Bass too boomy

ev3rgr4ce

Hi guys. Atm I'm using an Adire Shiva Mk4 in a 2cubic feet sealed enclosure, stuffed with some polyfill.
The problem is when low bass hits at times it sounds like its burpin or something..especially long long low bass notes. Is there anyway to make it less boomy? I was thinkin to change the enclosure to a smaller vented box, or just a smaller sealed one, roughly 1cubic feet. Not sure will it help or not. Need some more punch into the bass instead

Any help to reduce the boominess would be greatly appreciated. Btw i listen to r&b, hip-hop, trance, rock, and everything else actually xP Thanks in advance

Maybe ur LPF for the sub does not match with your mid frequency.

Try to adjust your sub frequency.

Okies, i guess ill check it out. For now i've set it lpf for the sub at 80hz, mids at 70 i think.

wah....2cuft sealed box is big...somemore stuff polyfill aar to create virtual space....
wow.....u have a very huge sealed box...
maybe try take out polyfill n try

is urs a sedan car? urs i believe the sub and mid is crossing too much of each other. further, if ur playing at only 12db/oct xo u'll create a peak at the crossover freqs.

for my shiva, i cut it at 45 at 24db slope. mid-bass hp at 80 at 24db. still a little boomy. will up the hp to 90 or 100.

Took out the polyfill, it sounds better already! Thanks for the advise. About the crossover settings, i'm not so sure about it. At the moment i've set both hp and lp at roughly 80hz each. XP

someone told Adire Shiva should sound great in 2CF .. but i forget is seal or ported .. hehe

Just play around your HP & LP... Good luck screwing .. hehe!

for sq the shiva needs ard 2-2.5 cuft for sealed n nearly 4 for ported.

It dun have to be done such as sq 2 - 2.5 sealed or vented 4 cuft. It's just a guideline basically, It could be done in a lot of ways depending on application. Now this guy sez his bass is too boomy, but at the same time he enjoys r&b etc etc. Dis type of music has a lot of low bass extension, so being boomy with dis type of music is kinda " natural ". But there's still ways around it if you wanna enjoy the bass with dis type of music "tighter"
dunno bout you guys, but I know for a fact dat someone had done shiva in a 2cubes vented tuned to 45hz. It rocks! Just a thought ... just a thought :)

shiva in a 1 cu. ft? i dont think shiva are design for small enclosures. if you want it less boomy try modelling out in WinISD for Q around 0.75 or lower.

last time i modelled 2 tempest in a 4.5 cu. ft and had Q of 1.10. As far as i know only Brahma are desing to work in small enclosures.

i think ill try the 2 cubic vented enclosure tuned to 45hz thingy soon. Thanks for the help guys!

ev3rgr4ce said:
i think ill try the 2 cubic vented enclosure tuned to 45hz thingy soon. Thanks for the help guys!

45hz is too high. maybe you try 30-35hz. Shiva has lots of xmax which is good for low freq.

calvinhpk said:
wah....2cuft sealed box is big...somemore stuff polyfill aar to create virtual space....
wow.....u have a very huge sealed box...
maybe try take out polyfill n try

calvin,u r right...the sealed box manyak besar hor...but i suggest that the tuning of freq n gain is also a factor...