B8 owners... let's share your B8's experience

haloo there.
i'm the newbie from malacca. i just transplan my sampan with bpt8 engine.
Just some question 4 all the otai,

1. why my engine temperature is so cold. i have to warm up the engine about 15 minutes, so that the temp could get half of the meter. before this when i switch on the engine the meter show the temp on half meter.

2. the last one will be, black smoke come out from the muffler. this also happen when the temperature goes wild.

tq very much 4 the otai whom will answer my question.

very good topic!

Hi to all sifu-s! i'm new here and found this topic very very interesting! hmm... drove tx3 lynx NA for 10 yrs till my engine totally koyak, white smoke kau kau!!! 1 week 4 litre engine oil gone! hehe! stop at traffic light when light goes green behind me got no car coz my smoke too thick cannot see them :p finally transplant to B8 180... HuurayyYy!!!

driving B8 180 almost 1 year now, lucky no tap tap tik tik tak tak tapping sound, using motul 10W40, so far so good... :)
but i change my rediator 3 times, water boiled 4 times!
1st time engine fan motor melt and the fan stuck on the radiator... water boil kau kau, thank god engine no damage..
2nd time water hose leak, came down from genting and smoke came out from engine! no water and thank god engine no harm...!!!
3rd time water pump rosak! water keeps leaking and i didn't realise coz late to work, till notice the needle point at "H", my goodness!!! again! angine top set no bengkok!
4th time is my water hose is too near to exhaust pipe till it turns soft and folded, cause water stuck there and engine become so hot till my aircond blow warm air,... and engine no damage!!!
that's why i really love Mazda B8 engine!!! very very tahan lazak! 10 thumbs up!

now the problem i face is my clutch... using exedy racing clutch for 5 months and slips with "eeeee..." sound when tekan kuat kuat, :(

welcome to this forum emale... you can easily solve this problem. get your pomen to custom you a clutch and make sure the cover spring is strong to cater the clutch. by the way, what boost you running ?

Last edited by a moderator:
welcome to this forum emale... you can easily solve this problem. get your pomen to custom you a clutch and make sure the cover spring is strong to cater the clutch. by the way, what boost you running ?

i'm running 1 bar, tried up to 1.5 bar bit kena boost cut, anyway no point running on higher boost coz clutch slips, tekan minyak sounds like aeroplane taking off, :S

wahhhhh, look like 210 is quite good engine.............
i also wanna transplant it into my 626!!!!!

Hi papa,

Your setting should be running rich now. So the black smoke will come out from the exhaust. Another thing you have to consider is engine running rich the engine definitely will be cooler. so for a turbo car the engine cooler is better what? So why you so worry?

Rotary Engine...
but don't know how it'll perform in 626 as it's heavier and of bigger size...
and somemore; a lot of work needs be done for the conversion

Rotary Engine...
but don't know how it'll perform in 626 as it's heavier and of bigger size...
and somemore; a lot of work needs be done for the conversion
rotary engine are too kacau already, onli limited people know to fix and the mantenance fee cost a lot too.
some more the need conversion to fit into car, better just plug n play

The most usual transplant for 626 are KF or KL...
U could try B8...
Usually B8 for more smaller sedan or hatch back....
But all in all, I think it's still personal preference.
Overseas I think they did put in RE because of the large engine bay 626 posses.

our project b8 now will be finish...just need to fit the haltech e11 then start and setting .
maybe if no problem the machine will be participating fot dataran sprint test this weekend..

Hello!I have something 2 ask?Wy my b8 t,have no power at low rpm,now my turbo is change 2 AR40 already?

now mzs b8 already on the road..but still under last 'touch up" for haltech..
hopefully can participate this SDB...

yesterday goes to subang meet "some friend" with mzs b8..(tx3 model)..
owners say this machine justfor drag use...
no aircond system inside...heheheh

boo.. selling my car cheap... all da money invested wasted... maybe i'll come back with a lantis...

this week who are going to sepang????
if quite lot ppl going maybe we can having a tt before or after the race

mzs tune b8 on the road body managed the best time 12.4++s for the sepang drag battle round 2.for the qualifiying time get 13th place from 57 or 60 car for class b that...

first time participate...