Blow Off Echo Sound

Thanks 4 de explanation....and i thought it sounded cute... hehe

Gh0sT said:
compressor surge happen whens your blow off valve cant release the excess boost your turbine is spooling after your throttle closes, therefore the compressed air reverse and goes back thru your turbine fins and goes out the air filter and making those sounds.

if long term it might spoil your fins and all that but so far i never seen anyone with that problem lo. if low pressure it should be ok but if you running high boost and there's more echo sound than your blow off sound better check your BOV

Maxx said:
mine the opposite.. got shiurr sound 1st.. then baru blowoff.. how?
btw exhaust system not yet done. using the h.cut (modded 2.5", i think), long center box and s-flow muffler !!.. huhu.. lot of backpresure i think.. :(

Better change ur bov, it respond too slow. or the bov too small for ur boost application.

LevinTE27 said:
Better change ur bov, it respond too slow. or the bov too small for ur boost application.

thnx for suggestion.
im using bov that came with theh.cut. (blitz s.sound).. just service the bov.

running under boost cause of the exhaust system. wanna remove/change the muffler 1st. :)

I used to have that echo kind of BOV... the sound is like what you explained... kur kur kur... but after I changed from TD05 single fin to TD06 20g... the sound changed... at low boost (~0.2 bar) the sound is like the air recirculates back to the turbine kinda sound. So, I changed to SSQV... problem solved...

diaphragm BOV's easier to adjust and less chances of air surging back into ur turbo..
piston type BOV (eg. R2D2, Blitz, Sheepdog, etc...) usually prone to this problem as the inlet hole might be too small or the piston isn't opening fast enough to vent out the boost pressure and even if vent out fast enough, it might close too fast too, therefore causing pressurised air to go back into your compressor end of the turbo.

After too many times of this problem....the turbo might start to have it's problems... ;)

Gh0sT said:
compressor surge happen whens your blow off valve cant release the excess boost your turbine is spooling after your throttle closes, therefore the compressed air reverse and goes back thru your turbine fins and goes out the air filter and making those sounds.

if long term it might spoil your fins and all that but so far i never seen anyone with that problem lo. if low pressure it should be ok but if you running high boost and there's more echo sound than your blow off sound better check your BOV

i'm also in learning proccess...

i'm agreed wif u hantu. that why we need BOV, to blow the not need air compress to save the turbo/fin.

KMASRI said
i used to have that echo kind of BOV... the sound is like what you explained... kur kur kur... but after I changed from TD05 single fin to TD06 20g... the sound changed... at low boost (~0.2 bar) the sound is like the air recirculates back to the turbine kinda sound. So, I changed to SSQV... problem solved...

-many ppl said ssqv very soft and not hard BOV and also not suitable for high boost.
u said ssqv can solve the prob?..... i think not solve but ssqv can blow the 0.2bar air compress which mean no compressor surge ... that why la.
- maybe i another thing is ur ugraded turbo to bigger. coz bigger turbo more lag, so with 0.2bar maybe have compressor surge ?

i always heard fully modd drag car test run. use bigger turbo wif fully open pod air filter n ARC BOV. when car not in really push i mean in low bar 0.2-0.4... the sound like that heard. then the car in really push to limit to 1.8 bar... no echos sound(compressor surge) heard just phisss like normal BOV.

i guess that all we need.

GHOST n guys... what ur opinion?

sorry if i'm do the mistake.

hey guys...im using a 6a12tt and im using a type s greedy...
is it nornal that if u adjust the blowoff to mor harder the blowoff sound will become a little bit like sqv..?or different..?

adjust it more loose, means the screw is higher...then can hear something like ssqv but nicer.

sure or not..if i loose the thing more...more air will comeout and my engine will die after a high rev...harden thing i got a little bit like sqv sound...
why not chooooo choo like got some echo sound..

sum-dum-fuk said:
diaphragm BOV's easier to adjust and less chances of air surging back into ur turbo..
piston type BOV (eg. R2D2, Blitz, Sheepdog, etc...) usually prone to this problem as the inlet hole might be too small or the piston isn't opening fast enough to vent out the boost pressure and even if vent out fast enough, it might close too fast too, therefore causing pressurised air to go back into your compressor end of the turbo.

After too many times of this problem....the turbo might start to have it's problems... ;)

that mean the piston type bov no good??? aiks~!... i was thinking of changing the r2d2 leh...

itz not that no good...juz that some models have not a very good design...and most piston type need regular maintenance...if not u might run a risk of the piston jamming up inside.. ;)

How do we know our bov over tightened? (besides listening to echo sound)
Will boost reading increase after bov tightened too tight?
Pls enlighten me bros!

bro, is like that la, if u change ur filter to HKS type which is short to turbo compressor side, when pijak not till full boost, the turbo like backspin sound, pshhh( light voice) then kurrrr kurrr kurrr like that, when running at the boost u set, no that sound,,, hahaha my friend that original evo7 also like that.. after change to hks suction kit.

Thanks bro pioneer. But the pshhhhh and kurr kurr kurr sound is after release gas pedal or before? :hmmmm:

hehehehe i created this topic when i was a newbie
the KUR KUR KUR sound is actually compressor surge sound
which means ur BOV is too tight to open up to release its air or one more could be BOV jam or need reoil or cleanup , could also mean bov is too big for your setup , remember that compressor surge reduces lifespan of the turbo ,

pioneer411 : it has nothing to do with air filter :D