b20 swap b16

myupgrade

halo hondarianz..

swapping my b20 block to whom have b16 blocks..b16a or b16b..no problem..if the price differs (e.g b16b 2xxx b20 1xxx) i dont mind paying the balance..dont worry the block is in very excellent condition..oh yes, and the swapping engine block must be in very good condition too..

reason of swapping?simple..bored with the fuel consumption as i have to travel a lot (working) and have next project to do with b16..

interested?please reply..KL areaz only..thanks

i tot bigger block should be more expensive ?

if b16a , how much do i need to top up? how bout custom paper? available?

Just to drop a note here :

B20B have higher torque figures at lower revs. It is said that the torque offered by a B16A head + B20B bottom end at 2k RPM++, is the same as the torque figure of a standard B16A at about 6 - 7k RPM.

So, during long distance driving, you are actually using the same speed, but at lower revs. A B16A's revs at about 3k RPM++ ( for a speed of about 100 kph ) while at the same revs, a B16A head + B20B bottom end engine actually does a much faster speed, at about 120 kph++.

So, in theory, your B20B shouldn't gobble as much fuel as a standard B16A, especially during long - distance driving, therefore, you shouldn't experience lower fuel consumption.

A used B20B ( used, as is, : bought from a chopshop and later installed ), should be lower than RM 800.00, as RM 800.00 - RM 1k is the current price for a B20B complete block.

Ok, what's your ECU chip ( while using the B20B? )?

Anyway, this is just an informational post. If your price is right ( which is, most probably you hafta topup the difference, as a B16A complete block is much more expensive than a B20B complete block ) I'm sure you'll get a buyer in no time.

B16A + B20B rawks big time!!! Mad pickup, a lot of torque and still retaining B16A's top speed!

i've got a B16A block with new piston rings and type-r oil pump.interested do pm me.

ace79 said:
Just to drop a note here :

So, during long distance driving, you are actually using the same speed, but at lower revs. A B16A's revs at about 3k RPM++ ( for a speed of about 100 kph ) while at the same revs, a B16A head + B20B bottom end engine actually does a much faster speed, at about 120 kph++.

Bro,

For your info the statement that you made is not true as the rev against speed will still be the same bot B20 and B16 will have the same speed at 3K RPM if the gearbox are the same FD gears. B20 will u give you more torque and better consumption if tuned properly regardless of short or long distance travelling. If not tuned properly the B20 might have higher consumption but it all depends on your setting(i.e: what ECU, chip, injectors, throttle body, IT manifold,........) Just my 2 cents.

ace79 and KP61..
thanks for your info..really appreciate that.to others, b20 block is awsome man!imagine tremendous pickup even the vtec still not engaged..however, im not suit to the power since my work requires travelling..and im not in serious racing..

for those interested..dont worry about changing engine.."no power increase" in the AP paper..got what i mean?hehe

bro, i got the b16a block. i'm staying in ampang. since u don't give ur phone number... plz contact me. 012-9150836. zhaf

sorry to disturd but i got a b16a block wif AP paper, who interested in buying PM me.

Bro.. Ace79, B20 block only RM800-RM1000 ah? So cheap?? I thought RM1800-2000 like this oh.. That shop really chop me a lot. But i didnt bought it.

I have B16A block, very interested with the swap, bro what is the ecu u r using?

Ya lor AhLun, better shop around my friend. That price is "my" price lah, heheh. But seriously, a complete B20B block should be, the most, RM 1600 only, no more than that. And please, don't go Mun Lee to buy your B20B blocks, because if you don't want to buy from them, what they will tell you is : Takpa, boleh hantar US, lagiiiiii bnyk untung! Which is, actually, true...

AhLun said:
Bro.. Ace79, B20 block only RM800-RM1000 ah? So cheap?? I thought RM1800-2000 like this oh.. That shop really chop me a lot. But i didnt bought it.

prelude..
im using type R ecu..
hey..is no other hondarianz with b16b to swap wif me??

ace79 said:
Ya lor AhLun, better shop around my friend. That price is "my" price lah, heheh. But seriously, a complete B20B block should be, the most, RM 1600 only, no more than that. And please, don't go Mun Lee to buy your B20B blocks, because if you don't want to buy from them, what they will tell you is : Takpa, boleh hantar US, lagiiiiii bnyk untung! Which is, actually, true...
I stay at jb oh..:confused_smile: But i still dont dare change to B20 block leh.. Becos scared next time everyday need to go back to the workshop for repairing:cry_smile:

hey myupgrade,

how much rpm can you rev up to? because fron info ive gathered standard b16a pistons arent good enough for high rpm and its easy to seize the engine...

and i also heard the b20 can rev up to 7... Can anyone give me any information bout the exact modifications that need to be done to do a good conversion to the b16a to b20 block?

Sorry yah myupgrade for stealing your thread a bit :

AhLun, a basic Frankenstein ( B16A + B20B bottom end ) with the necessary stuffs like adjustable fuel regulator ( must have meter oso yah, easier to tune ) and at least VAFC ( to retune the fueling ), don't have to go to the workshop so often! Don't forget, at least a bigger set of injectors ( because your car now is 2.0 litre, not 1.6 or 1.8 litre! )!

Things to remember : at least get someone or some shop to fit the rev limiter in your ECU around 7.5k to 8k RPM. Make sure the VAFC have been tuned correctly to supply enuff fuel at WOT ( wide open throttle / when you press the throttle pedal all the way! ) and that the B16A head and the B20B is rebuilt ( change rings, bearnings, pistons is necessary etc ) bfr fitting the motor back to your car. And then, enjoy the torque... :_:

AhLun said:
I stay at jb oh..:confused_smile: But i still dont dare change to B20 block leh.. Becos scared next time everyday need to go back to the workshop for repairing:cry_smile:

The info you gathered is wrong. Stock B16A can rev up to 8k RPM safely EVERYDAY! But ensure that :

- pistons and rings are in good order
- don't forget the valvetrain components ( cams, valves and valve springs )
- fueling system is in order ( stock fueling system is enuff )

B20B Frankenstein motors is safe between 7 to 8k RPM ( but make sure fueling problems are addressed 1st, via FPR, bigger injectors and at least VAFC I ).

prelude_b16a said:
hey myupgrade,

how much rpm can you rev up to? because fron info ive gathered standard b16a pistons arent good enough for high rpm and its easy to seize the engine...

and i also heard the b20 can rev up to 7... Can anyone give me any information bout the exact modifications that need to be done to do a good conversion to the b16a to b20 block?

from what i heard... use b20 block with b16 head, use accord pistons, dosent matter 2.0 or 2.2, lightens crankshafty, use aftermarket valve spring, retainers and also cams, use management "obit or what so ever" and tune it to the max and best! ur car will runs like ..... (speechless) lmao.... just my 2 cent correct me if im wrong :X-:

Cheers...