Audi S4 Avant On Track - SIC

faisal

Last Sunday, 17th at the HPC Track Day I had the opportunity to try out my Brother's S4 Avant. I had my reservations, as from my personal experience , being used to driving lightweight Race cars , heavy Continentals ain't much fun around SIC. Too much weight to lug around. But this S4 is pretty special as he had it done up... somewhat.:shades_smile: So I couldn't wait to drive it.. yumms

1) Uprated air intake pipe
2) KO4 twin turbos
3) APR full exhaust system
4) APR Stage 3 ECU
5) BOSCH High performance fuel injectors
6) Stasis 14.5" front brake rotors
7) Alcon 6-pot front calipers
8) Bilstein PSS9 coilovers
9) 19" MTM rims - Toyo T1R 245/35 19(for Track Day)

Got in the car , adjusted seating & steering position to suit me, I then joined in the Q to exit the Pit .

My first Lap out, Out of Turn 2 I gave it some gas in 2nd , then 3rd Gear. Braked a bit early for T4 (barkes still Cold) Brake Pedal feel wasn't that great. Due to the pads being street Oriented and Servo assisted. My Race Car with 4 pots unassisted Alcon has better initial "bite".

Out of Turn 4 into Turns 5 & T6 (the left downhill into right sweeper) still in 3rd gear the car was quite adjustable on throttle. Not understeery as I expected it to be. Though the damping and springs felt darn soft. But SIC heavy cambered and high speed corners tend to make some cars feel softly sprung..

Then It was the Double Apex right-hander of T& & T8. Superb. By the time I reached T9 ( a left hander uphill hairpin) brakes had warmed nicely and the car just tucked in beautifully. Through T10 T11 & T12 (which I couldn't take fast asi normally do as there were some cars that braked HARD into 12, getting into my way.. bugger)

Then We reached T13 & T14 which led onto the back Straight. accelerate in 2nd , 3rd then 4th, seeing 120mph on the speedo at some 6500RPM. MAN can this S4 PULL. The power just exploded and the car zommed forward. Reached the 150m marker , got hard on the brakes.... the car slowed sufficiently to enter T15 in 2nd.

Then we began the next lap. All in all I probly did 4 sessions, totalling close to 20+ laps with no problems. Not bad for a Tuned Audi.

In one session even manage to catch a Evo4 on the back section, tucked behind him in T15 (the last hairpin) accelerated out in 2nd Gear, expecting to BLOW him away, but surprise surprise the aceleration was the same, so he kept to the left of the track, and seeing 2 Vios in our path I went to the right of the front straight along side the Pit wall. Zoomed past the Vioses and then reached the Braking area alongside the Evo.. only way I could get through was on brakes . So again stood on them 6 pots to brake into Turn 1 slightly ahead of the Evo. Man, this is Fun.. hahaha.

Next round suggested to my bro to uprate his brake pads. and use better tyres..

Audi S4 Avant as a track day weapon.. who would have thought...:regular_smile:

sorry to intrude...
so it was u? were u one of the guys that came with Richard?
i was there at the tyre shop last sat when this ride was there changing tyres...

awesome ride dude....

skinny tall fella in a Red R3 Team shirt , yup that's me. hehe

Actually Richard and his partners were hired by my brother to tune up the S4.

All I want to know is.....................

Did you take any pics with the XtremeNight girls????? Perhaps a close up of their bums like in your avatar????

hahaha no la. too busy driving. No camera and my Pit was Pit 8, the Xtremists were at the other end

Aiyoh, wasted lah, some of those girls were really showing their stuff....

Was there 2 Audi Avant there? Later I saw the car going out with a lady driver. She is very sporting, going out on Sepang in a manual stick shift. Not many ladies nowadays remember how to drive with stick shift.

That was my sister. After I showed her around the circuit, she drove for one session.

Avant? Have you seen the black Volvo 850 ( methinks ) wagon with a large - a$$ intercooler up front? That car wasn't so bad too...

there was another Station Wagon last Sunday?? I noticed a Silver Caldina when I was on track

Faisal, this is for you.....Hehehe:_:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n50/TitanRevo/IMGP0207.jpg

Kookabura this is for you....:regular_smile: but i only got 2 pics...:cry_smile:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n50/TitanRevo/IMGP0211.jpg
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n50/TitanRevo/IMGP0210.jpg

Sorry R3 Sifu. The wagon was running around during the Labour Day Track Day...

faisal said:
there was another Station Wagon last Sunday?? I noticed a Silver Caldina when I was on track