BMW 730i (E32)

acbc

Dear All,

I have come across an article from AutoSpeed (Australia) of someone adding turbo + management to an old BMW 735i (also an E32) and was wondering if anyone has done the same locally?

The car itself if quite well maintained and hardly goes anywhere except on weekends. Everything is stock standard. As resale value is quite low (less than RM 25k), I will be keeping it.

Any help or suggestion?

PS: I plan to keep the original BMW engine... and no Jap stuff inside. :D

hi, remember me?

well for NA engines.... to gain significant HP increase u must increase da CC...

since ur car is an E32, i hazard my guess on a M30B30 engine

mayb u can rebored it to 3200cc.... add some good extactors.... n filter....

if not just get a 735i engine also M30 n plonk it inside....

Actually, I'm thinking of turbo-charging it as it has been done b4 in Aussie. According to the mag, the stock engine can take some punishment by adding a turbo-kit.

Originally posted by acbc@Mar 15 2005, 16:49
Actually, I'm thinking of turbo-charging it as it has been done b4 in Aussie. According to the mag, the stock engine can take some punishment by adding a turbo-kit.

i personally go against turbo charging M engines......

not sure if the internals can take it....high compression, blah blah blah.....

not many ppl have opted for turbo charging to increase power for M engines...

maybe u can consider :-

1. changing the entire exhaust, manifold and piping

2. proper cold air intake

3. re-stroke, HiOP cams, HiOP throttle intake, higher cc injectors...

4. changing to manual box....less power loss

5. finally after all the above is done and still u need more power than supercharge....

cheers,

:)

Originally posted by xtracooljustin@Mar 15 2005, 19:38
my dad thinking of getting the M60 3.0 V8 to transplant into my E34
M60 3.0 V8 is a good engine meh? Honestly have not sat in one. I think a stoker kit for the M50 engine is better option, with chip and cams - delicious.

Originally posted by OSFlanker+Mar 15 2005, 22:16 -->
QUOTE (OSFlanker @ Mar 15 2005, 22:16 )
--QuoteBegin-xtracooljustin
@Mar 15 2005, 19:38
my dad thinking of getting the M60 3.0 V8 to transplant into my E34

M60 3.0 V8 is a good engine meh? Honestly have not sat in one. I think a stoker kit for the M50 engine is better option, with chip and cams - delicious. [/b][/quote]
good or not im not sure... havent driven a V8 or V6 for that matter....

hav only driven inline 4 n straight six since i got my license ;)

but the fact that for same cc, M60 beats M30 by almost 30bhp

found an interesting article on 7 series turbo, apparently certain models like the 745i has built in stock turbo which can be upgraded as well :-

http://www.islandia.is/smu/structure/RP-281.htm

Taken from this main article of a guy who's bought more than 10 bmws :- http://www.islandia.is/smu/structure/bmw.html