BMW SR20DET\Convert JAP FORUM HERE!!

Hi Guys,
I was just wondering... Are there anyone using e28 with Jap heart in this thread?

i have no problem with this engine..just hard to change engine parts because rb20 is too long for e30 engine bay..sr20 will fit nicely...my car was endorsed by jpj..previous owner done that..i buy with complete rb20 engine and jpj approved..no problem at all...this engine sounds like m50 engine..some of beemer lover thought that i've converted to m50 engine..but it's rb20de inside...just n/a engine but enough power to handled this e30...so if anyone want to convert japs engine..i suggest sr20 is better than rb20...but more expensive..sr20 is more economical than rb20..

to fardell83...dont "cucuk" la..these guys want to have an easy way to get more power with low cost..i know that bmw engine is more powerful but more cost..u go and find this asia pacific area and australia like to convert beemer to japs engine..the video that u give to me is in europe..i think it is in germany..no wonder la if germany because bmw is made in germany...easy to find part..low cost..no tax..many tuner...
here in malaysia we have to buy imported part to make the beemer go faster n powerful...we all want to have a powerful beemer engine m3/m5 but can u find me a m3 h/cut with same price as rb20/sr20?

Guys,
I was wondering, what JAP engine best fits e28?
& also how much would the total cost inclusive labour be?

its good laa for u mr fardell to be a bimmer hardcore..i bet it goes to most of us here as well..but like mr orange said,we wanted easy way with more power and less cost..of coz we'd love to get M3 hearts if the price is not much different than these japs engines..numsayin' bro?..

bro DmC..rb20det or rb25det fits to e28..u also can try 1jz or 2jz..
about the cost..it is depends on your mechanic and halfcut..if rb20det i think about 5-7k only...labour cost only 2k

rb20det cost RM5k - RM7k?
Damn.. i wonder how much does a rb25det, 1jz or 2jz wil costs..
I wanted to do an engine transplant.. looking for some alternatives that will provide more power than 3.5L BMW engine.
Thanks orangebmw.. Appreciate the info..

just want to add.
kerb weight is also a critical in converting power issues.
many jap cars are lighter compare with the big 7 series.

I wanted to do an engine transplant.. looking for some alternatives that will provide more power than 3.5L BMW engine.

I got my rb25det halfcut bout 2 years back for rm3.2k,but auto tranny lah from one of subang's chop shop....as for manual ones i think should set u back somewhere in the region of 5k-6k++..correct me if im wrong,but isn't rb20det less than 5k?..

wif 5-7k u can get a quite performance parts loaded manual rb25det h/cut. and i think 1jz or rb20det is around 2.5-4k only.

Originally Posted by D16power http://www.zerotohundred.com/images/styles/alienblue/buttons/viewpost.gif
hmm...if do the conversion of japanese heart into beemer, the rear axle need/no need to change? if remain the bmw rear axle it might need welding rite? how would b the durability n performance??

RWD drivetrain, axle all use bmw except the connector need to be alter to fit and don't do normal welding, send it to machining shop

RWD drivetrain, axle all use bmw except the connector need to be alter to fit and don't do normal welding, send it to machining shop[/QUOTE]

if my current BM is auto traini axle, and wanna convert to manual jap hearts, still can use back the BM auto axle?

cos i understand if wanna convert auto to manual that u need to change the axle too.

RWD drivetrain, axle all use bmw except the connector need to be alter to fit and don't do normal welding, send it to machining shop

if my current BM is auto traini axle, and wanna convert to manual jap hearts, still can use back the BM auto axle?

cos i understand if wanna convert auto to manual that u need to change the axle too.[/quote]

SORI WRONG INFO. You right. Use nissan's. My mekanik hantam me already for the wrong info.

5k is minimum complete with labour...7k is maximum if u added performance part...h/cut rb20det only 2k..labour 2k..wear & tear parts 1k..total 5k

rear axle no need to change..i'm using original axle in my e30..

SORI WRONG INFO. You right. Use nissan's. My mekanik hantam me already for the wrong info.[/QUOTE]

Its ok bro, no need mention sori. we are here to share the info :regular_smile: u mean u use nissan axle? thats mean need to cut th back floor lo...involve lot of works man!