Budget Car Audio Set-up for All

then how bout those tweeters??
and if my budget is only 3k max including installation.... will u be able to do it for me :)
i just need those normal sound ok liao...
since i usually play mp3 :)

mnkh0027 said:
A sub is important, but if you can only afford less than RM500 for one (new) then it may be better to give it a pass and focus on your front component + amp.

Thanks for your views, Mike. To me, clear and tight mid-bass is much more important than big low end bass. I'll start with good quality component speakers and amp first.

I doubt I m gonna go for a 5.1 system..too pricey...

mike do u have a place or sumthing where we can listen to the diff types of speakers/systems u have... it will be easier to make a decision on which speakers/amps/subs suits us best...

i do have some comps, subs and amps in mind but really got no freakin idea where to go and listen to them... dun want to spend a lot of money without listening 1st u know...

Nissane dude, you want to listen to stuff I suggest you go to the teh-tarik sessions these ICE people usually arrange. Check it out at the Mamak corner threads or go to http://www.iascamalaysia.com/forum/index.php and get poisoned by their superb sound setups at their monthly/weekly Teh Tarik sessions (otherwise known as TTs) :D

mnkh0027 said:
1) musical that you'll be able to listen to the different layers in the low and sub-bass frequency and not just monotone boxy bass
2) musical that it will be able to keep up with the front speakers in speed (or the speed gap is not that obvious)
3) musical that it will be able to blend in with the front speaker tonally to simulate a reasonably good up-front bass (and not just boom-boom from the rear)

A better subwoofer should be able to do all the above and be able to:
1) play lower so that you can reproduce the frequencies in music that other smaller or inferior drivers cannot reproduce

2) produce clean (not muddy), undistorted bass and sub-bass at all volumes without sounding strained

3) be more transparent and disappear in the system so that the up-front bass is more prominent and deeper in the soundstage

The best subwoofers can do all the above and ultimately be able to:

1) keep up with the front high-end components in playing wickedly fast tracks/music

2) play so terribly clean that it will not overwhelm or cover up the front soundstage (not even a bit)

3) play ultra-low frequencies without distortion

Woah...good review about subs.

Question. if the bass cant keep up with the front components while playing fast tracks (i.e. Something from Tiesto/House or garage musics) are they any remedy or anything to tune to that level?

Izso, I think I might just do that.. But if there's no tt and suddenly I have this urge to listen to some ICE setups, got any car audio showrooms that are worth visiting ar? :stupido3:

MitonCT26 said:
Woah...good review about subs.

Question. if the bass cant keep up with the front components while playing fast tracks (i.e. Something from Tiesto/House or garage musics) are they any remedy or anything to tune to that level?

If you know you have built the enclosure to specs, fully sealed without leaks and you're giving the sub sufficient clean power.... the remedy is to change sub. :P

You can try tuning the crossover frequencies, changing crossover slopes, adding a deflex mat etc. but that usually solves other things but speed issue. Sometimes increasing your amplifier gain for the subwoofer helps but there is not much point if the amplifier is not powerful enough or frequently run out of breath.

ixeo said:
Helix stuff made in Germany, for the price? sure? How about the amp, China punya?
the RM2k setup seems like a bargain, if the speakers are German made.

this definately caught my interest.

eh nobody layan me ker.. i won't offer RM800 for the amp ler.. :secruity:

Huh? All Helix stuff is German made. You talking about which amp? The Helix Amps? German made too. *confused*

lol, you guys reply so fast...straightaway kena left behind.. like kancil trying to chase skyline.

cool that helix is german made! i was referring to the Precision Power amp, thats China made i suppose?

ixeo said:
lol, you guys reply so fast...straightaway kena left behind.. like kancil trying to chase skyline.

cool that helix is german made! i was referring to the Precision Power amp, thats China made i suppose?

My stuffs come from Directed Electronics, so maybe you can ask them. Older Orion, RF, PPI, Phoenix Golf, Soundstream were all US made, but not anymore. Even DLS of Sweden is made in Tw. By the way, Precision Power is made in Korea not China. Low end items are made in China. Mid end goes to Malaysia, Korea, Taiwan.

About Directed Electronics, Inc.:
Directed Electronics manufactures such well-known security and remote start brands as Viper, Clifford, and Python. Directed is also a leading provider of mobile audio equipment with its Orion, Precision Power, a/d/s/ Mobile, Directed Audio, and Xtreme lines. The company also manufactures a/d/s/ Home & Architectural speakers and subwoofers, as well as a full line of mobile entertainment products including LCD monitors and DVDs in the Directed Video line. Directed is registered in the ISO 9001 international quality standard.

Directed Electronics is a portfolio company of Trivest, Inc., a private equity firm based in Miami, Florida. Since its founding in 1981, Trivest has sponsored more than 105 acquisitions and recapitalizations totaling more than $2 billion in value. For more information, please visit http://www.directed.com/ and http://www.trivest.com/.

http://www.trivest.com/images/logo_directed.gif
Directed Electronics, Inc.
Headquarters: Vista, CA
Annual Sales: $140 million
Primary SIC: 3651, 3669
News: Click here

Contact
Troy D. Templeton
Earl W. Powell
Jamie E. Elias

Directed Electronics, Inc. is the largest designer and marketer of consumer brand name car security and convenience systems. The Company currently markets under the Viper®, Python®, Side- winder®, Hornet®, Wasp®, AC Delco®, Clifford®, and Avital® brand names. In addition, DEI markets a complete line of car audio speakers and amplifiers as well as installation products. The Company's 700 products are sold through mobile electronic stereo shops, electronic superstores and automobile dealerships.

Precision Power Company Contact & Location

Address:1 Viper Way
Vista, CA 92083
Phone: (800) 876-0800 or (760) 598-6200
Fax: (760) 598-6400
Map: http://maps.yahoo.com/py/maps.py?BFCat=&Pyt=Tmap&newFL=Use+Address+Below&addr=1+viper+way&csz=vista%2C+ca%2C+92083&country=us&Get%A0Map=Get+Map

.:BreT:. said:
so mike, when got time... or msn?? wanna ask u a few things le 10q

I dont msn or yahoo at work ler. Deleted it so I can concentrate on work. Yeah right. :P My internet is down at home, too much noise on the line so the DSL light keeps blinking. Until that is solved Email me, PM me or call me la.