Boom in Prangin Mall Penang

Move NRF

Bomb in Prangin Mall Penang

last nite got ppl put bomb at Prangin Mall.....got 1 ppl die and other guy hurt

this is the second time P-mall ppl put bomb......1st time is bomb tipu.....

the 1st person put the bomb cause many ppl need to reg Digi prepaid.....coz he use DIGI line to call police station he put bomb P-mall ...

CNY i think no ppls will go they shopping liao.........

here the link from bernama.....DR koh said not real bomb.....

January 16, 2006 12:46 PM http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/images/friend.gif http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/printable.php?id=175684
Don't Listen To Rumours On Switch Box Explosion - Koh

PENANG, Jan 16 (Bernama) -- Chief Minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon has asked the public not to believe swirling rumours that a bomb exploded near the Prangin Mall shopping complex here Sunday night.

He said what actually happened was an electric switch box explosion in which a man was killed at the scene while another suffered light injuries.

He said irresponsible individuals had twisted facts of the explosion and were floating rumours that there was a bomb explosion.

In the 9pm incident, Penang Chinese Swimming Club coach Yeoh Kok Siew, 47, who was watching a singing contest at the Prangin Mall's pedestrian walkway, died after the switch box exploded.

State CID Chief SAC II Syed Ismail Syed Azizan said police are investigating the cause of the explosion.

A man identified as Wong Boon Tat, 66, was injured in the explosion and had been admitted to the Penang Hospital. He is reported to be in stable condition.

An eye-witness, Teoh Ah Seen, 47, said about 50 people were watching the singing competition organised by a beverage outlet when the explosion occurred.

"We heard a loud explosion. I saw people running helter skelter but I didn't run far away. Later, I saw two men lying on the ground," he added.

-- BERNAMA

damn i was sittin at the beverage outlet near the stage with my girl and a few buds of mine until 8 pm.............damn!!

RIP to the man............

Chriz Eryk said:
damn i was sittin at the beverage outlet near the stage with my girl and a few buds of mine until 8 pm.............damn!!

RIP to the man............

u got hear anything? real bomb or switch box explosion? last year case is fake bomb rite....

i know alot PG kia snap the pic on the spot.........

hope no more bomb or fake bomb case again.........

i think its the switch box. i left the area leow. couple of my buds was still inside n thought which bugger early CNY dadi cracker celebration outside la..........

he told me some cars windscreen was damaged as well.......wow can a switch box make such massive damage ???

Chriz Eryk said:
i think its the switch box. i left the area leow. couple of my buds was still inside n thought which bugger early CNY dadi cracker celebration outside la..........

he told me some cars windscreen was damaged as well.......wow can a switch box make such massive damage ???

yup i know few cars windscreen was damaged.....12cm switch box can damaged so serious meh?....last nite paper and 2day morning newspaper story diff....

link from star paper.......last 9 chinese newspaper show the explosion nearby the switch box not the switch box.....but this morning paper already turn the story...become switch box explosion....

anybody on the spot? got snap pic?

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/1/16/nation/13123855&sec=nation

it's a hot issue in da office now...most of the YBs were around when the incident took place...hehe...scared some of the YBs though....

hey the international news said its a home made bomb...with used bullet and nails...so which statement is true? or someone is trying to hide the truth???

the brave police bomb defuser without protection will need to work harder.....

"terrorist win"

yes, a switchboard can be fatal whn it comes to explosive. mainly due to short circuit. often cause by installation error in the switchboard like the main cable wasnt tighten up properly at the MCCB (Main circuit breaker) and also loosen nuts that drop frm busbar and hit on the neutral link.

switchboard design and how the panel assembled due play a big part to that's why on large scale switchboard, we do have this organisation called ASTA certified thing. its to proven in the panel design and security whn explosion happen and the panel aprts doesnt scattered around and still holding tight in shape but such cert is VERY VERY expensive and no one bother to have it unless u're talking about always manufacturing panel for intermational project

seeing that our Gs love to twist and cover shits up...its hard for me to believe...also hard to believe that malaysia had became the next bomb target...sheesh...wat about the bomb at the used car lot...aiyoyo

well there will be people who says its a bomb and there's a cover up. wat needs to be mantain here is public order and not create havoc or panic on the public.

lets just hope dat its just only a switchboard malfunction and nuthin else. wat we want here is the peaceful environment dat we are all proud of.

cheers to peace!!

SataniC said:
also hard to believe that malaysia had became the next bomb target...sheesh...wat about the bomb at the used car lot...aiyoyo
Dude,
I doubt we'll be bomb targets cos this country is the same kind as the terrorist. So you know, "ko abang I, I abang ko"

TNB switch box explosion or homemade bomb? alot ppl said police cover up the case....

Hehe maybe CNY firecracker bomb

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/1/17/nation/13127447&sec=nation

Nation
Tuesday January 17, 2006

Cops: It was bomb blast

By BERNARD SEE

[email protected]

PENANG: Shrapnel from a homemade metal pipe bomb filled with nails and live ammunition and not an exploding switch box killed a 47-year-old man at Prangin Mall on Sunday.