonese drama on TV :D , other than that, there's no use for cantonese in kuching (except fellow zthians come from semenanjung lar...)

hokkien, understand partially, speak.. well.. need to think before speak, so not much point.

japanese.. hmm.. 220GB of anime with subtitle experience.. nothing more >_
shame shame... biggest shame is hakka dunno how to speak hakka >_<

szekeiemme said:
im.. but can speak simple mandrine la.. simple ones.. to communicate n order food! ekekke

same here...
i go Malay school mah... so hardly converse in Mandarin...somemore my family all Cantonese wan...so my Cantonese n English very geng...

but my malay is very otai wan...

:)

wah got hainan ppl = tau fung ppl !!!
iam hainan too,i know how to speak hainan 70% only,the rest forget oledi cause not much ppl know how to speak hainan.....

Sometimes it's really not their fault for not learning their native language. It's decided by their parents which school they go to.
So if love your own culture, you should go to a language school to learn your native language. Trust me, you're really missing a lot.
But I hate some people who won't stop speaking "Engrish". If you're a Chinese, I can communicate with you with any chinese dielect you might know.

Engrish:
1.) You see him come or not??
2.) You see people want what you also want.

You really gain no respect from speaking like this.

NOSkill said:
Sometimes it's really not their fault for not learning their native language. It's decided by their parents which school they go to.
So if love your own culture, you should go to a language school to learn your native language. Trust me, you're really missing a lot.
But I hate some people who won't stop speaking "Engrish". If you're a Chinese, I can communicate with you with any chinese dielect you might know.

Engrish:
1.) You see him come or not??
2.) You see people want what you also want.

You really gain no respect from speaking like this.
maybe they think engrish its high class mah.....so mah follow ppl loh......

my "yee kin" dont "for" me......

roughnecks said:
quater banana:p
can't write chinese......except my name....n recognize some simple chinese..
can't speak Mandarin / Cantonese fluently....... !-.-
banana1.jpg

Am like u too! Dialect is Hokkien. Not fluent in Hokkien Cantonese/Mandarin but can understand lah! English educated....

melody said:
Am like u too! Dialect is Hokkien. Not fluent in Hokkien Cantonese/Mandarin but can understand lah! English educated....
So what kind of people you hang around with?? Do you speak English 24 hours since English is the only language you're good at.

NOSkill said:
So what kind of people you hang around with?? Do you speak English 24 hours since English is the only language you're good at.

Wah! Testing me, eh! Okay, i speak Cantonese at home, Hokkien with my grandma (since passed away so never speak) and also Cantonese, English & BM when communicating with colleagues at my work place (multi-racial staff). So i hand around with all kinds of ppl! I do speak those dialects its just that sometimes i don understand the meaning when ppl talk certain words in Cantonese!

When in Penang must know how to speak Hokkien or else 'habis'. How to order food lah?? Just like in Ipoh, all speak Cantonese!!!

melody said:
Wah! Testing me, eh! Okay, i speak Cantonese at home, Hokkien with my grandma (since passed away so never speak) and also Cantonese, English & BM when communicating with colleagues at my work place (multi-racial staff). So i hand around with all kinds of ppl! I do speak those dialects its just that sometimes i don understand the meaning when ppl talk certain words in Cantonese!

When in Penang must know how to speak Hokkien or else 'habis'. How to order food lah?? Just like in Ipoh, all speak Cantonese!!!
Not testing you. Just curious about how a Chinese's life if s/he only good at English.
In Penang, we speak Hokkien to everyone, even non-chinese. Many Malays and Indians can understand simple Hookien too.

hehe...yala...cos all got watch Phua Chu Kang ma...tats y they noe...
most of the time i speak wif mandrin. Hokkien less cos i'm from penang site hokkien...KL, melaka n johor hokkien is abit different wif Penang n kedah hokkien...Even kelantan hokkien is more different...jus like siam dialect...

definately a banana hehee..but i understand just really simple chinese..a bit of hokkien/cantonese/mandrin...well fairly simple words...my dad is a hokkien..

well my excuse..for not bein able to read or write...coz my dad doesnt speak chinese very well either.. n my mum is portuguese...:D

so i picked up my mother tongue but i nvr did pick up much of chinese.. ;)

I dun know Mandarin but at least i take the initiative to learn to write my name in Chinese characters. They say if ur a Chinese & if y dun know how to write ur name in Chinese characters, its a SHAME, rite??

Btw do any one of u know how to write ur own name in Chinese?? If u do not, i wld advise u 2learn. Its FUN learning the strokes.......

well, to learn how to speak in chinese, never ever hesitate to be ashame to speak.
about reading n writing in mandarin.. er.. for me is a bit hard because i got bad memories. i rather surf zth.com than practising :PP

yalo.. ppl say.. 10 hainan 9 also fung fung tei.. dunno real a not. i'm half hainan.:P