big turbo low boost

Hi SUM DUM FUK,

I need to ask for some advise........currently on a stock td05 16g evo turbo....just wondering if I wan to gain very FAST responsiveness, not wanting too much lag on it, wat should i go for ?? HKS 2835 ?? or GT35 ??? or TD 06 20G ???

many thanks

am... what is compressor map...????
is it like Benz.. compressor type????
or like super charger Levin...????
or like mechanical compressor...???? drive by belt and long shaft with big intake compressor only.

A compressor map is a graph of how a turbocharger performs. It is kinda complicated, yet will give you a very good result. It will not tell you how fast the turbo will spool up though.Here is example.http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c42/doctor_drift/gt28rs_map.gif
Now X-axis is airflow in pounds per minute. Y-axis is ''pressure ratio(lets call it PR)''. Think of it as boost. To get the boost in bar subtract one from the PR to get boost in bar. e.g PR=2.4. subract 1 and you get 1.4 bar. The y-axis tell you how much air is supplied. It takes around 10.4 lb/m to generate 100hp. Got that so far?

You said you wanted to make around 370whp. we have to make this into a crankshaft figure so i estimate around 17% loss through the drivetrain. so we want around 420hp at the crankshaft. So we divide this by 10.4 to get how much airflow we need to make the desired power which is 40.3lb/m. Now draw a line up vertically from 40.3lb/m and you will see that there is no map. This means the compressor would not make this power. You will also notice there are percentages on the map. this shows the compressor efficiency. Find a compressor which has around 75% effieciency around the 1.1 bar spot(which is what boost you want to run) and you will have the right turbo.

P.S this doesnt show how well the turbo will spool up.

DDgreystar said:
Hi SUM DUM FUK,

I need to ask for some advise........currently on a stock td05 16g evo turbo....just wondering if I wan to gain very FAST responsiveness, not wanting too much lag on it, wat should i go for ?? HKS 2835 ?? or GT35 ??? or TD 06 20G ???

many thanks

Hi... I'm not SDF, but

If you want FAST responsiveness, go with smaller turbine than yours now. or maybe TD04 or any turbine from turbo conti car like Volvo 740 or Saab.

If you want FAST responsiveness with BIG power to red line, there is no such thing.

If you wan FAST responsiveness and FUN power street car go for Ball Bearing which will cost you and EVO halfcut... GT28RS or GT2871r is awesome.. if u wan more... GT30r. HKS...erm over rated..

Big power come from big turbo and there will come big @#$%^&* Lag.

The most important parts is, knowing your power (whp) goal and start from there. Different set-up will suite different turbo. Fun power street car is always different with big power drag car, and you will never get both world dude...

running td04h gsr with e3 i/c....stainlss steel piping...got lag ker>>???

planning to go for it...

sorry for the late reply guys..

EG6 : yes..pls ring our Tech guy and he'll help you out with the specs u need.

pls understand that a big not necessary mean's lag. Other factors have to be taken into consideration, like displacement, cams, tuning, fuel octane, etc...

well..we've seen that the way the Garrett GT series outflows the older T series from Garrett. A smaller frame GT35R turbo can spool quicker and still flow as much as the older T04R turbo..and with less lag as well. So big doesn't mean good, small may not necessary mean not being able to pull your engine to red line. Newer generation turbos are much more efficient and more durable compared to the older series models.

So anyone want's a GT25 or GT28 ? ;)

sum-dum-fuk,

do you do turbine upgrades like these guys are doing?

https://secure.buschurracing.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=21_30&products_id=718

interested to know though..

chemical_ : his buddy tong will make em for u , but 850 USD from burshur , i think u can get a GT30R from SDF, huhuh and smile all the way

yes...GT3037R damn good .... but SDF seldom online lah... must call him
012 - 2345323.... at batu caves...

chemical

u drive an evo ?

we have this coming in soon :
TD05HR-20G-BB.jpg

Picture164.jpg

For EVO-8 / 9 : TD05HR-20G-BB (customised ball bearing) with 4" ported shroud compressor inlet.

Which one is bigger, this sucker or the FPGreen?

Is this mitsu/gt30 hybrid?

Heh heh...

Ermm.... I dont think soo.

The FP Green not soo popular here. Mr SDF is good in promoting his stuff!