b16a throttle body

deathzone

Im planning to change to skunk2 pro intake manifold and rebore TB size. Whats the max rebore size for b16a throttle body?

70mm.. or u can just buy super90 TB.

Will i benefit anything if just change sk2 intake manifold and rebore to 64mm, my engine is stock b16a internals with mild mod only(intake, exhaust,vafc). Do i need to change my injector to bigger one?

skunk2 pro intake manifold is more shorter then the stock manifold. so ur air flow is more faster to get into ur combustion chamber and this give u power especially when high rev..we need the air to get in fast. beside shorter the construction inside the manifold is curve perfectly.u can go skunk2 website and check out the details.with a larger throttle body u have it give u a better response engine.

Ok thanks for the info bro. :)

if not mistaken for B16A TB, it would be 64.5mm max rebored.

oh..i missed out the word "rebore", i m not sure wat is the max rebored size for ori TB.. from wat my foreman told me that the maximum aftermarket TB mm for a b16a engine will be 70mm..over than 70mm then will not make power.

get a skunk2 intake bore it to 70mm + a super 90 TB 70mm....

or

your skunk2 intake bore is 64mm + bore your b16a TB to 64mm

i am using skunk2 intake with s90 TB but my intake no bore.any kacau with that?or need to bore to 70mm?

Bump: i am using skunk2 intake with s90 TB but my intake no bore.any kacau with that?or need to bore to 70mm?

TS..your ori B16A injector is good enuff liao..except ur engine is B18C..then u need a bigger injector..

i am using skunk2 intake with s90 TB but my intake no bore.any kacau with that?or need to bore to 70mm?

Bump: i am using skunk2 intake with s90 TB but my intake no bore.any kacau with that?or need to bore to 70mm?

its like you mouth is 70mm but u block it with a 64mm cover....
u cant get 100% out of both item...
go bore la..
only 50 bucks

mr super fei lo..may i know where the shop that can do the rebore with cost of RM50? thanx.

Bump: mr super fei lo..may i know where the shop that can do the rebore with cost of RM50? thanx.

AFAIK,injectors for both B16 & B18 r d same..all 240cc...rumours had it dat B18 injectors r actually 270cc....but it's proven 2 b 240cc only.....regardless they r Type R injectors or not..all 240cc,cheers..

n i'm actually surprised 2 c so many of u B16A w claimed minor mods(IHE) running w 70mm TB.....honestly,no lag or loss of low end power?

thanks super fei lo but is hard to find place tat can bore with rm50 i think haha.i try to find anyplace tat can do.thanks.

I talk to my mec about this and he told me not to mod the im and tb size since my engine still fully stock and the EK4 b16a ori im and tb is good enough. What u guys think?

if you dont bore the intake, you will cause turbulence in the air flow...you will feel like the car jerks when you release your throttle.

when the air comes passes through the throttle and hits the wall,it cause the flow to be disturbed and this can even cause loss of power....you definitly need to get the intake bored to have the throttle work as it should...

another thing...having a larger throttle + intake..improves air volume , but reduces air velocity, if your head is not ported, the performance difference in using a larger throttle might not be that significant...because air volume has increased,but the air is not being pushed out quickly enough due to restriction in the flow...(sifus,please correct me if im wrong)

is your cams also stock?

get a Type R intake....with a type R intake and larger TB you'll make more power at high rpm,but you'll lose out abit on lower rpm ranges...with a ported head...then the power gains should be significant.

yeah,Zeroed has a point...

maybe the throttle upgrade you should pend 1st...super90 new around rm6xx..with that money alot of other things you can do.

the throttle wont benefit you much at stock stage(if your car is mostly stock).

IMO,a good time to upgrade is once your head is ported,get a type R or skunk2 intake + TB...if got budget change cams also to either Type R or aftermarket cams.

this is what i posted in the other thread hope this helps.heres the link for the whole conversation.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/1000cc-and-above/296256-need-suggesstion-b16a.html

if your car is fairly stock,increasin the air volumes will not be necessary,after you have a ported head,better flowing intake,cams with higher lift...then increasing the air volumes will give you significant benefit.