BMW 323i and 325i yr 2001

invisibleghost

hi sifu

jz wanna knw wat is the diff btw these 2 models since both also 2.5l. i think shd be e46 coz yr 2001. thks

invisibleghost said:
hi sifu

jz wanna knw wat is the diff btw these 2 models since both also 2.5l. i think shd be e46 coz yr 2001. thks
the 323 is based on the e36 2.5L engine, and the 325 uses a newer engine which has more horsepower.

invisibleghost said:
hi sifu

The 323i engine is a 2.5L but detuned to 170 bhp (its not the E36 engine)double vanos while the 325i engine is a 2.5L with 192 bhp double vanos...

BMW9700 said:
The 323i engine is a 2.5L but detuned to 170 bhp (its not the E36 engine)double vanos while the 325i engine is a 2.5L with 192 bhp double vanos...

just read the engine codes. the e36 2.5 is M52, the e46 323 is M52TU,
so basically a modified version of the old engine.

the e46 325 is a M54 engine. it came out a couple years later, meaning the 323 wasn't detuned down to 170, but rather the new 2.5L was bumped up to 192hp.

Casanova said:
just read the engine codes. the e36 2.5 is M52, the e46 323 is M52TU,
so basically a modified version of the old engine.

the e46 325 is a M54 engine. it came out a couple years later, meaning the 323 wasn't detuned down to 170, but rather the new 2.5L was bumped up to 192hp.

thanks casanova for the info...appreciated